We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet comfort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landgasthaus Gruener Baum
Ranked #1 of 8 Simonswald B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A nice little hotel nestled in the mountains near Freiburg (15mins). Very clean, spacious rooms, wifi, TV, hairdryer, balcony rooms, and nice staff. Great breakfast, good dinner. We walked the area around the hotel and it was so peaceful and beautiful. Even the evening's were extra special sitting outside on the balcony. They have a very pretty beer garden area out back separate from the hotel, and there was live music the night we left. It's a shame we missed itt!!

Room Tip: Ask for the carrot, chili, ginger appetizer drink....you will not regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAConto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in the middle of the Schwartzwald (Black Forest) - this is it!
located high in Simonswald, the Gruner Baum offers the most beautiful location, forest view and GREAT rooms.
This is a perfect place for nature activities - hiking, jogging etc.
Staff is so friendly (Thank you, Ludwig!) and helpful.
Eat at the house restaurant at least once - Delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our stay was great, the price was perfect, the ambiance nice and the food was wonderful.
We spent three nights there and we needed a little bit of a special treatment, as we needed our breakfast earlier than normal. This was no problem for Ludwig and his crew. Our breakfast was ready at 6 AM every day.
The rooms, with communal balcony were roomy and clean. A great place to catch your breath.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brinkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is the second time we've been here - the first was for dinner with friends who live nearby - but this was the first time we've stayed overnight. After our first stay, we didn't have any doubt that the accommodation would also be great too.

Very informal atmosphere, but great food and wine and spiced up by the wonderful wit of the owner :) I speak German, but his English is excellent and humour dry as a bone.

Blazing fast free internet, hearty (included) breakfast and immaculate rooms are one thing, but it could be a tent in a field for all I care - the true attraction to this place is its sheer natural beauty.

I rarely review a place that I'm still staying in, but this one was worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve_blag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

After reading the reviews on this site we decided to take a slight detour on our trip through the Black Forest to stay here and it was well worth it. The staff were very friendly, even those that don't speak english or french. The restaurant had nice food and a good atmosphere. Will def be back if we are in the region again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence_Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simonswald hotels
2.7 km away
Gasthof Hotel Engel
Gasthof Hotel Engel
#2 of 8 in Simonswald
46 reviews
2 km away
Gasthaus Zur Erle
Gasthaus Zur Erle
#1 of 3 in Simonswald
18 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Gasthaus Zum Hirschen
Hotel Gasthaus Zum Hirschen
#2 of 3 in Simonswald
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Gasthaus Rebstock
Gasthaus Rebstock
#3 of 8 in Simonswald
63 reviews
2.5 km away
Gasthaus Ratsstuble
Gasthaus Ratsstuble
#4 of 8 in Simonswald
34 reviews
2.6 km away
Gasthaus-Krone-Post
Gasthaus-Krone-Post
#4 of 5 in Simonswald
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landgasthaus Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgasthaus Gruener Baum

Address: Neuenweg 1, 79263 Simonswald, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Simonswald
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Simonswald
Price Range: $86 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Landgasthaus Gruener Baum 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the idyllic village of Simonswald, this friendly country guest house offers typical Black Forest charm and delicious cuisine. The Landgasthaus Gruner Baum will seduce you with its cosy Double Rooms and charming details such as the fountain in front of the building, the tiled oven and the painted ceilings in the restaurant. Explore the untouched countryside of the southern Black Forest and enjoy the famously pure air. The restaurant will spoil you with home-made specialities, typical dishes from the Black Forest and Baden region, and international country-style favourites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Landgasthaus Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing