We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,169)
Filter reviews
2,169 results
Traveller rating
1,649
388
92
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,649
388
92
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french colonial style pepper tree restaurant sorbet cold towels peppertree restaurant phu quoc main building live band four poster bed turn down service garden villa our honeymoon perfect end wonderful hotel lush gardens each evening welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 2,169 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at La Veranda for 5 nights in January.
It's a lovely hotel with a personal feel.
However we were left disappointed after emailing the hotel prior to our stay to ask for a room away from the construction next door. When we arrived we were placed right next to the construction and shuttle buses were offered on 3 of the days to Sao Beach (30 min drive away).
The restaurant was good and a Great variety for breakfast each morning.
I personally didnt feel that the room reflected £200 per night. Certainly after staying at the Chen Sea prior to La Veranda.
The staff were excellent though. It's in a great location to walk out to other bars and restaurants and safe to do so.
Long beach is a lively resort.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank DerbyLass18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear DerbyLass 18,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc.

We are very happy to receive your positive review, and hearing that you were warmly helped by our staff as well as enjoyed good food brings us much joy.

Regarding your room allocation. We have several room types, on different area's surrounding the hotel. Sadly your room category was located a bit closer to the noise pollution as you might have expected. As requested, we did try to put you as far away as possible. And during your visit there was no higher category available for you as a possible upgrade.

As for the noise we would like to inform you that the work of our neighbor has stopped, and peace and quiet has returned to the resort.

Once again, thank you for leaving your review with the TripAdvisor community, and we hope to welcome you back once again.

Sincerely,

Lennart Voogt
Guest Relations Officer
La Veranda Resort Mgallery by Sofitel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Had a lovely stay in week four of a trip around Cambodia and Vietnam to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The design & decor of the hotel was lovely.Our room had a lovely sea view and we had a wonderful selection of flowers, cake and candles to greet us when we arrived. Had great service from most of the staff, Anna ,the Guest Services deserves a special mention. Location was lovely. The downside was the very high drinks & food prices which led to many guests eating in the variety of local bars/ restaurants.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 32725aw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear 32725aw,

Many thanks from the entire La Veranda Resort for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent visit.

We are very happy to read that you had chosen our resort to spend this special 30 year anniversary at. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed our hotels design and decoration, as we try to create a special environment for all our guests.

Your kind words regarding our guest relations manager Annia will be shared to much of her enjoyment.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back shortly.

Sincerely,

Lennart Voogt
Guest Relations Officer
La Veranda Resort Mgallery by Sofitel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We stayed in this fabulous hotel for two weeks in November 2017, we enjoyed it so much we returned again in March 2018. La Veranda is something very special. A small hotel with only 70 rooms and a maximum of 140 guests and 210 staff, that says it all really, the service in this hotel in all departments is impeccable. The hotel staff make you feel very special. It is like being part of a large family. As returning guests, we were lucky enough to be given that little bit extra special service and benefits. If you appreciate the finer things in life, this is the hotel for you. The next bit is really just a repeat of the review I wrote in November. A little bit about the hotel, French colonial style in fabulous gardens. The rooms are fine, nothing fancy but in keeping with the style of the hotel. The pool is nothing fancy either but serves it's purpose adequately. La Veranda benefits from a private section of the beach, nice thick cushions on the sunbeds. Evening entertainment is from an incredible group of musicians 6 nights a week, some of the best we have ever heard. As I said before, the service is what makes this place very special in all aspects. Til, the Food and Beverages Manager needs a special mention as does Annia the Customer Relations Manager. All the serving staff were phenomenal but especially Khoa, otherwise known as Hank Marvin, they all helped make our holiday very very special. Now the food, fabulous, high quality, presented beautifully nothing we could fault. Breakfast selection was very good and again the service was brilliant. The main Peppertree restaurant is regarded as one of the best restaurants on the island, I would agree, fabulous food, try the rib eye steak, cooked at your table, incredible! The theme nights are fabulous as well especially the Sea and Shore buffet / bbq, the free wine and cava tasting goes down very well as part of the evening. As in my last review, I have to compliment the Management in this hotel as they are the ones that make it happen with Til and Annia being top of the class. I could go on and on about this fabulous hotel but basically if you want to experience old style luxury and tip top service and fabulous food give this place a go. Would we come back, absolutely, in a heartbeat.

One last thing, if you want to visit Phu Quoc, do it now as there is potential for an eco disaster developing, the amount of hotel construction either underway or planned is enormous and if they are not careful they will destroy the island.

Room tip: Villa 209 or 211 is perfect, fab rooms, close to everything.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Eric A,

A big thanks from the La Veranda family, and thank you for your glaring review regarding your recent return.

It was our pleasure to be your host once again, and reading your beautiful description of our hotel grounds gives us much joy.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, and especially your recommendation for our Pepper Tree Restaurant. We try to take best care in providing a special dining experience for our holiday customers.

Your kind words of not only our management but our whole team is very much appreciated, and will be shared with all for their enjoyment. This review will surely stand as a testament to our continuous efforts to provide the best possible service.

Once again, Thank you so much for your return. And we are looking forward to your next one.

Sincerely,

Lennart Voogt
Guest Relations Officer
La Veranda Resort Mgallery by Sofitel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

When you approach this hotel you might wonder were your driver is taking you because the access from the main road is a mere track but don't be worried. The hotel is best described as Colonial in style with a series of buildings providing the rooms and all dining and bar facilities. We stayed in a Memorable Premier Ocean View room which was large and had a very spacious two sinked bathroom with both a bath and large walk in shower. The room had a small outside terrace.
The hotel has one main dining room which serves breakfast and A la Carte meals in the evening. There is a another restaurant available in the evening which is beach side and is less formal but also serves excellent food. There is also a bar which has an extensive cocktail range.
Swimming is either in the sea via a very good sandy beach (not private) or in a swimming pool. If I have any criticism of the hotel it would be that the pool area is relatively small and it's not always possible to find a sun bed.
As seems the norm in Vietnam the staff were all extremely helpful.

Room tip: If you like the sea ask for a room with a sea view
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevvynuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear sevvynuneaton,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write such a positive review of our resort with the TripAdvisor community.

We truly appreciate your appraisal regarding our colonial resort style, as we try to create something special for our customers on the island. We regret to hear that that you had some difficulties with finding a sunbed at the pool. They sometimes get moved around to the beach to assist during high occupancy. Our beach is actually a private one, but as it is located in the center of long beach, which is a 15 kilometer stretch we can not withheld guests from passing by. We do have security on duty to ensure only our customers can make use of it.

We do hope you truly had some memorable moments, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lennart Voogt
Guest Relations Officer
La Veranda Resort Mgallery by Sofitel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Once into this fabulous hotel surrounded on every side by beautiful tropical plants and flowers we relaxed into the rhythm of relaxation. Service and food was all excellent and being pampered on the beach was a delight.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Martin M,

Many thanks from the entire La Veranda team for your positive review regarding your recent visit to La Veranda.

We very much appreciate your appraisal and are very happy to hear that you found some relaxation in between our beautiful gardens.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Lennart Voogt
Guest Relations Officer
La Veranda Resort Mgallery by Sofitel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews