We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect luxury, all the whistles and bells...”
other travellers have booked this property
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Largest infinity pool in the area Extensive pool deck,  no lack of space, plus that stunning 270' ocean view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Largest infinity pool in the area
Extensive pool deck,  no lack of space, plus that stunning 270' ocean view.
No need to reserve a lounger !
Cactus is situated in lush woodland yet beaches are just only on the other side of the road
Cactus has three gardens, naturally with sea views. This is the middle one
Large manicured lawns ideal to relax on
Cactus's garden terraces, as seen from the sea. Jolly beach in foreground
Almost guaranteed  28'c  ( 82'f) temperatures every day
More views from the Estate
Large lounge opens onto both decks plus to upper garden
High cool vaulted ceilings
Fantastic Caribbean vista as seen from all decks
So many cool covered areas to relax
BBQ deck - even more great views
Specatular Caribbean view - even from the parking lot
Sunset over Montserrat - as seen from the upper deck
Definitely true at Cactus
Typical view from the pool at dusk
Programme your own pool light show each night
Large kitchen with plenty of granite work surface and storage  space
All bedrooms are palatial, cool and open to great views
Both master bedrooms open directly to the poolside
deck
Second Master bedroom with triple aspect views over the Caribbean
One twin bedroom is themed for children
Children's  en suite bathroom
Unusually capacious bathrooms - all bedrooms are en suite
Light and airy bathrooms
Plenty of loungers for everybody
Tranquil Jolly Harbour
Jolly Harbour moorings if you arrive by yacht
Valley Church Beach - 10 minute walk from Cactus or just a minute or two by car
The 'Nest'  beach bar / restaurant at Valley Church
Ffryes Beach  - 15 minute walk away to the east or 3 in a car
Dine with with views across Jolly Harbour at the Acropolis restaurant
Jolly Beach - only 15 minute walk away to the west
Castaways Beach Bar on Jolly Beach
Have a beach almost totally for yourselves
Bird island - a short boat ride away
Half Moon Bay  -  Conde Naste rates as one of the top ten beaches in the world
Long Bay - perfect for snorkeling
Darkwood Beach - a 5 minute drive
Try your hand at sailing from Jolly Harbour - 10 minute walk
Try scuba off Jolly Beach
Daytime  view from Shirley Heights
Sunset at Shirley Heights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint Mary's, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annette B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect luxury, all the whistles and bells! Believe the reviews!”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had an incredible stay at the Cactus House, which exceeded all of our expectations! Roger was extremely forthcoming with our many questions prior to rental, and gave a very accurate description of what to expect. He was prompt in responding to emails. The property was impeccable, luxurioiusly and tastefully decorated and outfitted, and there was an amazing amount of space for three generations to be more than comfortable. We honestly felt that we must have the nicest houses on the entire island, and I found myself double-checking that the rate was only the amount I recalled. We were warmly greeted by Lava at the airport, who imparted us with tons of great information on the drive from the airport to the house. Waiting for us was Hazel, who gave us a wonderful tour, ensured that every need and question had been addressed, and even insisted on driving us to the grocery store since our rental car wasn't coming until the next day. Hazel was lovely, warm, and very professional, and she checked in with us regularly throughout the week via telephone to ensure we were enjoying ourselves and that our every need was met. We felt tremendously pampered during our stay, and did not mind the unseasonal 5 days of rain that we experienced because of our lovely accomodations and the fact that we could still spend all of our time outdoors on the covered deck and patio. The pool and views were beautiful, and it was a fantastic location from which to explore the island. A rental car would definitely be recommended. Don't miss this one!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The most stunning villa ever!”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Without a doubt this is the nicest, most luxurious villa we have ever stayed in. Every minute we had to pinch ourselves. The views were simply stunning and it felt like a hidden away paradise. Airport transfers being included was just the start, and one less thing to worry about. Hazel the property manager, was there to meet us and she was always available, yet maintained a discreet distance. We barely left the villa, as nothing else compared to those views, but the supermarket is an easy stroll, and there are some good bars and restaurants a couple of minutes walk away. The Villa is up a steep hill, however my 71 year old mother managed it at a gentle pace and enjoyed the challenge. There was a lot of Antigua we didn't get to see, but that just gives us an excuse to return, and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Simply stunning. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: luxury
Liked least: not staying longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam0801
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round, the perfect property”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of those rare properties that is even better than its listing. It is spacious, well equipped and maintained and had everything we could ask for. The owner is friendly and helpful and provides a lot of advice on the local area (although restaurants seem to change hands frequently so some have gone and new ones have arrived). The location is ideal, far enough away from the centre to be quiet and private but easy walking to restaurants, supermarket, beaches and the bus stop - the buses are a great way to get around the island, frequent and cheap.
We also recommend Miracles restaurant, 5 minutes walk from Cactus and serves excellent Lobster dishes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, the pool and nearness of restaurants
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. It is difficult to conveying the true quality of Cactus in mere words, but it was designed to be 'World-class' and judging by all the responses, I appear to have successfully achieved my aim. As you point out, its location is just perfection, being an easy walk from Jolly Harbour and all its facilities, but still retaining a tranquil countryside calm. Two of the best beaches on Antigua are also an easy jaunt but as you say, if you want to venture further the buses are efficient option to taxis. We too love 'Miracles' which is very convenient for Cactus. It is a typical small family-run Caribbean restaurant, serving regional food and flavours, but at sensible prices. Their lobster come straight from the local beaches , which might explain why it is so fresh and delicious. Their meats are good too - next time try the jerk chicken for a real treat. I am glad all went well and thank you for the complimentary comments on my service, but it is not just me all the staff at Cactus will always do their best to ensure everyone has the most memorable holiday. Again my thanks. Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian F
2 reviews
“Amazing House with awsome views.”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Amazing is all we can say

★ ★ ★ ★ ★


Roger is great to deal with. He was so organized and detailed. The house is big with tons of different areas to hang out. We never felt on top of each other. The driveway is super steep so we rented a car after the 2nd day but for the views you get from being up so high are completely worth it. I am sure we will never rent another house this nice

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area with the views.
Liked least: Driveway is super steep. Rent a car and this isnt a problem.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2015
Thanks for your time in reviewing and also for the positive comments on my efficient attention to detail. I know that you had eight guests in your party, so I think your comment about no one 'feeling cramped' gives some idea as to the space Cactus provides. I take great pride in providing a 'world class' property and with a service to match - so your comments are really appreciated. Everybody but everybody has confirmed the incredible views you get from the house and although I agree that driving is easier than walking , I still prefer the latter as it helps me burn off some of that weight I manage to put on at all the local restaurants ! However as Cactus has the largest private infinity pool in the area, there is another option to perhaps control weight ! Antigua has many fine 5* hotels , but none can match the combination of space, privacy and location that Cactus offers, so please come back soon.
Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoLoLondo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cactus House - Best Rental Accomodation Ever”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent ten wonderful days at Cactus House which is situated on a hill with a panoramic view over Jolly Harbour and beyond.
We loved the house - which has four large double or twin ensuite bedrooms, three of which overlook the pool deck and the large infinity pool with a view, while upstairs is a large light living area and full kitchen area, with equally large outdoor living area divided between the shady lounge/ dining veranda and the sunny BBQ veranda.
The house is beautifully decorated and furnished, and comes complete with laundry room, pool shower room, and wifi.
There are restaurants just opposite the drive, at the hotel next door, with more within walking distance in Jolly Harbour, and the lovely unspoilt Valley Church Beach is also within walking distance.
The owner, Roger is friendly and helpful, and the rental includes transfers to and from the airport.
We have rented lovely villas in many places around the world but Cactus House is easily the best we have ever stayed at.
The care taker, Don, is extremely helpful - a real gem of a guy, who arranged tours for us, drove us to Shirley Heights and knows how to get hold of the best rum punch on the island.
All in all a fantastic place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything - but if pushed the views, the infinity pool, and the soft seats on the shady veranda
Liked least: Nothing - could not be faulted
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to express your appreciation.
A fabulous house, a big pool, spectacular views, convenient restaurants and some of the best beaches on Antigua within an easy walk - I am really pleased I could provide you with a 'world class' experience.
I have already passed on your kind comments to Don and will try and get the rum punch recipe for you . Again my thanks.
Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing