We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful property but service was sub-standard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful property but service was sub-standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We just spent 3D2N at a Sri Panwa pool villa and the villa lived up to everything we expected - huge private space, gorgeous infinity pool and you get to wake up to a panoramic view of the beautiful sea. However, the service at Sri Panwa needs some improvement - when they are charging this price.

The check-in process was slow and we had to ask to have our arrival drinks served - which wasn't a terribly warm welcome. We tried their Thai restaurant (Soul Food) on our first night and found it to be overpriced and the food was very average - our pork curry was a pot of sauce with a few pityful shreds of pork swimming inside and despite requesting the dishes to be "not spicy", they all came too spicy for us to enjoy. We also tried to ask the front-desk staff (there isn't a dedicated concierge) to recommend a restaurant in the Patong area and he had to go away and consult his colleagues for 15 minutes - only to tell me that "there are many many choices there and you can take your pick". Breakfast was also disappointing - despite operating a "tick from a list" system, they still managed to mix up the orders - My husband's omelette arrived in the form of two ugly poached eggs and we had to wait around 20 minutes for them to arrive. The eggs benedict also came with this weird vinegar-y garlicky sauce instead of hollandaise.

The positives of our stay were that all the staff were welcoming (though not terribly experienced or competent) and the sound system in the villa really rocks.

I do hope they will improve their staff training as it would otherwise be a great waste of this beautiful property.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    115
    27
    14
    10
See reviews for
123
365
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The good:
Rooms. We had a single villa with the swimming pool and I think is the best I've been so far. The swimming pool is big as well as the rooms. The layout of the rooms is excellent design, functional and gives you a lot of space as well privacy from the other rooms.
The average:
Staff. english not always can speak fluent english even the one for the room service. I am allergic to eggs and I ask a lamb burger with no mayo, we got one with, I asked to change because of my allergy and they changed the bun and wash the meet that still had some mayo on it. Usually when it takes 3 attempts you'd expect to have it for free especially after waiting 45 minutes. Not this time.
The poor:
Beach. We have a 10 month baby and we were looking for going to the beach and...small, dirty and no staff maintaining it. I found some pieces of glass, plastic bottles and dead bird. We rented a car to go on a beach were I could let my baby to go freely without fear. The pictures on the websites are way photoshopped.
Summary:
If you look for a place where you want to stay in your room and never go out is your place if you want to go on the beach definitely not!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emanuele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We spent a week in a pool villa with our 10 months child during the Chinese New Year holidays. The resort is a great escape, peaceful and serene, nestled on a hill overlooking the bay.
The view is spectacular. We had a sunset pool villa and the view was splendid.
Villas are among the most spacious that I have seen in a luxury resort, the style of the room is superb.
Above all we felt that our child was really welcomed there, staff was most kind with him, we found complimentary baby products in the rooms and it was a real nice touch.

The only thing I wished was more clear from the start is that the beach is not suitable for swimming. The hotel has a very small private beach but being in a bay and in a proximity of boats cruising along the coast the waters are normally dirty. Also the beach itself is not looked after, we found pieces of glasses: not the ideal environment for a toddler to play. I think it is a pity that the beach is not looked after, it is just left there, abandoned. Also I think a luxury resort such as Sri Panwa should take care of every aspect of his surroundings.

Having a toddler we used in room dining a lot, it was normally very good and attentive. The kitchen also prepared some special food for our baby. Being my husband allergic to raw eggs we ordered a food with no sauce or mayonnaise on it, we got once a burger with mayonnaise and we sent it back. No biggie, mistakes can happen. The problem was that we received the same burger back after 10 min and it was badly ' cleaned' from the sauce and cold...As I said mistakes can happen , it is the way mistakes are solved that makes the difference between ' very good' and 'excellent'. In this case we complained again, the poor service guy sent the burger back , we received a new one after 20 min and we were charged for it as nothing had happened.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raffa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

If you want to have one of a kind experience for your honeymoon I would say nothing beats this island & the hotel. The hotel is just sizzling with its scenic views and nothing is more soothing than waking up with a view of lake right from your bed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chintanpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Spent 4D3N in a luxury pool villa with my parents--there is a choice or Sunrise (the majority of the villas) and 4-5 Sunset Villas. We chose the latter and it was great (as you can see in the pictures of the sunset view). I guess in the summer time (it was 30degrees in "Winter" January, so even hotter in summer!) the sunrise view would be a better choice as the sunset villas might be very hot during the late afternoons.
We arrived Cape Panwa were greeted by the staff at the checkin area--where the specialty Thai restaurant was located (open in evenings only) and checkin station located (checkin and checkout areas are in two different buildings) The staff kindly provided us some lemongrass tea and cold towels again gave us a map and explained how the resort is laid out.
Fast forward and we arrived at LV23 "Swallow". Villa beautifully decorated with what you've seen on the internet and complimentary wi-fi and mini-bar as well. The living room was very spacious and the outdoor shower was a welcoming touch. The private pool was top notch as it was large enough for you to swim or float around. Great for my parents.
As for food, we spent most of our meals at the Baba pool club which served outstanding all day international cuisine--normally "all day international cuisine" spells disaster at hotels when generic tasteless unauthentic food are churned out, but not here--the Japanese to Italian and Thai food were outstanding and staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all times.
As for the facilities, the main infinity pool is good for a lap or two as well as enjoying the sea view from above, and the beach pool is also a quiet sanctuary for those who wise to be more isolated from the main building. The beach, as many has pointed out, is not the best you can find in Phuket but I personally thought there was no need to visit the beach--your villa and other facilities will keep you occupied.
The Baba Nest , located on top of the resort, is a must for amazing sunset views--you can even swim around and do remember to make reservation prior to your visit there. A must
The Spa was also not bad and definitely worth a try or two.

Okay areas for improvement:
--The TV in the villa is really a bit too small, I'd expect a larger flat screen TV, not a tiny 37 inch one. Watching tele may be a bit tiring at times.
--The signature Thai restaurant at the checkin was disappointing--the food was superb, but the service was a real let down compared to staff at the Baba pool club; staff at the Thai restaurant just seemed half awake and not attentive at all.
--The MOST bugging problem for us was that for 2/3 days our breakfast took more than 1 hour to arrive, not really acceptable given the restaurant size (food was great though). Even we had time to spare we wouldn't want to spend an hour waiting for food.

Otherwise a great hotel, and we do see the GM's presence all the time, which was welcoming and definitely shows the management's close attention to managing this great property. Great for honeymooners and those who just wish to stay in.

Room Tip: Think about Sunrise/ Sunset rooms. If staying in a pool suite, get the ones on higher floors to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zwgc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.6 km away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
20.3 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
41.1 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
29.8 km away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 93 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
16.6 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 316 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel

Property: Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Address: 88 Moo. 8, Sakdidej Road | Tambon Vichit, Muang Phuket, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price range (per night): $417 - $1,065
Hotel Class:5 star — Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri panwa is a luxury pool villa hotel located on the southeastern tip of Phuket. We are a mixed development,housing both one- and two-bedroom hotel pool villas and a selection of larger, distinctive residential homes.Hidden in more than 80 rai of undisturbed rain- forest and overlooking the Andaman ocean from more than 60 meters above sea level, our villas are truly spectacular creations. Each villa has been custom-designed to suit the topography of Cape Panwa. Many of our villa possess both sunriseand sunset views over the glistening Phuket. Hotel villas are completely private and very sexy, with infinity-edge swimming pools wrapped seamlessly around glass-enclosed bed- rooms. Wake up next to your companion, open the glass sliding doors and dive into the pool for a short swim - maybe at the outdoor sala where breakfast awaits. In the mood for a romantic evening? Order dinner in the villa, cozy up your partner on your sprawling sofa-bed and let our state-of-the-art entertainment system take over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Panwa Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Sri Panwa Cape
Sri Panwa Hotel Cape
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing