We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,554)
Filter reviews
2,554 results
Traveller rating
1,715
554
163
60
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,715
554
163
60
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coco bay mr gore the cottages plunge pool lower pool breakfast and lunch waterfront suite rum punch deluxe cottage sheer rocks our honeymoon paninis lobster sea view plantation house mosquito net buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,557 - 1,562 of 2,554 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We have just returned from a great week at Cocobay. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, friendly resort with rustic accommodation this is the place to be.

Our holiday began inauspiciously - long queues at the airport followed by Cocobay losing or overbooking our reservation. O'Neil was very good about it and upgraded us to a seafront bungalow with plunge pool for 2 nights as our prebooked sea view bungalow was currently unavailable. However, after moving to the correct bungalow we found it to be far superior to the 'upgraded' room, with better sea views. As a result we felt we had missed out on 2 nights. Other guests reported similar 'overbooking' incidents.

Once settled, our bungalow provided an authentic, rustic Caribbean feel and gave fantastic views across the bays and mountains. Light sleepers may be disturbed by the sound of the nocturnal wildlife and crashing waves, others may welcome this and want to 'bottle it' to take home!

The resort itself is very clean, tranquil and the staff were the most friendly we have ever experienced, which also rubbed off on the guests who were all very sociable. We met some great friends during out stay.

The adjacent beaches were clean with ample sun loungers available. Snorkeling was disappointing due to sand rendering the water opaque. However snorkeling trips were available to areas with better conditions including the main island reef.

Cocobay can organise various excursions and activities. I can recommend the motor boat and snorkeling excursion and a trip to Shirley Heights on a Sunday. Although watch out for their lethal rum punches and the over friendly Rastafarian! A trip to St Johns and the jeep Safari excursion were also recommended.

A mildly irritating chap on the beach, not affiliated with the hotel, offers private excursions and activities. The horse riding experience was far from impressive according to friends so you take your chances with him.

Food options consist of buffet style breakfast and lunch with a la carte dining for the evening. The food was excellent, if a little limited in choice. A supplement is charged for half of the main evening courses. A wide selection of Cocktails and local beers and spirits are available all through the day. The regular barman is an excellent cocktail maker.

For a change, try Dennis's restaurant along the beach. No menu here, the waitress just offers you what they have cooked for the evening. Excellent authentic Caribbean food.

There is no real evening entertainment at Cocobay, save for a steel band twice a week. This is over by 9.30 p.m. and you will miss one performance if you are at Shirley Heights on a Sunday.

Suggestions would be for full length mirrors and more accessible plug sockets in the bungalows, a little more entertainment of an evening and more smiles from the barman.
All in all we had a lovely holiday, exactly what we were expecting after reading the Trip Advisor reviews. We would definitely want to return to Cocobay one day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarkShendishManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was our first time staying at an "all-inclusive" resort, and we had some concerns about doing so after hearing horror stories from travelers to other all-inclusive places (such as Mexico). However, our stay at Cocobay was simply top-notch all the way around!!! The food was fantastic (yummy AND healthy!), the drinks were plentiful and not watered-down, and the resort itself was simply lovely. We adored the no-children policy (we're parents ourselves, so too bad if this offends you!), and we met some absolutely delighful people during our stay. We very rarely take vacations where we simply vegetate, but this was the perfect place to do so! I would definitely go back and/or recommend Cocobay to my fellow picky travelers.

Tip: The sand flies ate me alive! I protected myself with bug spray the first few nights, and was lulled into a false sense of security. However, on the last 2 nights of our stay, I was practically eaten alive (although you don't know it's happening until it's too late). Apply your bug juice at night!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed Jan 2012 for 2 weeks at cocobay and the most wonderful time. The hptel is quite and informal with a realy nice feel.
The setting is lovely with 2 pools and a very nice beach (apart from the sand files)
The rooms are a little tired but delightful and the views are stunning.
The food at night is served at table and times are booked to ensure good service, the food was of good standard, fresh and very well presented.
The staff are the big selling point friendly, attentive and relaxed yet professional we had a fantastic time a big thank you to all the staff, Mr G, Cheryl, Pria, Denise, Robert they made the holiday a joy.

Room Tip: dont bother witrh a plunge pool.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewKnightLangwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Excellent hotel, front desk staff V.G. dining room and kitchen staff were excellent. All staff from manager down to the room service staff were both friendly and appreciative. The location is also good with plenty of quiet walks to work up an appetite which you need to consume the excellent food. Originally booked a Seaview cottage but on arrival was complimentary upgraded to a junior suite M1. I didnt know what the difference was but all we had in the cottage was 1 chair, a hammock and 2 chairs for the balcony. M2 next door had more including 2 sofas, thats the one to go for. Also if you are over 70 which we are pick nearer to reception no distance or steep paths to walk.
A must is to feed Anti a young playful kitten who visits one and all. The kitchen staff will provide scraps on request.

Overall an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Netma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

So truth be told...we actually visited in August 2009. Though I use Trip Advisor to look up hotels and restaurants for our travel needs, I just joined and started writing reviews to "pay it forward." And I could not stand to miss the opportunity to rate CoCo Bay Resort as the highest possible. My husband and I had the most romatic and relaxing honeymoon. LOVED the cottages, plunge pool, food, service, drinks, beaches....everything! We loved the rustic elegance of it all and enjoyed that the resort only catered to couples. Having 3 beaches to spread out meant that none of the beaches were ever crowded. Sometimes we wished we could have had some entertainment after dinner, but the secluded quiet nature of the resort really let us enjoy one another and the beauty around us. We loved Cottage #7 and hope to return for an anniversary trip one day soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews