We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel salam, taroudant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Palais Salam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palais Salam
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
marrakech
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hotel salam, taroudant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

a big hotel, a welcoming atmospher because of the gardens, and it has2 different parts. simple one got small rooms and big rooms in the big part.a very big hotel in the old part which is called the kasbah.they need more staff and the staff is old.in the low season they allow locals to get into the bar.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taguleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    96
    62
    40
    37
See reviews for
39
98
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Thank goodness for the palais salem. Superb location in beautiful gardens, After walking out of the oumensour which is a disgrace we were warmly welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to Habib.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Don't book this hotel expecting modern luxury. However, do book it if you want a place with a special atmosphere, lots of history, and charming gardens to explore. We stayed in one of the new rooms and it was very big, clean and quite comfortable but a bit anonymous, but the gardens of the hotel were our favourite bit of Taroudannt and we loved walking around in them, finding a quiet table to sit down between trees and flowers and listen to the birdsong... If we return to the area I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

This a difficult review to write. The hotel has so many problems that I cannot award more than 3 stars, but we loved it.

It is an old palace built within Taroudant's city walls, with the walls actually forming one side of the hotel. There are numerous small gardens, fountains and the like, full of mature trees and shrubs.

We were advised to ask for a room in the Banana Court and as a result we got one of the old palatial rooms. This was essentially a suite, with a huge bedroom and sitting room, beautifully decorated with painting and carvings. The ceilings were about 7 metres high!!

The swimming pool looked uninviting, but it was November and all the outside furniture was a little tired, to say the least. Everything outside the rooms was a little grubby.

The breakfast consisted of large piles of stale croissants, with only the bread being fresh. We only ate there one night, and the food was very average.

In summary if you want a modern, formula hotel or a top notch chic riad, forget Palais Salam, but if you want a hotel with some history and character and are prepared to put up with a down at heel feel, ask for one of the big old rooms and enjoy. We certainly did and if we stayed again in Taroudant this would be where we would choose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Banana Court, to get one of the palatial suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

My wife and I have stayed several times at the Palais Salam over the past 10 years. For us, its setting in an old pacha's palace in Taroudant's city walls, the fading older rooms and its wonderful gardens give it a special charm. However, we sense it is on the decline due to management neglect and that it has become dependent on whistle-stop visits by tour groups bringing noise and buffet meals. The former private and informal atmosphere around the pool in danger of being spoilt by non-residents, mainly male Moroccans,using what has become a public bar and breakfast, an unimaginative buffet indifferently presented,is well below par for a hotel of this standard. Dinner by the fountains,however, remains a very pleasant experience when there are no groups about. Still a green oasis and refuge from the heat and dust but at risk of irreversible decline.

Room Tip: If you like a traditional Riyadh-like atmosphere, go for a room in the original palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Hotel Dar Zitoune
#1 of 16 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.7 km away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 16 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.9 km away
Palais Oumensour
Palais Oumensour
#5 of 16 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Riad Ain Khadra
Riad Ain Khadra
#3 of 16 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.7 km away
Dar Fatima
Dar Fatima
#6 of 16 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 km away
Riad Jnane Ines
Riad Jnane Ines
#7 of 16 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Salam

Property: Palais Salam
Address: Avenue Moulay Ismail, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Price range (per night): $45 - $102
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Palais Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Salam Hotel Taroudant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing