We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
67
20
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
20
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad high quality fruit locals restaurant meats
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in the middle of the Schwartzwald (Black Forest) - this is it!
located high in Simonswald, the Gruner Baum offers the most beautiful location, forest view and GREAT rooms.
This is a perfect place for nature activities - hiking, jogging etc.
Staff is so friendly (Thank you, Ludwig!) and helpful.
Eat at the house restaurant at least once - Delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our stay was great, the price was perfect, the ambiance nice and the food was wonderful.
We spent three nights there and we needed a little bit of a special treatment, as we needed our breakfast earlier than normal. This was no problem for Ludwig and his crew. Our breakfast was ready at 6 AM every day.
The rooms, with communal balcony were roomy and clean. A great place to catch your breath.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brinkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is the second time we've been here - the first was for dinner with friends who live nearby - but this was the first time we've stayed overnight. After our first stay, we didn't have any doubt that the accommodation would also be great too.

Very informal atmosphere, but great food and wine and spiced up by the wonderful wit of the owner :) I speak German, but his English is excellent and humour dry as a bone.

Blazing fast free internet, hearty (included) breakfast and immaculate rooms are one thing, but it could be a tent in a field for all I care - the true attraction to this place is its sheer natural beauty.

I rarely review a place that I'm still staying in, but this one was worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view and terrace.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve_blag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

After reading the reviews on this site we decided to take a slight detour on our trip through the Black Forest to stay here and it was well worth it. The staff were very friendly, even those that don't speak english or french. The restaurant had nice food and a good atmosphere. Will def be back if we are in the region again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence_Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We booked due to its location and excellent reviews. It is in a quiet location and Ludwig and his family who run it are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, spacious, and well equipped. Both evening meal and breakfast were excellent and good value.
All in all, we consider it an excellent discovery and will be visiting it again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poplarkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews