We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
67
21
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
21
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad high quality fruit locals restaurant meats
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Close to fine dining experience. Hotel is very basic but restaurant and family run restaurant very good. We had as starter liver which was very tender. As a main we both had deer which was also very good.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mbz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We loved it, nothing was too much trouble, the food was excellent including the ample breakfast everyday. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming especially Tatiana and Ludwig who remembered all our names, the rooms traditional and cleaned to a very good standard. They are biker friendly and had plenty of room for our 10 motorbikes with the offer of the garage, there was also plenty of space in the good sized bedrooms for all our clothing etc.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. Owner was very nice and helping.Room and bathroom were very clean. Good WiFi network in room. Very nice view from balcony. Breakfast was very nice. All together this is really very nice place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashvinmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

Went there with 3 friends on a bike trip. Owner, ludwig is biker friendly and we could store our bike in his garage. First day we had bradwurst und kartoffelen and a salade. Very nice 'boerenkost' dish. Second day we had streak with wild garlic butter, this meat was reeeeaaalllly good . And the wild garlic was very nice. Finished the meal off with some wiskey. Also they have a very nice beergarten with view on the mountains. When you have a late night, katia and ludwig will talk to you, stay with you! No closing hours.
Ludwig, katia: thank you for putting up with us four crazy bikers!!

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 281rafk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We have stayed at the Gruner Baum 2 years ago. This time I came back with my teenage son for 2 nights of fun vacation in the Black Forest.
I was so happy to see that the hotel still maintains a high quality in both service and facilities. Ludwig and Katjana are so nice, always with a smile, always "Yes" and are most happy to give local tips and secrets of non-touristic places to go to.
Don't miss a great dinner at the hotel's restaurant - delicious local food.
Great location to stay in if you are planning to go to Todtnau, Freiburg and Europa Park.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews