We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
411
101
34
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
101
34
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews treetop bure the yasawa flyer fish blue lagoon low tide our honeymoon lounge area hour boat ride new owners ceiling fan solar power fiji time the beach is great sawa i lau sandy beach lunch and dinner tea house
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We stayed at Nanuya Island Resort in a tree top bure for 5 nights in September this year. It was the most amazing way to unwind and get away from the stresses of life. The bure was comfortable and serviced daily. Sunset views from the balcony were beautiful. The staff were friendly, welcoming and made us feel like part of the Nanuya family. In particular Kitty, Valisi and Tim went out of their way to make us feel at home. The cost of meals and drinks are reasonable, particularly given the remote location. The Island and the Blue Lagoon are beautiful and there are lots of fun activities and excursions if you feel like being involved. Only have good things to say about this place.

Room Tip: Our tree top bure (non 12) had a balcony, nice sea views and was quiet. We loved it.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jessicanewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimociT, Manager at Nanuya Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Bula Jess,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you absolutely loved the place. We love it too. And its awesome that you felt part of the family, cause that it what we are all about. We are a small resort, so things are alot more personal than you would find in larger hotels. Its not always about the sun, the sand and the sea. Sometimes you've got to feel the vibe of a place; and we've been told that the vibes here are good!!!...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Great place for snorckling, it is like 15 min walking from the beach where Blue Lagoon the movie was filmed, amazing beach, probably my favourite one. My husband and I stayed in the Treetop bure, we got a fantastic view from there. I give 3 points because of the food quality, it is really expensive for what they offer, I took a photo of a chicken sandwich that we ordered in our last day, costed around $23 AUD and it has a few pieces of chicken and no more than 2 slides of tomotes. I completely understand that obtaining supplies in the small islands is hard, but the mininum you expect is value for quality.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimociT, Manager at Nanuya Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Bula Vinaka Diana,

You are absolutely right when you rate the beach next to the resort as amazing and one of your favorites. It is one of the best beaches in the Yasawa group of Islands. And it is also hard to beat the views from those treetops you stayed in. The panorama is simply stunning. You have however given us three points because you found the food really expensive.The toasted chicken sandwich you have in the picture; which is served with fries, garden salad and sauce is sold at the resort at F$28. This equates to approximately $22 Australian dollars. This price is on par, and in certain cases cheaper then what other resorts in the area charge. If you had stayed at a few other resorts in the area, you would have found that our meal prices are competitively priced, and not pre-packaged as is the case for most resort in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We spent 5 days here. Staff were friendly and always attentive. Stayed in one of the bungalows - spacious, clean and private. Pretty good for snorkelling just in front of the resort. It is also quite eco-friendly - solar panels and fresh fruits grown behind the resort.

Negatives - food was not good. If you want long stretch of white sand beach, choose another resort. Low tide at midday under the hot sun gives you small area of beach covered in pebbles, seaweed and broken shells. No sunrise/sunset walk on the beach possible

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimociT, Manager at Nanuya Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Bula Sandy,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff friendly and attentive. We will definitely pass on your appreciation to them. And with regards to your comment on being Eco-friendly. You will be glad to know that we are the current recipient of the most Sustainable Resort in Fiji.

And it is because of our drive on sustainability that we push local content in all our meals. We grow 80 percent of our own food. And our menu will not be as colorful and as diverse as other resorts, who use ingredients either imported or shipped from the mainland.

Wherever you are in the world, you will have high tide and low tides, and it sounds like the tide was not on your side when you were here. You had dead low tide at midday which restricted your swimming options, and when in the early morning and afternoons when you wanted to walk the beach, the tide was too high. I personally walk the beach each morning when the tide allows, and the beauty of that morning walk is what sets me up to face the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

I have always wanted to visit Nanuya Island Resort when I have gone past it on previous visits to the Yasawa region and finally got the opportunity to do so with a friend recently. We stayed in a tree top bure and absolutely loved the view from the deck. The snorkeling was good just in front of the resort and over at 'The Point' about 15 mins walk down the beach. I walked across the island to Lo's teahouse one afternoon and had lemon tea and some of the best freshly made donuts of my life! It was also interesting to see the solar panels and the fruit and vege gardens while walking to the other side of the island. The staff were super friendly and were very helpful. It was the perfect resort to finish our island hopping trip. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Helena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timoci T, Manager at Nanuya Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Bula Helena,

So glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Especially after having sailed past a few times. The view from those treetops are pretty hard to beat, and the awesome thing about this little island is that it is such an exciting place to explore. You can either walk along the deserted beaches to the other side of the island, take a rest at Lo's Teahouse, or Teri's little kitchen, or do a hike inland and take in the awesome views of the islands. There is so much to do.

I will pass on your best wishes to the staff, and we hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing week long stay at Nanuya Island Resort and would recommend it to others. It has a lovely vibe about it, with all of the staff were so friendly, helpful and welcoming (Tim, Valise, Arthur, Mini- just to name a few).
Just loved the Sunset Band Boys who played almost every night. Some mornings the staff would even sing a song for you over breakfast. The Friday Bula night was great, and while the entertainers are not professionals, they are lots of fun and it was good to know the resort is supporting the local villagers.
We stayed in one of the treetop Bures which was great. While they are a bit of a walk up the hill, it is worth it for the views and additional privacy from the rest of the resort.
They have a really great chef- dinners were always top quality. The prices were not cheap but we thought were reasonable given the quality and the fact that you are on a remote island. The Breakfast provided was pretty basic but they baked their own bread and there was always fresh muffins or pancakes which were nice. Only recommendation would be for them to include some smaller meals at lunch time, particularly green salads or fresh veggies, as all of the options always tended to be pretty heavy.
The owners have clearly put a lot into this resort and should be proud of what they have created.
I would recommend this resort for couples or families with older children.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank scisste19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timoci T, Manager at Nanuya Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Bula Vinaka,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your holiday here on the island. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and you are absolutely right....it is very hard to top the view from those treetops. Nothing quite beats the panorama of the nanuya sunsets from the balcony of those treetops. I shall pass on your thanks to the Chef, and you will be glad to know that we now have light options for lunch, whether its a fresh garden salad, or a bowl of soup with garlic bread. We have invested quite substantially into bringing the resort to where it is now, and we will continue to look at ways of further enhancing the experience. We hope to see you back here in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews