We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 4 Porters Gate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Porters, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
ICOmnia
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our initial reaction after dumping the suitcases was, perfect! We really did feel privileged to have stayed in a villa that has been given so many personal touches, that really does make it feel that you are visitors in a home. What more can you ask for on a 2 week holiday. The location a 10 minute walk from the closest beach, which we found was perfect for the sun sets. The best beach is a 15 minute walk, by the lone star restaurant........Sheer perfection, we loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie m
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

When visiting Barbados I stayed at 4 Porters Gate. The accommodation was outstanding 5*, homely, welcoming and the decor was beautiful.
Heather went out of her way to make the stay a pleasant one, not hesitating to answer any queries or questions. She recommended some great places to go, including a list of beaches and restaurants. I would not hesitate to recommended this accommodation; in fact I hope to visit again in the near future and would absolutely look to stay at this residence once again. It was close by to beautiful beaches and a stone throw away from some fab restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and the use of BBQ
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalston
London
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon in Barbados”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful house. Whole process of booking the house and liaising with Heather was problem free. Heather was quick to reply on the whole and was helpful, going so far as to arrange tickets for the cricket for me and a taxi to collect us from the airport.

We were met at house by local manager Rachael who was v friendly. Linda came to clean the house once a week, while plunge pool was cleaned once a week as well.

Property is furnished to a very high standard as the owners holiday here, so has all the extras you sometimes don't get in some holiday rentals. Great to have wifi, which was fine, and to have international TV channels. We ate out a few times, but Barbados is not cheap, especially in this area so we took full value of the fantastic kitchen.

House is in a quiet gated estates a few mins walk off the main road where there are bus stops heading north and south. Within the estate there is a tennis court (we saw no one else use it in our 3 weeks) and a smallish pool, but big enough for a splash around after a day on the beach or out and about, again we did not see anyone else use it. The garden at the back at the house is lovely and has a plunge pool. We had monkeys come into the garden having climbed over the roof (as well as regularly seeing them in the trees or on the road behind the house, normally in the early morning) and enjoyed nothing more than sitting on the outside sofa's watching the hummingbirds buzz around either chasing each other or feeding on the gorgeous flowers in the garden.

We did not have a car, but this was not an issue. You can walk to Alleynes Bay in about 10-15 mins, we hired beach beds and an umbrella at Ju Ju's beach bar (which is a small rather simple looking structure) but which does drinks and food all day. Great spot just a little further up beach (opposite Lone Star restaurant) for snorkelling, we saw turtles there each time we went and some great fish. You can just swim out and within a few mins you will generally see one or more. Amazing experience.

If you want to go to other beaches there are plenty of others in walking distance, ot just jump on the buses which are an experience to ride and are cheap as chips, just 2 Barbados dollars for a trip (you don't seem to wait any more than 5 mins for a bus). Nearest supermarket is in Holetown, you can walk into town in around 15-20 mins, or less than 5 mins on the bus. Plenty of restaurants and bars in Holetown as well as a medical centre.

We took a day trip with Sail Calabaza, which involved swimming with turtles in Carlisle Bay and then sailing up the west coast. Great thing about Sail Calabaza is that they don't have any more than 12 people on the boat so plenty of space. It is a little more expensive than some of the other companies, but we def thought it was worth it, and they email you the photos they take over the course of the day.

We also went on a one day tour of the island, we went with Carson's Tours - this was great - make sure you head over to Bathsheba and rest of the east coast. There cld not be more of a contract between the calm shallow waters on the west coast, were the house is, to the wild, windy but very beautiful east coast.

We are at both the Cliff and Cin Cin, both a little further south. Both are at the top end of the market, the Cliff in particular is for a special occasion. The Cliff is an experience, book in advance for a waterside table so you can see the stingrays and tarpon fish swimming in front of you.

Barbados is a great place and this fantastic house enhances your times on the island. Cannot recommend more highly. Made for an amazing honeymoon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewwra...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great accommodation - like a home from home and well situated for everything”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a great week here - really relaxing, the house has everything you could need and you get straight into the Barbados vibe. The whole booking process was very easy and Heather very efficient and on arrival Rachel was a very helpful, smiling face. The property is set back from the main road so that you can sit out on the main terrace and be in absolute peace but just a short walk to the beach. The Lonestar is just up the road and highly recommended particularly after the refurbishment - lunch thee is the same price as Mullins but much better. For a family of four or less, the property is ideal and the terrace and plunge pool a great place to spend the day. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marl2012
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Fabulous!”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My sister and I (Vancouver) meet up annually for fun in the sun with a niece from Toronto and a niece from Kentucky. This has to be our best accommodation EVER! The home is so beautifully decorated in beach house fashion. Everything is "top of the line" and spotless. We were amazed at how the home was completely equipped. Our property manager (Rachael) was most helpful in making sure things were 100%and had lots of suggestions of things to do, and how to get there. The owner, Heather, even called to make sure we were enjoying our stay. Our beds were super comfy and bathrooms with the walk in showers were fabulous. The kitchen was gorgeous and fully equipped. The beautiful tropical foliage afforded us total privacy. The outside living room and dining room was our oasis, when we were not out at the beach or attending the many other activities available. The plunge pool was where we found our selves sipping our drinks! Truly the PERFECT holiday that was so enhanced by the fabulous accommodation. A short walk to amazing beaches!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the home, and the proximity to the beaches and amenities.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing