We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Good food.”
Review of Waves

Waves
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Black Rock
Price range: USD 12 - USD 45
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I came here a few years back and had a good meal at a very relaxing spot. We returned this week and were not disappointed.

The tables overlook an underused and beautiful beach. We had a cocktail and enjoyed watching the waves and the handful of people on the beach and in the water. Our food was good. The shrimp roti was very tasty. The fish sandwich was fresh and well prepared. If you are coming here for a speedy meal...don’t bother. Enjoy the relaxed pace, the great scenery, and get to know one another again.

Thank Kazmanbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortHelpDesk, Customer Service Agent at Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Good Day,

Thank you for returning. We're happy that we can create an environment of serenity and relaxation for you and that the meal was nothing less than scrumptious, that's the way seaside dining is meant to be.

We're excited to welcome you again very soon!

Until Then,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2017

We had lunch here most days during our week at Le Grand Courlan, as it was included as a part of the AI. Limited menu, not all of which was on AI. Food was generally ok, but nothing special. Although, they did have a tendency to run out of things, e.g. salad & fish.

Cocktails varied dramatically. Had one 3 times and it looked and tasted different each time.

Staff pretty laid back and generally in no great hurry to serve us. Good luck getting a last drink in before AI ended at 5, as they generally started balancing their AI til about 20 minutes beforehand.

Prime location. Paid extra to have cocktails at sunset.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bikeeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortHelpDesk, Customer Service Agent at Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hello

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all guest comments and suggestions since these may assist in improving your dining experience.

We do hope you can visit again sometime soon.

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We had a few drinks on a very wet afternoon and decided to have a bite to eat, it was ok but nothing special and with both tax (VAT) and service charge it wasn't cheap. I had expected local food but all I got was commercial stuff that wasn't very pleasant, sorry not for me but may suit young kids who like sauces out of bottles etc.

Thank 716penge64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortHelpDesk, Customer Service Agent at Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hello,

Thank you for visiting and dining with us. We appreciate your comments since this will aid in improving the overall experience for our customers.

We do hope that you'd visit again soon.

:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Visited the restaurant as it was recommended to us by Pablo from Mt Irvine bay
Good restaurant, staff are really nice, & they have a great drinks menu.
They have different menu for different times of day & also offer a children's menu. The Wi-Fi is also a good bonus if you need it!
Nice food, large portions & good value. Can recommend the Rosti, tastes better than it looks! Waves is a bit of a hidden gem!

Thank dee238_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortHelpDesk, Customer Service Agent at Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hey!

Thank you for visiting. We really appreciate your review and you taking time out to visit us.

We have lot's of roti here waiting for you when you return again. We're keep it hot.

See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

What a ideal spot, staff were great and had a real authentic Caribbean approach to service. If you are not moving at a pace that your bucket of ice can melt, then you are not relaxed enough. Food was great, tasty and we loved the Tuna fish salads, huge cuts and with the hot sauce tasted delicious. The evening menu was good and we loved the shrimp pasta and baked aubergine dishes. The girls and guys working here were friendly and we loved our lunches every day. We will definitely be returning next year. If you are looking for slick Western style service and fine dining you are in the wrong place, however if you want a bar so close to the sea that the spray hits your face and the local tropical birds join you for lunch then this the place to enjoy good bar food and cocktails.

Thank phillips60002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortHelpDesk, Customer Service Agent at Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hello!

Thank you for visiting us! We're so happy that you enjoyed your meals and the ambiance.

We try to make the environment a relaxed one. Can't wait to welcome you again, cocktails and pasta awaits.

Until Then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waves also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Black Rock, Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing