We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
431
37
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
37
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgefishcastara bayhis wifeboat tripthe kitchennewton georgemangoauthentic caribbeanhired a carmanagement teamincredible viewsliving roombeautiful placelocal communitycaribbean holidaybird feeders
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent a wonderful 10 days at Castara Retreat at the end of January this year, staying for the first 2 nights Hummingbird 1. The view from the veranda with it’s large comfy sofa, and from the bedroom through the wide open shutters, is fabulous, a wide sweep of beach, and the sea to infinity. We stayed at Coasthangar for the remainder of the time, spacious and sophisticated with dark mahogany flooring, and equally beautiful views overlooking the sea as Hummingbird 1, we loved them both. The gardens surrounding the lodges are superb, tended lovingly by Carrington the gardener.

Most days started with an early morning swim with just the fishermen around,then back later on when there were probably at least 10 people on the beach (sometimes less). The bird life is fascinating - frigates, pelicans, boobies etc abound. Despite spending some time most days on the beach we really didn't find the mosquitos and sand flies a problem, a couple of bites, but nothing much - perhaps we just don't taste that good, but we also used Mosquito repellent The beach bar was great for beers watching the spectacular sunsets, as well as for lunch and dinner, looked after by the very friendly cook and waitress. There are several small and simple restaurants in the village, although we often bought fish from the fishermen in the afternoon, and enjoyed cooking in the well-equipped kitchen.

Porridge, Jeanelle, and all the staff looked after us very well, and always ready to help. We joined in on the curry/bust up shut supper on the Tuesday, and BBQ on the Friday - both were fun and Porridge always knows how to create a great atmosphere, a good way to meet other people staying in Castara.

Tobago is a beautiful island, with its incredible rainforest, the varied birdlife, of which we saw many from, and often taking a short cut through, our lodge. A tour with local expert Newton George is not to be missed, he is passionate about his subject, and found us birds we would never have seen, and much besides.
We hired a car for 2 days, and drove all round the island, climbed to the top of waterfalls, swimming in pools on the way down, explored beaches with names like Bloody Bay, Pirates Bay and Parlatuvier.
Finally a special comment on how friendly and helpful we found the people in Castara, and Tobago generally, and we felt there was a great sense of community.

Castara Retreats was the perfect place to unwind and truly relax - we would love to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mistral11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Visited Castara Retreats in February for two weeks. Stayed in Birdsong Lodge with our friends, (being two couples) we found the accommodation to be brilliant it has plenty of space in which to sit amongst the flora and fauna and enjoy the wonderful views of the sea and bay. Lots of birds visited our birdfeeders a joy to watch whilst having breakfast on the top sitting area (discovered paradise). The lodge was very clean and spacious; the louver windows added a special element giving you the feeling of openness to the views and the sounds of the sea, birds and wildlife, hard to put into words the magical feeling that has been created. Porridge and Jennelle are truly amazing ensuring you have an enjoyable holiday and are always on hand to help with anything you may need.
Castara Village we felt gave us a true Caribbean experience, with colourful little shops which proved to be, friendly and helpful as was everyone in the village. The little shops had a small selection of daily items and some days you may not find what you want but they always had beer. I would advise you to stock up at the supermarket before you arrive if staying more than a few days. Being a small village it only has a few places to eat out, all the food is freshly prepared and typical Caribbean, fish, chicken, pork, goat or prawns, don’t expect to be wined and dined or have extensive menu choices, that’s not what Castara is about! . The beaches are clean with plenty of space. We spent two evenings at Castara Retreats BBQ and Bust Up nights, held in the pavilion, the food was really good and it also gives you the opportunity to meet other guests and share experiences. We snorkelled, fished, hired a car for two day’s visited other parts of the island, we spent a day at nearby Englishmans Bay it’s beautiful! had lunch, a nice meal with glorious view. Porridge also arranged a minibus trip to the Carnival, great experience! Also did a rainforest adventure with the knowledgeable Newton (its in de scope) George. Which all added up to having a wonderful chilled out holiday…. We have discovered a Caribbean treasure and will return for more.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

hello Jean,

Yes too we had a wonderful time in Castara.  The weather was perfect, the views
incredible... Everything was there for a relaxed stay.  Porridge was right on
time to pick us up, made us feel very welcome, and was especially accomodating
with his car hire, as we needed to drop the car in Crowne Point after a stay
in the Speyside area.  They needed the jeep for another client for the last
day, and Porridge came all the way to Blue Water Inn to exchange vehicles.
Great service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

As a female solo traveler who loves off the beaten track kinds of places, Castara Retreats was the perfect find. Although there is no real security that i'm aware of, the locks are good, and most importantly, the place is always booked, so I never felt that I was in any type of danger. I stayed in Hummingbird 1, and enjoyed the beautiful ocean views, the sound of the waves crashing, bats flying around me at night, the hammock, village roosters crowing at 5 a.m. and preparing fresh fruits and sugar for the birds. It is a nature lovers paradise. Jeanelle and Porridge were the most gracious of hosts, and I know we'll be friends for life. The BBQ on Friday night was amazing. The Castara Waterfall was a short trek away, but, be sure you wear proper shoes ( I made the mistake of wearing cute leather thong sandals). I simply can't wait to visit again! Thanks Porridge and Jeanelle for an amazing holiday!!!!!

Room Tip: Hummingbird 1 was better than 2 if you're a couple or solo traveler as it has a clothes line, and outdoor shower with more privacy.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kacyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

where do you begin !!!!!! the location, the accomodation, Porridge & Jeanelle etc etc. it is exactly as it looks on the web site. so chilled out and relaxing (listening to those waves on a night time). i fell in love with the Auguti and the chickens and even the gheko that lived in our living room. We hired a car for 2 days and drove around the island and that just made us appreciate Castara even more (the BEST place on the whole island) even the actress Jenny Agutter stays in Castara !!!!! Chris had the best 50th birthday present ever i think (and i got to go along too)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tamtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews