We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,588)
Filter reviews
2,588 results
Traveller rating
1,745
557
164
60
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,745
557
164
60
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages mr gore coco bay plunge pool breakfast and lunch waterfront suite sheer rocks deluxe cottage lower pool rum punch our honeymoon paninis lobster sea view plantation house buffet style mosquito net
Filter
Updating list...
1,637 - 1,642 of 2,588 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the fabulous resort. From the moment we got there we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff members and beautiful accommodations. The seaview cottage had an amazing view and was located close to the beach and the common areas. While there we enjoyed our private patio and dipping pool as well as the resorts kayaks and tours. I would highly recommend going to this resort. It was our first time in Antigua and we cannot wait to come back.

Room tip: I would recommend paying for the private dipping pool.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ewa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Our honeymoon turned into a disaster holiday. To stay here you must really like all inclusive, where you don't leave the hotel. We felt trapped here. The food wasn't very nice and we frequently paid for taxis in order to get out of the hotel and find a decent meal! Sadly the cleaner took some of our belongings and the owner was very rude and indifferent to the whole thing. I was appaulled at the way the management handled the whole incident.
In addition to that the mosquito situation is extremely bad at Cocobay. We were in agony for our two week stay and spent a huge amount of money on repellants, creams, tablets, candels and anything else we could think of. None of it worked. After speaking to some of the locals whilst we were out eating at other restaurants, we discovered that Cocbay is renowned for thier mosquito problem and that other hotels do not suffer to the same degree with this problem. We would NEVER return and would seriously warn anyone thinking of staying here!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocobayGM, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Thank you for sharing your review. We are truly sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your Cocobay visit of August 2011 and we apologise for not meet your expectations.

However, we sincerely hope that you would reconsider and give some thought to visiting again in the future.

Respectfully,
O'Neal, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Short review
Excellent service, cracking food, bar service second to none. Wonderful setting.
Oh and no kids!!!!
Weather 80% sunshine, 10% cloud, 10% storms.
The storm was exciting to watch tho'
Paul & Jo

Date of stay: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We just got back from our amazing vacation at Cocobay! we went for 4 night Dec 22-26th not long enough! go for at least 7 days!
I did lots of research before picking a place and based on all the rave reviews decided to go here and sure glad we did!
we are a family of 5 two kids in their mid 20's and a 14 year old. we were looking for a non touristy, quiet, local feeling, private, and beautiful paradise and we found it! cocobay fulfilled all our expectations and beyond!
starting with the amazing staff Oneal the manager was the nicest most genuine guy. he was so welcoming and made our stay so pleasant.
we LOVED Phillis and the rest of the sweet front desk ladies, the food servers, and bar tenders Orel and all were so sweet and accommodating. we loved seeing their smiling faces everyday!
the place its self is stunning! the views, private beach and hidden little other private beach down the hill from the lobby were beautiful! the whole resort is set up very simple and natural. you feel like you live there and not like your in a hotel. its extremely clean and comfortable and the views from our sea view rooms were beautiful! food was great and they went above and beyond to accommodate us being vegetarian as well as keeping kosher.
we can't say enough good things about the staff here. all sweet Genuine people!
the infinity pool is breathtaking and they just finished building another pool which is beautiful and we loved that everything is so elegantly, and thoughtfully built nothing too big or in your face "Hotel" just organic and beautiful! They have really cute and homey sitting areas and couches to lounge and have a drink by the bar and pool.
its great that they only have Wi Fi in the lobby and restaurant area. that way you truly get to disconnect and relax.
we also really enjoyed the local band in the evenings. the musicians were fantastic and sweet!
if you are looking for a not so populated Caribbean island Antigua is the place! also the other guests of the hotel kept along with the relaxing and serene atmosphere of the place everyone really keeps the volume down you don't hear any of the other guests. everyone is respectful of the place and others around.
look for Sean when you go down to the beach if you want to jet ski he is a very sweet guy and will help you with fun activities on the beach.
overall we HIGHLY recommend this place! you won't be sorry! Ive traveled all around the world and this place is one worth seeing!
we will most definitely go back next year! :)

Room tip: Book the Seaview rooms or the ones with the pools
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noya10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My hubby and I vacationed here for our honeymoon for 5 nights in the middle of December. After a 12 hour travel excursion we finally made it to this beautiful property! We were greeted with cold towels and rum punch, but most importantly a smiling Phyllis behind the desk. She was informative and attentive to all of our needs. The hotel manager, O'neil, was also present upon our arrival. A very nice gentleman indeed. We were greeted by him everyday, which is something you don't see state-side.
We stayed in the sea-front room with the plunge pool (#6). It had a really sweet view and was upkept very well. The plunge pool was FREEZING, for it sat in the shade all day long, but we still used it loads of times. We chose to do absolutely nothing, and it was a success! There are a few hecklers on the beach that were selling excursions (pricey) that are probably a blast, we just simply said "no thanks" and they went on their way. If you want to go to Shirley Heights or into St. John's, use P.P. for the ride. Very nice gentleman and very informative!
My only complaint about the whole resort is the food. Breakfast was the only meal that was decent and all the rest were just really bad. Had a blast though!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneF997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews