We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“brand new, american style beach house"”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This is a three apartment two one bedroom and a two bedroom the prices are $160:00,$65:00 & 60:00 us
seine pulling on the beach in Castara
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castara, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
mat M
1 review
“brand new, american style beach house"”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Excellent accomodatins. Kurt was very nice. We spent most of the day in the beach but the cool a/c and balcony was so inviting. we had a candlelight dinner the 4 of us. It was very nice. Castara is probably the best beach for families who want the private beach experience. homemade icream shop, small family owned restaurants, scattered bars around. It's nice to see the slower pace so warm and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wifi was excellent, price we paid (given brand new)
Liked least: nothing. no complaints.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
Thanks very much for your review and wish you come again cheers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayGodBle...
Toronto
2 reviews
“Immerse yourself in Tobago”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in April 2013

My husband and I travelled with our 2.5 year old and stayed for about a week. I had always wanted to experience life in a Tobago fishing village, but needed convenience and security with a little one. Mr. Kurt's place was ideal - a few steps from the beach, safe (he is a well-respected policeman), comfortable (air conditioned) and well-equipped. With no car and a little one, we appreciated that it was level with the beach and had a lovely flat garden, as most other places in Castara require a steep walk. Mr. Kurt and his family were so helpful and discrete at the same time. The airport pick up and drop off was really appreciated. Castara is lovely, with beaches, rainforest and waterfall hiking, fresh bread made by the ladies of the village, and several convenience stores all in walking distance, so you don't need a car. Be prepared that eating out is very expensive in Castara, and we really appreciated the couple of times when Mr. Kurt's wife cooked for us - the best meals we had. Overall, people are friendly, but there are a few unsavoury characters hanging around the beach, so I avoided going there alone.
We appreciated Baywatch apartment even more when we saw our friend's accomodation up the hill - a steep climb up, that was bat infested and not clean or safe for little kids (dealing with the foreign owner by email was incredibly unpleasant as well).
You would be fortunate to experience Mr. Kurt and his family's true Tobagonian hospitality and lovely place, especially at this price.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The simplicity and serenity and kindness of hosts
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbcha
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you can find better in the Caribbean let me know please, I will book it immediately.”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Kurt and Ivy are lovely people and make terrific hosts. They live on the premises and always ensure you have everything you need.

Our new, spacious apartment was well furnished and immaculately clean. Midway through our 6 day stay Ivy changed the linen and thoroughly cleaned the apartment again.
The beach is 1 minute at a slow walk,there are several places to eat and drink all within a 5 minute walk.
If you want solitude don't come here, you are in the middle of a fishing village: the poeple make noise and so do the birds and chickens. We loved them all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and great location.”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Baywatch apartment is ideally located in the heart of the village, short walks to the beach, restaurants, fish market, and clay oven bakery. The apartment was very clean, with excellent wifi, the best reception we encountered on our entire vacation. The kitchen space was tight with room for only one person, but adequately stocked. Kurt and Ivy were gracious hosts, making sure we were comfortable. Gated secure yard to park a rental vehicle.
They were presently building additional rental units on their property while we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to all amenities.
Liked least: Small kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetiredHi...
Emsworth, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location with friendly helpful owners.”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here for one week in March and it was a great experience. A lovely location close to the sea in a small fishing village. If you want a quiet vacation in a friendly local village this is the place to stay. There is good snorkelling right off the beach. The owners are very helpful and as locals are able to give you all the information you need. We would certainly stay there again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing