We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ellen Bay Cottages(Saint Philips)(Great Value!)
USD 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ellen Bay Inn(Saint Philips)(Great Value!)
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 419
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
USD 372
USD 204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
USD 136
USD 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

South Point Antigua(English Harbour)
USD 364
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlisle Bay Antigua(Saint Mary's)
USD 704
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,119)
Filter reviews
4,119 results
Traveller rating
2,268
1,286
372
132
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,268
1,286
372
132
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain beachbeach barguest servicesmain barverandah resortwater sportsrasta beachmini golfkids clubadult poolper personlobsterrum punchshirley heightsdevil's bridgelong bay beacha la carte
Filter
Updating list...
3,578 - 3,583 of 4,119 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2010

My fiance and I stayed at the Verandah last May and it was our second trip to Antigua. We enjoyed everything about this resort! We were a little nervous about this resort being a "family resort" since we do not have children and just blown away how big the resort was that we hardly seen anyone! We could go to the smaller beach which was adults only.. which was a bit of a hike if you didnt catch the golf cart. but also had the main beach and two pools to choose from(most of time we had the adult pool to ourselves almost everyday!) The rooms were very spacious,clean and a big bathroom with large soaking tub! We also enjoyed walking up to devils bridge quite a few times...not a far walk at all.There was a little path right of the main beach that we took to get there but it was so awesome to watch the waves come in!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guccigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I had read many reviews before going to this resort and I needed to write one of my own. My husband and I stayed at this resort from Feb 27th thru March 6th, 2010. This was our first stay at this resort. We enjoyed the cottage feel of the resort instead of the big resort feel. Very quaint and quiet. The food was good and not boring at all. There was a wide range of variety among the selections available. The salads were very good and the deserts as well. Some of the reviews that I read stated that the staff wasn't friendly. We did not find that at all. The staff that we encountered were very friendly. We did tip and found out that the service was even better yet. The grounds of this resort are very beautiful. We would stay again at this resort if and when we would return to Antigua.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dam318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed at The Verandah at the end of Feb. and had a wonderful vacation overall. Here is what we thought point by point:

Rooms: We had a Waterview near the main pool at my request. Best room we've ever had. The room was huge & very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the view was simply amazing!

Main pool area: Great pool, plenty of chairs & close to bar.

Main beach: Very beautiful, plenty of chairs & free water toys (paddleboats, floaters.......) & close to the Beach bar & grill for lunch.

Guest services: Right next to main pool, very helpful for tour reservations, restaurant reservations, quick internet consult. and for borrowing a good book to read.

Service: We had no problems at all. Everyone was very nice. We did however, tip at every meal and also left $1 when ordering drinks (same as we do when goinig out for drinks back home) . I do think if you treat people nicely, they will generally respond in the same manner.

Location of resort: We loved the location because we were within walking distance of Devil's bridge (A National park) and Longbay Beach (A public beach, one of the best in Antigua). Bothe were fun to visit, we even went a few times to each just for the fun of walking. On Longbay, you will find local merchants selling souvenirs and you also get to see another hotel you may have considered staying at???

Restaurants: There are basically four. The beach bar & grill which was wonderful for lunch. What a view and the food, although abit fattening, was wonderful! The burgers and the fish & chips were especially yummy! The buffet was smaller than we were used to therefore, had less choices. Breakfast was the best, lunch was ok and dinner is where you were limited. But please note, the food was well prepared. Is just that there was little to choose from. If your not picky like me & my 14 year old, you will not complain. there is always something good to eat. If you are picky like my husband, you will have a problem with the lack of choice on some nights.
There are 2 "a la cartes", one is included in your all-inclusive and one costs $25us per person per meal. The included one is average and you can go as often as you can get a reservation. The other one ($25pp), Nicoles, is absolutely wonderful. I wasn't happy about the $25 extra fee, but we went twice anyway because it was so great. The lobster was better prepared than anywhere else I've been during our travels. The wine was fantastic, the dessert (a chocolate cake hot out of the oven with a strawberry sauce) was to die for and a soup with scallops in it was the best. You really should go!

Airport: Once you clear the manual luggage search (they search evry single luggage by hand in front of evryone standing in line behind you) then it's no worst than Dom.Rep.or Cuban airports. By the way, if traveling with AirCanada Vacations, the airport departure tax is included in your package with Air Canada. ($25 us Approximately, it changes)

Tour: We only did the shopping tour to St -Johns. It was only $14 us per person and only for the morning. Was fun to see some of the island on the ride to St-Johns. Was also fun to see St-Johns and some locals and cruise ship docked in the port.

Overall we had a great vacation with a few bumps. We didn't like the extra costs the hotel keeps trying to suck out of their guests. $25 for Nicoles resto, $2 for small bottles water, $25 for use of a room on last day to shower if needed, .50 cents per page if need to print something on internet.......Get the picture. We paid over $6000 cnd for 3 people for one week and they managed to suck $162 us out of us when we checked out. That did leave a bitter taste in my mouth.

We were also amazed at how peaceful it was. No music at pool area or beach area. No entertainment staff, basically no nightly shows...... We were very rested when we left which was actually quite nice. I guess it depends what your looking for.....?We even were lucky enough to see donkeys come down to drink at the main beach! It was back to nature at this place. Alot less commercial than other islands we've been. The resort is also very hilly. If you have mobility problems, I would recommend going someplace else. We enjoyed the terrain but we are very active and have no health problems.

We would not go back simply because we always look for something or someplace different from year to year.

OOPs, forgot to mention the water. The hotel has its own desalinization plant so you can drink the tap water and will not get sick. We found it didn't taste very good but probably because we're used to drinking bottled. You can buy bottles for $2us small & 4$us big bottle. Again I felt the hotel was cheap with its guest. They pay you any drink you want except water if that is what you would like to order????????

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnnieMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This was our first time to visit Antigua and the Verandah Resort & Spa and we loved it.
The property is beautiful and very clean with lush vegetation.
Our room was spacious with a breathtaking view.
The food was excellent and plenty and so were the drinks.
We ate at all three Restaurants and especially liked Nicole’s; we had the Caribbean Lobster, which was delicious.
The staff was friendly and attentive most of the time, housekeeping was also efficient and clean.
All in all we found this Resort very well managed and we had a wonderful, relaxing time there and would like to return with our two children and granddaughter one day.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

What a fantastic stay at this resort, everything you need.....However hire a car, as the taxi fares are a minimum of $50 anywhere on the island, and they charge by the person. We went out one night (Only 12 miles away) and for the 9 of us the trip cost $190............ very steap.

Also suggest hiring a catamaran, great value, and the staff were excellent....Not the best snorkling i have been on, however the views are certainly worth a look

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews