We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Barbados Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Barbados Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mt. Vernon, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Probably the best Hilton we've stayed in. We booked last minute and they couldn't have been more helpful. Everything was excellent, from the room, to the pool(s), beautiful beach, service, restaurants and concierge services. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicaH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and your visit to Barbados was a most memorable Caribbean experience. It was particularly nice to see your feedback on the team members, the rooms and food & beverage services. I do hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    1,189
    405
    132
    87
See reviews for
869
1,379
147
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Overall, the Hilton Barbados Resort is a very nice place to stay. The rooms are nicely done and have wonderful water views, especially those overlooking the Caribbean. We chose to stay in an executive room and that was well worth the extra cost. You are assigned to rooms on the highest floors with the best views, and you have use of the executive lounge, which includes free breakfast, free afternoon hors d'oevres, free non-alcoholic drinks, and free Internet. I strongly recommend getting an executive room, as have many other reviewers who posted here.

The bi-level pool complex is wonderful, with an infinity pool on the upper level, and a freeform pool on the lower level with a bridge over it leading to a nice hot tub (which could have been hotter). The beach aside the resort is nice, but the surf is somewhat rough on one side, while the surf is calmer on the other side but was too rocky for our taste. We found that a short walk off the Hilton property to the adjoining beach at Carlisle Bay was well worth it. The water is very tranquil on that beach. It depends how much surf intensity you're looking for.

As for the service at the resort, it was professional and very responsive. I have no complaints at all about the staff we dealt with. We found them all to be helpful and friendly.

This brings me to the restaurants at the resort, and this is where we had some problems. For one thing, the restaurants are very expensive, even at the Water's Edge beach bar. It's true that food throughout Barbados is expensive, but this seemed excessively so. Tropical drinks except during happy hour cost $10 U.S.! Hamburgers at the Waters Edge cost $17.50 U.S.! It's outrageous! Dinners at the two restaurants - the Lighthouse Terrace and The Grille - were that much more expensive. It is well worth going to a nearby restaurant mentioned by many other reviewers as well - Brown Sugar - which is the only restaurant that is walking distance from the resort. We had a very good meal there, which was a little pricey but less so than the hotel restaurants.

Our major problem with the Lighthouse Terrace restaurant was that we both felt a little ill the day after we ate our last dinner at the restaurant, which was the day we were checking out. I came down with a stomach virus which affected me for the first couple of days after returning from our recent trip. I noticed that another recent reviewer said that he/she also got physically ill after eating at the Lighthouse Terrace restaurant. This is something that hotel management definitely has to address.

In summary, we had an overall positive experience at the resort until the end of our trip, but think that the resort needs to address both excessive prices and cleanliness problems at the resort restaurants.

Room Tip: Get an executive room for an excellent higher floor view of the Caribbean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WorldTraveler005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Many thanks for your review and I hope you all had a safe and pleasant journey home. I do appreciate all comments received as this enables us to continually review our service and standards. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your bedroom with the beautiful ocean view as well as the full executive lounge services. I note your comments on the Lighthouse Restaurant and will action appropriately. Thank you again for your kind feedback. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Service here was excellent at the front desk and at entrance and exit. The pool was beautiful, and the outdoor hot tub very comfortable even in tropical climate, as it was not overly heated, but rather, nicely a little more than warm. Beds were fine, room was ample. Typical of the island, breakfasts for two: fifty dollars US, same for lunch, and dinner for two $110. This is a clean hotel with beautiful views. There are monkeys occasionally on the outskirts of the property. The beach is rough for swimming.

Room Tip: Views are good in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueBMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Delighted to read you enjoyed your trip to Barbados and thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to note that our team looked after you well and that you also enjoyed our pools and hot tub as well as a few monkeys. Hope to see you back here again soon!! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Barbados from February 14 to February 21. I went with my wife and children 4 and 6. We had reserved the cheapest double possible but were upgraded to executive oceanfront due to HH diamond status.

The pros: The location is awesome. Although you could argue further down the west coast has better hotels, this area has some of the best beaches, restaurants and bars Barbados has to offer. The Hilton property has 2 decent sized pools and two beaches one has fairly good surf the other is quiet. Our kids loved the beaches and the pool. We used the babysitting service once and had no issues. It was also fairly inexpensive at $14 an hour for 2 children. The amenities on the property are typical Hilton style and are both modern and clean. Rooms likewise were modern and clean.

The Executive Lounge offers a great free breakfast and soft drinks all day. We had trouble getting seats towards the end of our stay and despite the lounge opening almost 40 minutes late on Sunday (only annoying because my son and I were meant to be on a fishing charter) all-in-all it was great perk.

The cons: I spend a lot of time at Hilton properties and this was by far the worst service I have experienced at any Hilton hotel including economy brands. The Caribbean laid back attitude seems to be amplified to a point of total incompetence at this hotel. We did not have a single experience where we felt like the staff was making any effort to accommodate simple requests. The food at the Lighthouse restaurant was abysmal. My wife, who never complains, had to send back inedible food twice on this trip. Both my daughter and I were physically ill after the expensive seafood and Barbados buffets. Warning to parents, the “Kidz Club” is not as advertised, it’s basically a daycare that doesn’t offer children entertainment beyond video games. It would be great for a 12 year old but both our 4 and 6 year olds had trouble with the lack of any stimulation and ended up back with us at the pool.

Until recently I assumed the Hilton Toronto was the only decent Hilton hotel without in-room wireless Internet. That actually changed a few months ago and they have it, the Hilton Barbados does not and it drove me nuts. We had two laptops and 2 iPads and no Ethernet connections. So although I could check email in the lobby or at the executive lounge during the day, I had no access in the room. It was frustrating and looking at the faces of the other people with similar devices all crowded around the lobby I assumed they felt the same way. If you can provide wireless Internet in the lobby and the executive lounge, why can’t it be provided in the rooms?

On another note, and I would never directly blame the hotel for this, there were two fairly serious accidents the last two days of our stay. A young boy slipped and cracked his head open on the cement around the pool and a lady a cut her face when she tripped at the beach. Both required medical attention and the boy required an ambulance. What struck us was the lack of urgency from the medical personnel. You would expect to see people running to help but again, I guess that just isn’t the Hilton Barbados way.

Recommendation: Perfect for couples without kids who can rent a car or grab a cab and get food at some of the great local restaurants (Daphne’s, Cin Cin, Lone Star, Brown Sugar to name a few). It’s also a good location to use as a base for day trips around the island – I would strongly recommend hiring a car. We got a van from Eze Car Rentals, it was new and only US$500 for the week with half a tank of gas. Pick up and drop off at the airport was a breeze. We went to the east coast, Harrisons Cave, the wildlife sanctuary and the maritime reserve and all were well worth the time. If you can get past the service and the internet issues, it really isn’t a bad hotel. Unfortunately service is important to us and we won’t be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank damquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for your detailed feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful beaches of Barbados. Your comments are extremely useful when evaluating the quality of product and the levels of service we provide. We are planning to install full wireless service shortly and in the short term this is available in the public areas. Thanks for your feedback on the Lighthouse Terrace and Kids Club which are very useful indeed. If I can assist further then please do get in touch directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The property is beautiful but the rooms are decorated cheaply. Not sure how they maintain hilton brand. They charge for every thing but breathing. I hope u don't need the internet cause its expensive and they limit to one device per charge. Svc staff is very arrogant. Absolutely no island flavor. I have stayed here twice in last two years and regretted both.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lucky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Many thanks for your review. We appreciate both negative and positive comments from our guests as this enables us to continually review our service standards. I am very sorry to learn that you did not thoroughly enjoy your experience at the Hilton Barbados. I was also disappointed to read your comments concerning the team members as this is normally an area of great guest satisfaction. We will continue to strive to provide the world renowned Barbadian experience and hope to see you back here again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Michael Parish
5.1 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
9.5 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
13.2 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.0 km away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
18.3 km away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Barbados Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barbados Resort

Property: Hilton Barbados Resort
Address: Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Michael Parish
Price range (per night): $207 - $658
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Barbados Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Hilton Barbados Resort, winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, boasts a prime location on the lush tropical peninsula of Needham's Point in Barbados. Each of the 350 beautifully-appointed rooms & suites offers a private balcony and beautiful ocean views. Hilton Barbados Resort offers amenities tailored for couples, families, and all kinds of travelers, plus it's 100% non smoking and fully accessible, becoming versatile paradise for all. Conveniently located, the resort is just five minutes from the island's capital, Bridgetown, 20 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport and walking distance to the newly listed UNESCO World Heritage site of The Garrison. Some of the facilities include a sparkling pool complex with whirlpool, on-site scuba diving center, three tennis courts, four restaurants and a Fitness & Health Centre with spa treatment rooms overlooking Carlisle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Barbados Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barbados Hotel Saint Michael
Hilton Hotel Bridgetown
Hilton Bridgetown
Barbados Hilton
Bridgetown Hilton
Hilton Barbados Resort Saint Michael Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing