We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,115)
Filter reviews
2,115 results
Traveller rating
1,604
382
91
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,604
382
91
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french colonial style sorbet pepper tree restaurant cold towels peppertree restaurant phu quoc four poster bed live band turn down service garden villa beautiful hotel our honeymoon main building each evening perfect end lush gardens private beach
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 2,115 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We had stayed at La Veranda before, in 2014, and were so pleased to be able to return this year to celebrate a recent "significant" birthday, On arrival, we were greeted with a drink and little snacks, as is normal, and went to our villa. Just as on our previous visit, the accommodation is perfection. A huge bed, and everything else one could wish for. Look on their website and you will see what I mean. The location and setting of La Veranda is wonderful - set down a little lane way off the main road, and right on the beach in a huge tropical garden full of Bird of Paradise flowers and other exotic species of plants. But the greatest asset are the staff. Passing any of them, from management to gardeners, you are greeted with a huge smile and "Good Morning/Afternoon" etc. The whole resort is kept spotlessly clean and perfectly maintained. Nothing is too much trouble; we had three tiny problems with the villa, a noisy overhead fan, which was replaced within ten minutes, a leaking kettle, changed within five minutes, and a crackly telephone, again sorted in five minutes. Breakfast was superb, with everything you would expect at a five star establishment, with delightful staff to help fulfil your every need. We ate in the resort on the evening of the Seafood Barbecue - amazing variety of fish and shellfish etc. everything freshly cooked to perfection. I have read some reviews complaing about food quality and prices, but in the end I feel that some people are serial complainers who will find apparent fault with anything they can find to moan about.
We used the spa on a number of occasions. One word - wonderful! Lovely staff (as normal) and superb treatment. Same old thing, you get what you pay for!
I hope I am not giving the impression of painting too rosy a picture of La Veranda. I try to be totally honest in my reviews; if things need saying, good or bad, I will say them (see my other reviews!) In this case I can honestly say that La Veranda is virtually perfect, although the music in the evenings could perhaps be a little too loud for some? Truly one of the finest places we have ever stayed in many years of world travel. Our many thanks to all at La Veranda, especially Annia, Van and Jessica for making our stay truly memorable.

p.s. Annia, I haven't forgotten the cheese!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prestonspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear prestonspal,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you again to La Veranda and to know that you had another beautiful experience! It is great to know that we made your holiday so special and we were all thrilled to read your very kind review.

We would also like to thank you for mentioning us, the entire team of La Veranda, it is the best reward to know that you were pleased with our service!

Once again thank you for your very kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you again to La Veranda!

Kind regards,

La Veranda team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We spent 4 days at La Veranda at the end of our trip to Vietnam Nov. 2017. The staff were fantastic and could not do enough for us. We had a fabulous room and were made to feel special as it was our 20th wedding anniversary, the Spa was excellent with excellent staff. The hotel is adjacent to the beach. The hotel put on a number of excellent events ranging from Wine tasting to Barbecues. Location enables clients to take advantage of barbecues provided along the beach by beach bars/restaurants etc.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gordonritchie2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear gordonritchie2501,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

The whole La Veranda team was delighted to welcome you and to read your kind words, your comment has been really heartening for all of us!

Our elegant colonial house is, as you said, the perfect place to relax and unwind and I am thrilled to know that we were able to create you a memorable experience for your 20th wedding anniversary!

Once again thank you for your very kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you again to La Veranda.

Kind regards

La Veranda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Having travelled round Vietnam (North to South), a week at La Veranda was the perfect end to our trip. The resort was clean, had everything we wanted, the food excellent and the staff were very friendly and attentive.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keithwaudby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear keithwaudby,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor!

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to La Veranda and we are delighted to read that we were the perfect end to your holidays in Vietnam.

It's always very rewarding for the whole team to know when we are able to meet our guest's expectation and we would like to thank you for your very kind words!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and to provide you with another memorable moment!

Sincerely,

La Veranda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel provides an excellent customer service from the time you checked in to the check out . You are picked up by the hotels friendly staff at the airport in an air conditioned minibus and provided with wet towel and cold water . On arrival we were welcomed with special a liquor and cocktail (presented beautifully ) than member of staff explained the facilities and took us to our room which had fruit plate and wellcome letter with a free meal offer for the noise created by the construction and free 1 hour massage for gym not being open in time . These were very good gestures but the noise was unbearable at times and spoilt what would have been a great experience . This property had only included breakfast with enough to choose from . They offered free tea and refreshments between 15.30 to 17.30 on Monday’s and Fridays . The beach was beautiful and civilised with comfortable sun beds . The towels were provided by the helpful staff who could not do enough for you . They served wet towel and iced mango twice a day . The beach was exclusive . There were free canoes to use if you wanted to exploder the beach . The pool looked very good and quite . There was a good and reasonably cheap bar called Rory’s bar next to the hotel which was great to have drink while watching the sun gone done . There were also very nice restaurants to have cheap Bbqed sea food and drinks . Important tip to ask for discount before you sit down and make sure they understand what you ordered and enjoy your meal . Hotels meals and drinks were nice but very pricey . There are several bars and restaurant to have decent food and drinks at a reasonable price . There is also free bike hire at the hotel if you want to explore the area . We hired a motorbike for 150 dong a day to visit the coconut prison and the paradise beach which I highly recommend. The hotel also offers massage in their spa which is excellent but very pricey 1400 dong on average. If you want a relaxing holiday in an excellent hotel in a fabulous location please consider this property . But make sure to find out when is the construction work is to be completed .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tolga g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

ANNOUNCEMENT: ALL CONSTRUCTION HAS FINISHED SINCE 20TH DECEMBER 2017

Dear tolga g,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us some of your holiday memory as it seems you will remember them for quite a while!

It was very rewarding for the team to read your review and to know that you had a memorable moment at La Veranda.

We are sorry however about the disturbances encountered with our new wellness center’s construction. Please be informed that it will be finished on the 20th of December 2017, guaranteed. Unfortunately, it is inevitable that until that time there will be intermittent noises during the day but nothing consistent or too disturbing since they are now at finishing stages. As you perfectly said though, we are very proud to offer you an excellent customer service and will keep on doing so to ensure an amazing experience to all of our guests!

Once again, we are sorry that you felt inconvenienced and hope to welcome you back to La Veranda!

Kind regards

La Veranda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

we have just come home from La Veranda
I could not fault it .
not only is it a beautiful building the staff were excelent
food , room was great
you will love it
Jimmy Mc Donald
ps the band are brilliant

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jimmym186230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Pierre G, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Jimmym186230,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

It was a pleasure to welcome you to La Veranda and we are delighted to read such a kind review!

I am also very happy to read that you enjoyed our live band so much, here at La Veranda, our top priority is to provide you with memorable moment and it is a great reward for our wonderful and dedicated staff to know that we were able to do so for you, your comment has been really heartening for all of us!

Once again thank you for your very kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you again to La Veranda!

Kind regards,

La Veranda team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews