We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“returning guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We were returning guests coming back after a break of 7 years. It is unusual for us to visit somewhere twice.

Location
The hotel is around 20mins from the new airport. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from bookable in advance (our agent handled this for us). It is down a track off the main road with a number of restaurants, bars and small shops. The resort opens out on to the beach.

Rooms
We booked a Classic Villa Garden view which had a large bathroom (inc a bath which is why we went for this room type), a good size room, terrace and private garden with additional seating. The room has a high ceiling giving it a feeling of additional space. Furnishings & toiletries provided are of a good quality. The room was well cleaned and the hotel offered a turn down service with snacks. Water was provided in the bathroom and room daily. There is a small mini-fridge which we managed to fit some beers in.

Facilitates
There are ample beds on the beach and a smaller amount (around 12) around the pool. We didn’t struggle to get a bed. The pool is of a good temperature and a good size for length swimming. There is a spa which is expensive by local standards but the massage treatments are very good with well-trained therapists. The only issue was the noise from the next door building work (which does distract from the massage) and one of the rooms being adjoined so there being therapists walking through to get equipment. There is a restaurant on site which is split between the gardens and the main house with different menus. Reception are helpful when booking taxis etc (and making sure we had a business card to get home). Sorbet and cold towels are brought around the pool which is a nice touch.

Food and Drinks
Breakfast is served upstairs in the main building. We found the selection to be very good with western and local dishes. There were fresh cooked eggs, waffles and noodles available as well as salads, fruits, breads & pastries, English breakfast items, local dishes and dim sum. Items seemed to be replenished frequently. A variety of juices were also available. We only had dinner in the hotel once (as it was a complimentary dinner) which was a seafood buffet – the quality and selection was very good. Drinks are very expensive with the cheapest bottle of wine being around £40.00 and a beer being 5-8 times more expensive than outside (around 40p in a store and around 50-75p in a bar).

Out and About
We have been to this island before and were amazed at how developed the area has now become. There is a lot of building work taking place, but luckily on this stretch of beach it seems to be remaining low rise. There are some great restaurants at really good value in walking distance. Our favourite was at Nha Hang - Nhat Lan which is out of the hotel and turn right (take a torch) and follow all the way to the end of the road. It is connected to the hotel here (walk down to the beach). The food was amazing and fresh with a daily fish BBQ. We ate there on our final lunch and dinner it was so good. Right on the beach and great value – around £10 for two courses including beer. There is also a pizza restaurant with a pizza oven just up the hill. The local shops will keep you in good priced beer and water. The island also now has a night market which was worth a visit (a lot less stressful than shopping in the markets in Cambodia or Vietnam mainland).

The Downsides
There is building work going on next door to the hotel which when we were there (which is outside of the hotels control but worth thinking about if you are travelling in the next 3-6 months) however, this was made worse by the hotel deciding to jet wash the roofs of the cottages leading to a constant noise. This was very frustrating.
The hotel lost its 5* on tripadvisor for us on our final day. We were at breakfast when we noticed a guy shouting at a staff member in the buffet area (something around baskets being used rather than boxes). Anyone in the hospitality world knows 1. If you have a problem you take it off shop floor 2. You do an inspection before service to make sure things are to your standards or do a review after service. The staff member obviously couldn’t understand what the issue was but the guy just got right up in his face and continued shouting. Turns out this was the owner, obviously money but no manners / staff management / customer facing capabilities.

Overall
This hotel still maintains the charm we experienced at our previous visit 7 years before. The staff are great and you will be looked after. Service comes with a smile and the staff are genuinely wanting to help. It is expensive in the hotel, but venture out and support the local community…

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank D&D_Holiday_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

ANNOUNCEMENT: ALL CONSTRUCTION HAS FINISHED SINCE 20TH DECEMBER 2017

Dear D&D_Holiday_feedback,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us the story of your holiday on Tripadvisor.

Such a detailed feedback! Thank you for choosing us once again and I am really delighted to read that our excellent service met your expectations one more time. Thank you for especially highlighting our “great staff” and our “very good spa” as well as our high quality food.

We are sorry however about the disturbances encountered with our new wellness center’s construction. Please be informed that it will be finished on the 20th of December 2017 and there has not been any complaints of late.

Regarding the cleaning of the roof, we took advantage of the end of the rainy season to do our yearly roof maintenance, and I am deeply sorry that it had an impact on your stay although we only start that in the early afternoon to minimize any disturbance.

Our owner takes a very hands on approach to all details of La Veranda which is the reason why the property is the way it is. He would never shout in the face of our staff, since he is well aware of normal custom and was born in Asia, so I am sure you misinterpreted what you saw or heard. He does, however, sometimes have a loud voice when communicating!

Once again, thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you back for a third stay to La Veranda!

Kind regards

La Veranda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

We had stayed at La Veranda before, in 2014, and were so pleased to be able to return this year to celebrate a recent "significant" birthday, On arrival, we were greeted with a drink and little snacks, as is normal, and went to our villa. Just as on our previous visit, the accommodation is perfection. A huge bed, and everything else one could wish for. Look on their website and you will see what I mean. The location and setting of La Veranda is wonderful - set down a little lane way off the main road, and right on the beach in a huge tropical garden full of Bird of Paradise flowers and other exotic species of plants. But the greatest asset are the staff. Passing any of them, from management to gardeners, you are greeted with a huge smile and "Good Morning/Afternoon" etc. The whole resort is kept spotlessly clean and perfectly maintained. Nothing is too much trouble; we had three tiny problems with the villa, a noisy overhead fan, which was replaced within ten minutes, a leaking kettle, changed within five minutes, and a crackly telephone, again sorted in five minutes. Breakfast was superb, with everything you would expect at a five star establishment, with delightful staff to help fulfil your every need. We ate in the resort on the evening of the Seafood Barbecue - amazing variety of fish and shellfish etc. everything freshly cooked to perfection. I have read some reviews complaing about food quality and prices, but in the end I feel that some people are serial complainers who will find apparent fault with anything they can find to moan about.
We used the spa on a number of occasions. One word - wonderful! Lovely staff (as normal) and superb treatment. Same old thing, you get what you pay for!
I hope I am not giving the impression of painting too rosy a picture of La Veranda. I try to be totally honest in my reviews; if things need saying, good or bad, I will say them (see my other reviews!) In this case I can honestly say that La Veranda is virtually perfect, although the music in the evenings could perhaps be a little too loud for some? Truly one of the finest places we have ever stayed in many years of world travel. Our many thanks to all at La Veranda, especially Annia, Van and Jessica for making our stay truly memorable.

p.s. Annia, I haven't forgotten the cheese!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prestonspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear prestonspal,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you again to La Veranda and to know that you had another beautiful experience! It is great to know that we made your holiday so special and we were all thrilled to read your very kind review.

We would also like to thank you for mentioning us, the entire team of La Veranda, it is the best reward to know that you were pleased with our service!

Once again thank you for your very kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you again to La Veranda!

Kind regards,

La Veranda team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We spent 4 days at La Veranda at the end of our trip to Vietnam Nov. 2017. The staff were fantastic and could not do enough for us. We had a fabulous room and were made to feel special as it was our 20th wedding anniversary, the Spa was excellent with excellent staff. The hotel is adjacent to the beach. The hotel put on a number of excellent events ranging from Wine tasting to Barbecues. Location enables clients to take advantage of barbecues provided along the beach by beach bars/restaurants etc.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gordonritchie2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear gordonritchie2501,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

The whole La Veranda team was delighted to welcome you and to read your kind words, your comment has been really heartening for all of us!

Our elegant colonial house is, as you said, the perfect place to relax and unwind and I am thrilled to know that we were able to create you a memorable experience for your 20th wedding anniversary!

Once again thank you for your very kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you again to La Veranda.

Kind regards

La Veranda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Having travelled round Vietnam (North to South), a week at La Veranda was the perfect end to our trip. The resort was clean, had everything we wanted, the food excellent and the staff were very friendly and attentive.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keithwaudby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear keithwaudby,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor!

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to La Veranda and we are delighted to read that we were the perfect end to your holidays in Vietnam.

It's always very rewarding for the whole team to know when we are able to meet our guest's expectation and we would like to thank you for your very kind words!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and to provide you with another memorable moment!

Sincerely,

La Veranda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel provides an excellent customer service from the time you checked in to the check out . You are picked up by the hotels friendly staff at the airport in an air conditioned minibus and provided with wet towel and cold water . On arrival we were welcomed with special a liquor and cocktail (presented beautifully ) than member of staff explained the facilities and took us to our room which had fruit plate and wellcome letter with a free meal offer for the noise created by the construction and free 1 hour massage for gym not being open in time . These were very good gestures but the noise was unbearable at times and spoilt what would have been a great experience . This property had only included breakfast with enough to choose from . They offered free tea and refreshments between 15.30 to 17.30 on Monday’s and Fridays . The beach was beautiful and civilised with comfortable sun beds . The towels were provided by the helpful staff who could not do enough for you . They served wet towel and iced mango twice a day . The beach was exclusive . There were free canoes to use if you wanted to exploder the beach . The pool looked very good and quite . There was a good and reasonably cheap bar called Rory’s bar next to the hotel which was great to have drink while watching the sun gone done . There were also very nice restaurants to have cheap Bbqed sea food and drinks . Important tip to ask for discount before you sit down and make sure they understand what you ordered and enjoy your meal . Hotels meals and drinks were nice but very pricey . There are several bars and restaurant to have decent food and drinks at a reasonable price . There is also free bike hire at the hotel if you want to explore the area . We hired a motorbike for 150 dong a day to visit the coconut prison and the paradise beach which I highly recommend. The hotel also offers massage in their spa which is excellent but very pricey 1400 dong on average. If you want a relaxing holiday in an excellent hotel in a fabulous location please consider this property . But make sure to find out when is the construction work is to be completed .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tolga g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

ANNOUNCEMENT: ALL CONSTRUCTION HAS FINISHED SINCE 20TH DECEMBER 2017

Dear tolga g,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us some of your holiday memory as it seems you will remember them for quite a while!

It was very rewarding for the team to read your review and to know that you had a memorable moment at La Veranda.

We are sorry however about the disturbances encountered with our new wellness center’s construction. Please be informed that it will be finished on the 20th of December 2017, guaranteed. Unfortunately, it is inevitable that until that time there will be intermittent noises during the day but nothing consistent or too disturbing since they are now at finishing stages. As you perfectly said though, we are very proud to offer you an excellent customer service and will keep on doing so to ensure an amazing experience to all of our guests!

Once again, we are sorry that you felt inconvenienced and hope to welcome you back to La Veranda!

Kind regards

La Veranda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
23.5 km away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
492 reviews
0.5 km away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 49 in Duong Dong
1,157 reviews
1 km away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
1,266 reviews
6.6 km away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
1,057 reviews
19.3 km away
JW Marriott Phu Quoc Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection

Address: Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#1 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: $215 - $660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing west onto the gorgeous gulf of Thailand, MGallery La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc has an atmosphere of intimate luxury and a wide stretch of white sandy beach which affords wonderful sunset views. Beautifully designed and inspired by the colonial styles of the past, the boutique resort is for those who love the Phu Quoc island ambience and the tranquility that a tropical beach setting brings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, Member Of The Mgallery Collection Hotel
Mercure Phu Quoc Island
Accor Phu Quoc Island
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing