We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
214
55
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
55
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narrow winding road black forest haas church sekt spa km region
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

A nice place to switch off, go hiking, relax in the spa and quiet room areas, excellent cuisine with loads of choices even for the gluten intolerant. Very attentive staff that take pride in thier duties. Will definitely go again with the family.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zanza-Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The hotel is truly in the Schwarzwald. To get here you need to navigate a 12 km narrow winding road from Wolfach. But it is totally worth the effort.
We were welcomed with a glass of Sekt and chatted with some of the staff.
Our room, 702, was a lovely large suite with magnificent recliners. I checked out the bathroom. Next to the shower is space for a washing machine. The bathroom is that big! From the balcony you can see the pool and deck below and the church above. I plugged my laptop into the internet. No dramas.
When we had settled in, we walked up the hill to the parish church of St Roman. The cemetery was very well maintained with graves from the late 19th century until just last year. A few family names regularly appear e.g. Haas and Dieterle.
We took a trip to Rheinfall in Switzerland and on the road from Wolfach to St Roman, we saw deer in the paddocks. Our friends joined us for dinner at the Hotel. But before that I went to the bar where the vivacious Nancy brought me a Fürstberg Naturtrüb. Antja served us in the restaurant and proved just as hospitable. We received a complementary starter of a couple of prawns with wonderfully dressed leaves. Anne chose venison and I selected Wildschweinbraten - a good choice. We drank an Oberkircher Syrah from the region, Ostenau as I recall. It was a lovely meal.
We were up at 7am because we have to get to Freiburg for our Flixbus to München. At breakfast I tried Wildwurst, among other things. It was very good. We spoke to the staff and were provided with a traveller’s bag. I made a couple of rolls for lunch on the bus, because the trip takes five hours. On checkout a gift of a pot of jam was a nice touch.

Room tip: 702 had great views
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclops69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Access was straightforward; the GPS took us straight to the front door. We had reserved parking but in the end it was not necessary; there was ample free parking on the verges outside.
The hotel is large and airy and scores highly for its wellness amenities, which we plan to use on our next visit. There is lift access to both residential wings. We had a junior suite on the 3rd floor; spacious and wonderfully set out, plus a double bedroom in the other wing. There were thoughtful touches such as a rucksack with walking maps, a corner spa bath and a bay window with a forest view. The beds were very comfortable and our 3rd floor bedroom had a dorma window. We asked for somewhere to play cards and were shown to a dining annex table that was perfect. Staff attended us throughout, providing some delightful house rose Sekt. The dinner and breakfast were first class. The staff and owner were friendly and helpful at all times. This was the best hotel we had stayed at that fortnight, and we'll certainly be back. Full marks to Adler.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

5 days without a worry, excellent staff driven by good standards and customer care; this is a resort hotel in glorious surroundings. Almost everyone speaks good English and whilst correct the whole place seems to be run with a smile and charm which reflects the satisfaction of its guests. We had a junior suite in the new wing which was modern and comfortable, a bathroom fitted with a great shower and generally well maintained, comfortable beds and mounds of room with a lovely balcony and view to remember. Food was to a high standard especially breakfast, the a la carte generous and good quality, the wine list packed with an interesting German selection. Apart from lovely walks in the forest there is a good pool and decent sports facilities and wellness programmes. The lack of the fifth star for us was due to the haphazard way the bar is run, slowness of the kitchen at dinner and the obscure table allocation procedure which is reminiscent of a boarding house in the bad old days prior to the 1970s. However these are minor points against the great stay we had and the welcome given to us and our dog which also had a fabulous holiday too!!! 100% recommendation.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cherryplumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel but wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy the pool and fitness facility. This is one of the cleanest hotels we've ever stayed in. Our room was very large and it looked like the bathroom had been recently renovated. The breakfast featured a nice variety. The hotel is located in a beautiful setting surrounded by nature. The only negative was that the staff was not the most friendly. Professional, but very stone faced. But, that did not ruin our stay!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunnerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews