We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good but very expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mullins Restaurant

Mullins Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
yorks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good but very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The food continues to delight, the setting especially by the waters edge is beautiful, the service has improved but it remains a very expensive night out at £100 per person excluding drinks.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rjdMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    73
    20
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening - one to return to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Having visited Mullins Beach Bar 10 years ago, I decided to take my hubby and friends there. Imagine my surprise when we found such an up market restaurant in place of the little beach bar of my memory!
We decided to stay for dinner and were made very welcome even though we had no reservation and they were quite busy. The staff were delightful, efficient and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The food was quite simply, fabulous. Although it is pricey, we felt that the value for money was excellent as the portions were big and the quality was top notch. No-one minds paying for quality and that's what we got.
I had a seafood risotto with pan fried king fish, my hubby had the mouth-watering beef short rib and our friends had the aromatic, tender pork spare ribs and the huge coconut shrimps. Everything was faultless and the Grove Mill Sauvignon was lip smackingly good.
Coupled with the romantic beachside location, what more could you ask? Please please make this your one special meal in Barbados and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant close to Speightstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Good food. Good atmosphere. Good wine list. Service a little slow - but it is such a lovely place it did not matter.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“3rd visit in 3 years, will give it a miss next year!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I ate here on Saturday 11th Feb 2012. We have done this every year for the last 3 years and have in the past had an excellent meal. We were so disappointed on this occassion. Our table was booked for 8 pm, we maybe sat down a little after as we had drinks outside. We ordered, and our starters arrived in good time and were really good. Then we waited 45 mins approx for our main course, which was far too long. When the food arrived my husbands food was hot and good, mine was luke warm, like it had been cooked well but had been left waiting for the other to be cooked. We were really surprised at this as the restaurant was not full, maybe just over half the tables taken, so it wasn't like they were really busy. Having eaten here every year for the past 3, it was so disappointing, especially as it is not a cheap place to eat. In fairness to the staff, they did take off my meal and gave a 10% discount, however I would have prefered to pay and the food and service been right. Even with the main meal taken off and discount we still paid £90, which is a lot of money for an evening totally spoilt. As my title suggests, we will not be returning and will try someone different next time. The West Coast has so many alternatives, that restaurants really need to keep their standards up otherwise they will loose the custom.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EveMonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good food but very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Food was good but very expensive for what it cost us

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mullins Restaurant also viewed

Mullins, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 

Been to Mullins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing