We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location,location,location!”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

First and foremost, this hotel is in a fantastic location- must have one of the most scenic views in antigua (if not the whole carribean).......the beach is lovely too, really nice. The hotel itself has many plus points; 1) nice restaurant-and a la carte 6 nights a week! 2) rooms clean, no problem, rooms have character 2) bar and lounge sound 3) pool lovely but small ish (but they have just built a 2nd small pool) so 2 is fine 4) staff friendly and helpful- our fave is the bonkers waiter, Mr Gore- completely crackers but lovely! The only downsides were that the air con is a bit of a rip off and quite a lot of moscuittos (but we were told it was more of a problem due to unusually wet weather).........if the air con was cheaper this place would have been near perfect

Room Tip: save up and make sure you get air con! some of the plunge pool rooms looked a bit dingy- not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank danbertNobacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,471 - 1,475 of 2,402 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the fabulous resort. From the moment we got there we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff members and beautiful accommodations. The seaview cottage had an amazing view and was located close to the beach and the common areas. While there we enjoyed our private patio and dipping pool as well as the resorts kayaks and tours. I would highly recommend going to this resort. It was our first time in Antigua and we cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying for the private dipping pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ewa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Our honeymoon turned into a disaster holiday. To stay here you must really like all inclusive, where you don't leave the hotel. We felt trapped here. The food wasn't very nice and we frequently paid for taxis in order to get out of the hotel and find a decent meal! Sadly the cleaner took some of our belongings and the owner was very rude and indifferent to the whole thing. I was appaulled at the way the management handled the whole incident.
In addition to that the mosquito situation is extremely bad at Cocobay. We were in agony for our two week stay and spent a huge amount of money on repellants, creams, tablets, candels and anything else we could think of. None of it worked. After speaking to some of the locals whilst we were out eating at other restaurants, we discovered that Cocbay is renowned for thier mosquito problem and that other hotels do not suffer to the same degree with this problem. We would NEVER return and would seriously warn anyone thinking of staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocobayGM, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Thank you for sharing your review. We are truly sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your Cocobay visit of August 2011 and we apologise for not meet your expectations.

However, we sincerely hope that you would reconsider and give some thought to visiting again in the future.

Respectfully,
O'Neal, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Short review
Excellent service, cracking food, bar service second to none. Wonderful setting.
Oh and no kids!!!!
Weather 80% sunshine, 10% cloud, 10% storms.
The storm was exciting to watch tho'
Paul & Jo

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We just got back from our amazing vacation at Cocobay! we went for 4 night Dec 22-26th not long enough! go for at least 7 days!
I did lots of research before picking a place and based on all the rave reviews decided to go here and sure glad we did!
we are a family of 5 two kids in their mid 20's and a 14 year old. we were looking for a non touristy, quiet, local feeling, private, and beautiful paradise and we found it! cocobay fulfilled all our expectations and beyond!
starting with the amazing staff Oneal the manager was the nicest most genuine guy. he was so welcoming and made our stay so pleasant.
we LOVED Phillis and the rest of the sweet front desk ladies, the food servers, and bar tenders Orel and all were so sweet and accommodating. we loved seeing their smiling faces everyday!
the place its self is stunning! the views, private beach and hidden little other private beach down the hill from the lobby were beautiful! the whole resort is set up very simple and natural. you feel like you live there and not like your in a hotel. its extremely clean and comfortable and the views from our sea view rooms were beautiful! food was great and they went above and beyond to accommodate us being vegetarian as well as keeping kosher.
we can't say enough good things about the staff here. all sweet Genuine people!
the infinity pool is breathtaking and they just finished building another pool which is beautiful and we loved that everything is so elegantly, and thoughtfully built nothing too big or in your face "Hotel" just organic and beautiful! They have really cute and homey sitting areas and couches to lounge and have a drink by the bar and pool.
its great that they only have Wi Fi in the lobby and restaurant area. that way you truly get to disconnect and relax.
we also really enjoyed the local band in the evenings. the musicians were fantastic and sweet!
if you are looking for a not so populated Caribbean island Antigua is the place! also the other guests of the hotel kept along with the relaxing and serene atmosphere of the place everyone really keeps the volume down you don't hear any of the other guests. everyone is respectful of the place and others around.
look for Sean when you go down to the beach if you want to jet ski he is a very sweet guy and will help you with fun activities on the beach.
overall we HIGHLY recommend this place! you won't be sorry! Ive traveled all around the world and this place is one worth seeing!
we will most definitely go back next year! :)

Room Tip: Book the Seaview rooms or the ones with the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noya10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.5 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,944 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
517 reviews
20.8 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
876 reviews
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,078 reviews
22.6 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: AU$549 - AU$976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing