We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best location on the island!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
steps down to Oceanview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
steps down to Oceanview
sea view
bamboo blinds to cool the balcony in the afternoon
Oceanview. A quality apartment on the lower floor of  Castara Roundhouse with a fantastic sea view.
full stereo, books on local birds flora and fauna, playing cards and a beautiful backgammon board
from the living room looking out
From the main balcony is a 16' x 4' wide area leading to the main bedroom. Fari the cat is optional
Oceanview, lower floor of
Roundhouse Castara
view from bedroom 2
mozzie screen on window
Looking down the garden towards the gully from the balcony
Roundhouse from Little Bay
early days
under construction
stunning vistas from the balcony
early morning special from the balcony
more views from the balcony
view from big bay from little bay
little bay
sunset from the balcony
little bay
little bay
little bay
little bay
little bay
little bay
Big Bay
Big Bay
Big bay
Cool down at Castara river waterfall and swimming hole, climb the rocks to see further waterfalls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Castara, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
traveler1...
Bad Kreuznach, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best location on the island!”
Reviewed 21 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Jenny is a fabulous host with a social conscience and connections with the community. The apartment is beautifully decorated and very pleasant. Everything is first rate. The view is spectacular and the beach is just a short walk through the charming and authentic town of Castara. Sitting out on the terrace mornings and evenings was unforgettable. We were looking for a place that was not at all touristy but still comfortable with lots of character in a good location. After looking extensively for such a place on the island, I am convinced that it is one of a kind.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your perfect review. Its always a pleasure to know that my guests enjoyed the accommodation and indeed Castara. It would be lovely to meet you again some some in the future. Miguel is almost healed and chills with me most of the time, a mummy's boy for sure.
Best wishes to you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorinda19...
Prince George, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!! Stunning location in a beautiful village, amazing host..”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We've been back home a week and are still searching for the words to describe how wonderful the eight days we spent in Castara were. We felt at home immediately, Jenny welcomed us like old friends, showed us around the apartment and answered all the questions we had. The Roundhouse apartment was exactly what we were looking for, clean with a great outdoor area and all the comforts of home. The kitchen is well equipped and we loved sitting on the deck with our coffee and the fresh bread each morning, ask Jenny where to get the bread.
Castara village is authentic, no large chain hotels, the locals friendly, the beaches uncrowded and relaxing. There is good snorkling at little Castara Bay just down the hill from Jenny's place. The restaurants can get a little pricey but the experience of sitting in paradise watching the world slowly go by is hard to put a price tag on.
For a sleepy village there always seems to be something going on, from beach bonfires, pan music, drumming, we even enjoyed watching the local kids play soccer in the evening. One thing you shouldn't miss is a dip in the pool at the base of a small waterfall near the soccer field.
All sorts of tours are easily available at Little Castara Bay and you can rent a car there to explore the island further.
Eight days flew by, we'd love to return to Tobago and when we do we will stay again at the Castara Roundhouse. Jenny, thanks for complementing a perfect holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Dorinda it was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to Castara and to my apartment. It always gives me great pleasure to hear that my guests have had a great holiday and that Oceanview played a part in that. I really do hope you'll be back some time. My very best wishes to you and the family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goCaspian
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A beautiful Bird Sanctuary and comfortable apartment all in one”
Reviewed 13 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Beautiful, peaceful, spotlessly clean and comfy. Bed was ver comfortable. Beautiful plants and flowers. Jenny’s round house cottage/ apartment was the perfect choice for us after having traveled in Guyana we wanted to relax for a few days. We are so happy we chose this home in Castara Bay.
Buying fish was a challenge, we were either too late or too early. We never succeeded to buy fresh fish.
We saw many bird species. I will post photos later when we get home.
The views are wonderful.
Bring ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise. The roosters start early and sometimes the music can be loud at times but not frequently.
The couple of small suggestion I might make would be to provide a little table or stand in front the couch to be able to place a a notebook, a plate, or a cup of tea or iPhone or camera on it. I used the little cooler which worked. By the way it was so nice to have that cooler to take lunches with us because food stands were not plentiful. And a small shelf in the bathroom would be handy too.
Jenny has been a thoughtful and gracious host and she made our trip vey comfortable. The walk to the little bay is short and steep so if you have serious mobility issues you might find it difficult to manat it otherwise a little uphill walking is good for you. The directions to house are great and we had no problems finding it. The roads are narrow and windy with no sidewalks so so be careful walking around the blind turns for oncoming traffic.
We highly recommend Oceanview Castara round house apartment. You will find it quit comfortable and lovely and relaxing. I will recommend it to all my birding friends too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2018
Thank you Goly for the review and positive comments. ,I do hope you return at some point in the future.
Very best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bird heaven!”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed at Jenny's roundhouse for two weeks over Christmas and New year. The place is awesome. We spent hours sitting on the veranda being entertained by the friendly banaquits and hummingbirds. We were also visited by lots of other beautiful birds as well as lizards and an agouti! It is no exaggeration that you do feel like you are in paradise with the stunning flora and fauna surrounding you. The house has all you need for a very comfortable stay with huge shower room and fully kitted kitchen. Comfy beds too! I can highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
556stuart
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
“Wonderful place, would go back in a heartbeat”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Jenny's place was incredible. Had the most breathtaking view and the village of Castara is a incredible place with the most wonderful people. We always felt safe and the boat house bar is a great place to meet people. Make sure you go there on a wednesday for Drum night. Be sure to buy some fresh baked bread in the village clay oven

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing