We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply charming”
other travellers have booked this property
apartment sunlight kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
apartment sunlight kitchen
apartment sunlight kitchen living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
apartment sunlight kitchen
apartment sunlight kitchen
living room
bedroom 1
bedroom 1
bedroom 2 - 2 twin beds
patio apt. Sunlight
front garden
VILLA SUNLIGHT
Entrance apt. Sunlight
Garden
apartment starlight kitchen
apartment starlight living room
apt. starlight veranda
terrace starlight
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dover, Christ Church Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Fob-broke...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply charming”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed in the ground floor two bedroom apartment and Charming Villa Sunlight is everything that it's name suggests. A very spacious, airy and bright villa with pleasant outdoor areas to sit and while away some time over a cool beer!
I even saw a humming bird visit the garden on the first day.
All of the booking arrangements and transfers with Mike the driver were handled extremely efficiently, which took away the 'hassle factor' completely.
The walk down to Dover Beach is not a problem ( especially if you take the short cut to the left across the field immediately before the petrol station), but if walking back at night I would definitely advise taking a torch, or using the one on your phone if you have one.
It was windy whilst we were there and the sea and the waves were quite rough at Dover beach so we just took the bus up to the west coast at Paynes Bay where the sea was beautifully calm. This is where the catamaran trips stop off to swim with the turtles and although it can take 40 minutes to get back at 'rush hour' in the evening it was definitely worth it.
If you want an traditional style apartment that's not in a block and don't need a swimming pool then Charming Villa Sunlight is one which you should definitely consider.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Overall feeling of space and brightness of the apartment
Liked least: The walk back up the hill at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph W
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a well located villa”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Got picked up by a friendly taxi driver who Albena knows which was great - he waited 2 hours as our flight was delayed! Apartment is on the ground floor and is very colourful, bright and cool. No air con but fans and open windows provided more than enough breeze. Albena was very welcoming and helpful, she left us to our own devices but we knew how to get hold of her and could use her landline for free.

Well located, 5 min walk to bus stop where little buses come every 5 mins, lots of fun travelling on these , if you don't mind being squished in and reggae music- all part of the charm!

Had everything we needed, toaster, kettle, washing machine etc etc. Shower was fine.

Rooms clean and spacious. Lovely sitting are with tv.

Few tips..Definitely eat at fish fry (1 meal more than enough for 2!) and at little arches hotel! Lunch at crane is great too with a magnificent view. My massage at bougainvillea hotel was the best I've ever had.

Stay at sunlight! Great place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah-Jan...
1 review
“Delightful tropical vacation setting”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

From the beginning of when I first showed interest in this property, Albena (the owner) was very attentive and pleasant to communicate with.
Unfortunately I did not get to meet her as she was away when I stayed at the Villa but her housekeeper was an excellent substitute. She was very helpful; providing us with her phone number in case we needed anything, and was quick to respond.

I stayed in the 2 bedroom (lower) apartment with my two brothers and it was just as the pictures show. I was surprised to see that it actually felt bigger than what is shown. The bedrooms provide plenty of storage for clothes and suitcases (large closets and dressers), and the beds were comfortable and clean. There are windows throughout the apartment with adjustable shades allowing natural light to fill the space.

The kitchen had all the cooking tools we needed for our stay although in the description of amenities the ad says there is a blender but we did not find one. I was looking forward to making fresh pina coladas and other fun drinks, but unfortunately we didn't have a blender to do so. (Not a big deal though).

The living room was a fresh and casual space with a nice assortment of travel information about Barbados as well as a book specific to the Villa and the surrounding area. We never used the TV or DVD player so I cannot speak to the quality but we did use the stereo and phone, both worked well.

My favourite aspects of the Villa were the outdoor spaces. There are two lovely areas to relax out in the sun or shade. The front porch provides a nice little area to enjoy breakfast or a drink and observe passersby if you like. The back garden area was fantastic! There are beautiful plants throughout the property and a semi-secluded sitting area. My brothers and I enjoyed hanging out in the back garden area at night, stargazing and gecko spotting.
I was a little disappointed that there was no hammock as shown in the picture, perhaps it was in storage somewhere?

The one problem we encountered was trying to get the washing machine to work. Eventually, and with the help of the housekeeper, we discovered we had to turn on a switch that is located behind the refrigerator. So if you find the machine is not working, check the switch behind the fridge!

I have been to Barbados many times and know parts of the island quite well (Maxwell, St. Lawrence Gap, and Oistins included). That being said, even for someone new to the island it is very easy to get around between those places as well as to Bridgetown and the West Coast. Dover Beach is about a 20min walk from the Villa and it is a really nice beach area. Morning swims are relaxing and as the day progresses many water activities are available. I did not like the walk down our road to the main road as it was narrow (like all roads in B'dos), winding blind corners, and without a sidewalk. So it was not the safest route; OK during the day but I would not walk at night. But aside from that uncomfortable walk, once you get to the main road it is very easy to hop on a bus or get in a ZR van and go to the grocery store, beach, Oistins, or The Gap. Because the Villa is located on Maxwell Hill, if you drive along the road towards Oistins you get a beautiful view of the South Coast, really lovely!

Overall my brothers and I had a really great experience at the Villa. This was my first time staying in a vacation rental through TripAdvisor and I am very pleased with my experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor spaces
Liked least: Walk down the road to the beach
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntie53
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bright, spacious , comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Albena and Michael were very friendly, welcoming hosts, and met us at their lovely apartment in Villa Sunlight, when we arrived on Easter Sunday. The accommodation has two double bedrooms, and a large living/dining/kitchen area, equipped with everything needed for a great self catering vacation. The garden at the back of the villa is beautiful, and very relaxing, and the covered patio at the front provides a shady spot for people watching. The villa is very well maintained; Michael did not stop doing jobs around the place all the time we were there, refreshing paintwork, keeping the gardens neat and tidy etc ! Villa Sunlight is located on Lower Maxwell Hill, in a local neighbourhood, and is both safe and secure, with friendly people living close by, who will keep a close eye on the place.
It is a bit of a walk down the hill to Dover beach and St Lawrence Gap, but the main road, along which many buses run, is about a 10 to 15 minute stroll. Those not so young and fit would find renting a car is preferable, as this also allows sight seeing round the island much more fun ! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Sunlight, and spent a few hours chatting with Albena and Michael, who are both charming and friendly , not to mention very welcoming ! There is noise from the road, which may be a problem for light sleepers, but that is the only minor downside; everything about Villa Sunlight is lovely !
We hope to be back again at some point in the future, and would certainly look into renting again from this lovely couple. Many thanks Albena and Michael, you are the perfect hosts !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bright colours, spacious interior, and the gardens.
Liked least: Passing traffic made it a little noisy.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hatsrme
Minot, ND
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“cute villa in a typical Barbadian neighborhood!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First off, Alben was the most helpful, nicest property owners we have ever dealt with. She answers all your questions, and gave many helpful hints. Thanks again Albena!! We stayed in the upper unit of the villa. It was very charming, very clean and very comfortable. There is also many books and phamplets on Barbados there, so you can look through them and plan your day. The villa was much larger then expected! It comes with pretty much everything you need if you prefer to cook your meals at "home". We mainly had breakfast there. The deck is so nice to sit out on in the evenings and sip wine after a day at the beach. if you have kids, a car would be nice. We rented a car the whole time we were there so we could explore the island. It is a bit of a walk to the nearest beach and the bus stop. The next door neighbor is awesome, super nice and likes to sing :). He keeps a watch on the place and I felt completely safe. Petra came and welcomed us to to the villa, explained how to use the washer/dryer, and also asnwered questions. Roger picked us up at the airport, and dropped us off againe after out stay. Alben arranges all that!!! We had a great stay in Barbados, and loved the Sunlight villa!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, comfort and hospitality
Liked least: A bit far from the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing