We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Verandah Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philips
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Pro: Clean, good food available at any time, safe area to snorkel, windsurf, kayak and learn how to use a hobie cat. The food was good and a pretty good variety. Service was friendly and helpful, the rooms were well cleaned and the waterfront (not really on the water, on the cliff above it) have a nice view.

Con: The water in the bay is usually a bit silty for snorkeling visibility, it is still good but just not good visibility.

To see:
Snorkel at Long bay out the front gate and 100 yds to the right.
Shirley's peak is a good trip.
There are boats you can take out from Long Bay snorkeling or to Stingray city or fishing. A couple of us went out fishing and caught alot of Jacks and snapper.

Items I heard were good but didn't get a chance to do ourselves:
We wanted to do the tour around the island on a boat but didn't take the time to go, it sounds like it was a good ride.
Zip lines, trap shooting and stingray city I heard were good.


Conclusion
I would go back again!
.

Room Tip: Waterfront views have the best views but unlike some other restorts there doesn't seem to be wha...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd7654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,761)
There are newer reviews for The Verandah Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,376 - 2,380 of 3,761 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

Our trip to Antigua was really very relaxing but wow what a quiet place. The verandah has very nice rooms, clean and large with a great balcony and ours overlooked the beach. It was a really nice room but the bed was like a rock. You could ask for a topper for the bed but we didn't but even with the topper others said it didn't help soften it much. The food was very good at the buffet and beach bar and we didn't try the other restaurants as my wife is very picky in what she will eat. Apparently some people who have been back a few times said the food was much better this year than previous years.
There are very few activities at the resort so you have to travel off the resort to do anything. There are a few watersports at the resort and snorkeling at the resort is very poor, water is cloudy and not much to see. The beach had a fair bit of seaweed in the water and really calm. Many would like this but we enjoy some of the waves coming on but the waves are broken by the rocks at the mouth of the bay. If you are taking kids it would be great for them. We went off the resort for a 2 minute walk to Long Bay Beach and it was great! The only bad thing was paying $5 to rent a chair and then another $12 for an umbrella but it was worth it to us. Snorkeling was better here but still not great.
The is little nightlife at the resort which isn't a big deal to us but at other resorts we have visited the is a disco or a show to be had, here there was just a small setup at the pool bar with a different musical act each night, it was Ok but nothing to write home about.
The staff was a mixed bag, some were great and others not so much so, I think they are fairly accommodating but nobody is in a hurry to do anything here, you just have to learn to live with it.
The resort is pretty spacious but things spread out well.
Off the resort we rented a car and toured the island. To do it again I might have skipped St. johns it's just a cruise ship town. I think I would have spent more time beach hopping, thats really the pride of Antigua. The cost to rent a car was about $90 total for the day but it pales compared to cost of a cab to get anywhere. We did do the Shirley Heights thing on Sunday night but it really is a waste unless you have a large group or very outgoing. Crowded and not much to see or do other than drink and listen to some steel drums. I did the swim with the Stingrays which was cool although they tell you they will take you snorkeling but if you want to snorkel, don't plan on this satisfiying you, it's a little lame, again not much to see.
All in all it was a very relaxing holiday, definitely a 4 star resort, not a 3 and not a 5. A great place to relax and have a very quiet time

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank john0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

What a lovely hotel! A large group of us stayed here back in September. The hotel was everything we could ask for and more!

When we arrived we was greeted with the usual rum & fruit punch before being taken to our rooms. We had 7 rooms between us, and they had managed to put us all together which was great! We had the special sea view penthouse villas (or whatever fancy name they were given) but they were really nice. Consisting of a large double, sofa area, small kitchen space, en-suite, and a balcony with a view to die for.

The restaurant was a 10 minute walk away or you could catch a "golf buggy seater." The buffet restaurant is really nice however being a vegetarian at dinner there really was limited choice. On one evening i was left with just bread and butter!! But if im honest this didn't bother me. (I would make up for it at breakfast and lunch!!) Breakfast was all laid out, as much as you could eat, all really nice food with a pancake area, cereals, juices, omelets etc!!! I didn't eat lunch in the main restaurant as we usually went to the beach bar! The restaurant does have a real bird issue which was a problem for certain members of the party however if you get a table nearer the entrance they tend to stay away! Dont let this stop you from booking.

The beach bar food was okay! However again the view of the blue seas and white sand, what's not to love. The food was a mix of more vegetarian dishes and meat dishes. You ordered and could wait upto 30 minutes but then they were busy!

I dont think anyone could question this being an all inclusive resort! Near enough everything was free and for a large group of us it was ideal. All drinks, not just local but also international drinks were included. Real Smirnoff Vodka, all names brands etc.. No one had a problem with us taking drinks back to the room, and they even had a cocktail list!! Champagne was included and this wasn't cheap stuff either! However as you would expect £4 for a tube of star-burst in the local shop!

The grand pineapple beach isn't far, and this has a line of beach vendors well worth a visit! You will be visited from people trying to sell stuff on the beach but again I would expect that! They weren't rude and left you alone if you wanted.

Free water-sports, great! I think between us we did everything from sailing the boat to walking on water! Although the instructors weren't to helpful! All other staff fine! And really nice!
Especially Vera on the bar, and Sandra at the pool bar, and the young guy collecting the glasses at the pool!

Please do make sure that you book here! Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Just got home with my good gal pal and have great memories! Met “THE VERANDAH with Mom and Sister Cherie” gals from New York -- See below review!! Had a wonderful time with all of the nice people we met from the US, UK, and this includes the staff. Had a GREAT seaweed wrap and scalp massage from Cheridon at the spa - incredibly relaxing and fell asleep. The drinks are amazing...try their signature Rum Punch and also the Pina Colada with Coconut Rum and pineapple juice - special concoction for us by Rynar at the main bar. Neil, who will seat you at their Sea Breeze buffet, is a jokester and great fun too. And, Patricia who also greets and seats is always sweet, even if you consistently arrive for a meal 10 minutes before the buffett is closed.
The hardworking staff will treat you like royalty!!!!! and they deserve respectful and pleasant guests.
Take your sunscreen even if you did the tanning bed - the rays are strong!!
Fun evening music at the main bar. The other guests are friendly, you can mingle or stay on your own and do your own thing. Relaxing and open atmosphere.
Go see Devil's Bridge and Long Bay - both within walking distance.
Prepare for crazy shuttle and taxi rides!! Take your dramamine if you are prone to motion sickness.
They have an MD on call who is easy to reach if you need assist.
They have a computer for brief internet access, but if you have a smart phone/ipad take it and sit on the verandah to connect with their wifi. Be prepared for frequent drops in wifi service - just head over to the bar and get a drink, it won't seem so frustrating!
Came home today to rain/sleet/snowstorm. Wish I was still there but will stay in touch with some wonderful people.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColdagaininMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We just returned from a one week all inclusive vacation and had a wonderful holiday. The rooms are spacious and clean. Service was great at the bars and in the restaurant and the food was the best we have experienced at a caribbean resort. Water sports were readily available and there was always room at the pool or on the beach even though the resort was fully booked. We have every intention of booking a return visit. The only thing that would of been nice would of been to have a swim up bar at one of the pools.

Room Tip: We had booked a water view room - for my net visit I would upgrade to the waterfront room
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi_stoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Philips
17.8 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
3.0 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
591 reviews
10.5 km away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
21.7 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
22.0 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philips, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Philip Parish > Saint Philips
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philips
Price Range: $371 - $1,353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint Philips

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing