We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Greenacres

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ballinrobe, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Carole C
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were welcomed by Catherine at Greenacres cottage and felt at ease immediately. Travelling for the first time with my baby twin daughters was tiring but I soon forgot this as I drove up the drive and was greeted by Martin and Catherine, ( and their two friendly dogs) the owners at Greenacres. The service from beginning to end was better than i've experienced.
The services were excellent and nothing was too much! When we needed assistance each member of the family were on hand at any time of day. Catherine's grandaughter and daughter were great with my girls and helped me in the evening when i needed an extra pair of hands...many thanks.

The property has it all, an wood burning fire in the kitchen, central heating, electric shower and two toilets. The kitchen was the heart of the house with an open plan kitchen and three of the four bedrooms off it. An extension of the house has the bathroom, living room -with fire and fourth large bedroom. A door leads you out onto a private garden which includes a table and chair. The bonus was the horse & donkey named Rosie and Jim, who were great for the babies stimulation.

The location is perfect as you are close to the main town of Ballinrobe and at the same time within easy access of some wonderful places of interest including Cong, with Ashford castle, Castlebar and Galway.

The best part of the stay at Greenacres was being like one of the family...the rhubarb tart and soda bread were delicious and I am already planning my next visit. I will be recommending Greenacres to all my family and friends and will be returning.

Thanks Catherine and Martin and your daughter and grandaughter

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for choosing Greenacres as your holiday base and also for being so courteous during your stay, we endeavour for our guests to leave with many happy memories of there holiday and thankfully that is fulfilled. We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liatroim, Leitrim, Ireland
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oliver G
Radebeul, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday at Greenacres for our family”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Thanks Martin and Catherine for this great time at your cottage.

From the first day on loved our 3 boys the area around. We would like to say thank you to you and your wife for the great time and thanks to Eryn for the many footbal games with our boys. Specially our children were exited from your kindness to give them a ride with the tractor around the farm.

It was very hard for us to convince them that we have to go at the end and that we will not buy a tractor once we are back in Germany ;-)

We booked 4 different cottages during our 4 weeks in Ireland and we asked our children to rate them. You have been number one for them.

About the property is not much to say, it's all nice and clean, there was a warm turf fire and a plate with scones once we arrived. Martin provided us plenty of heating material for the fireplace so that we had not to use the heating to much (which needs to be payed in addition to the rental price - this is the only thing which comes in mind to me, that this should have maybe shown more clearly on the property page or on the booking confirmation).

So we all 5 can definalty recommend this cottage to all who want to spent a nice holiday time in a nice area of Ireland (we used this as a base for our visits around Connemara).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F M
Ermelo, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for choosing Greenacres as your holiday base and also for being so courteous during your stay, we endeavour for our guests to leave with many happy memories of there holiday and thankfully that is fulfilled.
we wish you well on your future travels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing