We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
794 results
Traveller rating
254
343
130
38
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
343
130
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the gap st lawrence gap garden view sun deck main building housekeeping staff bars and restaurants budget hotel british airways the activities desk min walk small hotel enjoyed my stay small fridge friendly hotel self catering convenience store
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 794 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Really enjoyed my stay,the staff was super helpful. The room was very clean and the meals was quite tasteful. I spend several days on the beach,my room was a rock throw away some might say. This my third time visiting this location and every time was a delight.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach with a balcony,at night it's really relaxing to watch the waves.
Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear William,

Thank you for your review and for your loyalty to Dover Beach. Our connection with you and your wife is key to us and we are thrilled to know that we continue to get it right with you both. We look forward to the fourth visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I rated 4 very good and not 5 excellent only because the restaurant at Dover Beach was a big let down. I'm sure that at the end of a hard days work the owner would rather go home to eat. Listen up - can we please a more grown up menu, some fast food is ok. We used the restaurant just once. Plenty of other very good eateries near by. Dover Beach is still good value for money.
We did try to book Dover beach for our next visit in a few months time but it was fully booked. Everything else at Dover Beach is a 5 - excellent. Excellent value for money overall. The staff in every department were excellent especially reception!

Room Tip: Rooms were always spotless but make sure that you know how the A/C works!
Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Heather,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We always value the comments of our guests and as they help us to up our game in our service delivery. We regret that you were disappointed with the food in the restaurant. We will review this with the owner. We are however delighted to know that we got it right in providing value for you and that you are anxious to stay with us again. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from staying at Dover Beach hotel for 8 days. I am SO happy we picked this accommodation. The staff were incredibly helpful & the location was breathtaking. I totally fell in love and hope one day to be able to return. Thank you for making our first trip to the island so beautiful.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank faithjane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

We are really thrilled that we contributed in a meaningful way to the success of your first visit to Barbados. Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback. We are really pleased to know that we made such a great impression with you and your husband, and even more pleased knowing that you'd love to come stay with us in the future. We'll be more than happy to host you whenever you decide to return. Count on that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We had a very good stay at the Dover Beach hotel and will definitely book again. For a simple holiday in clean surroundings, one couldn't ask for more. Everything is on site that we required (and more), without being overly stuffy or fussy. Full range of tourist activities available. Lovely helpful and courteous staff and a warm Bajan welcome. A truly restful holiday and can't wait for the next one.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lindafF7026EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Dover Beach. We really appreciate your feedback and are really pleased to know that we measured up to your expectations. As you may know, we are a small family owned and run property and our staff are like family to us. Thrilled to know that you can't wait to be back as we too can't wait to host you and your husband again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Lovely location right on the beautiful white sands of Dover Beach, near the Gap but far enough away to enjoy some peace when chosen. A lovely size hotel perfect for my husband and myself during a peaceful September break. Perfect weather, can never fault it.
Clean rooms, although in need of a little updating however after being thanked personally by the owner on our departure and questioned where improvements can be made I feel this is already in capable hands. Plus painting was being done during the quiet season so that's promising seeing the updates.
Bar seemed quiet but it is out of season so can be expected. If you want a bit of peace this is the place during the off peak season, or visit the Gap for more life however be aware some of the restaurants/bars close for renovation during this month.
Would definitely return, recommend room 301 top front corner if you want the best view of pool, beach, ocean, this has it all!
Thank you :)

Room Tip: Top floor (3) has best views or ground floors easy access to bar and pool
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahfG217BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

We want to thank you and your husband for choosing Dover Beach for your wedding anniversary vacation. September is really a great time to visit and we are pleased that you mentioned that. Not only do you get lower rates, but like you said, it's more peaceful and the weather is usually very good. We,re happy that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly enjoyed hosting you. Glad to know you would definitely return and, of course, we'll be happy to reserve Room 301 for you and your husband whenever you set the return date. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews