We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great rental in Ballinskelligs”
other travellers have booked this property
Atlantic Sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Atlantic Sunset
Puffin Island Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Atlantic Sunset
Puffin Island
Enter a caption for your photo
Local Views
Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom
Kerry
Kerry
Enter a caption for your photo
Local fishing
Dining Area
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballinskelligs, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tr129
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great rental in Ballinskelligs”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I am an artist & initially arrived solo- was joined by a friend towards the latter part of the week.
It's a gorgeous house / cottage! It's 2 levels- a huge master bedroom upstairs with gorgeous views from skylight windows - also a tv / lounge area upstairs which I used for my painting (also beautiful views from the skylights). Downstairs were the other bedrooms with a jacuzzi in the bathroom which looked brand new. Great location- there is a pier at the end of the driveway & beautiful views of the mountains/ hills as well as the ocean /sea. The owner is a local & was so helpful in every way! He was very attentive to any question or issue I had & even brought me detergent one day when I needed to wash my laundry. I did not rent a car & he actually lent me a bike to use (so kind)! It's a great location - you can bike to a small beach cafe not far away & in the month of May, the beautiful smell of the gorse is heavenly as you bike by. There is an ancient monastery down the road (when the monks from the skelligs moved to the mainland after the vikings invaded) & so many other interesting things to see. I got loads of painting done while I was there. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again. **As others have noted, there are indeed beagles next door that bark. However, they were quiet & go to sleep at night. I never heard them barking after their owners came home after work & during the night & I would have noticed as I'm a light sleeper. I slept like a babe there. Most of the barking was in the daytime - but not all day long. I played music in the house most of the time though & so really didn't hear them much at all. Just wanted to mention that since I saw it noted in other reviews.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we try to give a personal touch to make your stay as enjoyable as possible
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra F
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Staying in Sunset Cottage was a great venue for staying in Ballinskelligs or visiting other parts of Kerry”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The property had plenty of room to accomadate our party of 7 and all the equipment you would expect in self catering accomadation. It is ideal if you like walking but never leave the cottage without your water/shower proof jacket. Our stay had its fair share of rain and wind but this did not mar our holiday in the least. The teenagers in the group and the adult males loved the fishing off the rocks and out on a boat in the sea.
The only down side were barking dogs that did not live far enough away from the cottage.
However all in all we all enjoyed our stay very much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The venue
Liked least: barking dogs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy1106
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house for a great getaway”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Went there for New Years with a group of friends, great location for a quiet break but not far away from bigger more lively towns. Perfect house for a large group with 8 beds spread across 4 bedrooms. Great value and would happily stay here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aido92
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was perfect”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arrival keys were on in the door and house was empty, in immaculate condition with everything we needed, the landlord was incredibly friendly and when we asked to stay another night in short notice there was no problem would have no hesitation going back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossyMcLa...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you would ever want.”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely brilliant spot to visit and a great house to stay in. If you are looking for a beautiful place to visit and a comfortable house to stay in then this place is for you. 10/10 would definitely stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing