We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th wedding anniversary”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“30th wedding anniversary”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Absolutely amazing Hotel, could'nt have wished for more. Everything just perfect, from the staff to facilities and even the takeaway breakfast on departure as our flight was so early. Rooms immaculate and spotlessly clean and the views breathtaking. Food exceptional both day and night - reasonably priced too. Would definitely recommend, the perfect place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cranemansouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for celebrating your 30th wedding anniversary with us at Cape Panwa Hotel. We are glad we could make your stay memorable. Your positive endorsement of food, staff, and facilities is greatly appreciated, and your comments will be passed on to the team who will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,529
    658
    231
    79
    40
See reviews for
513
1,483
50
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at Cape Panwa for five days at the end of a memorable trip to Krabi. The idea was to relax and unwind after a hectic week of activities and this was a great place to do just that.

The reception area gave a good first impression, but this was soon to change when we were led to our room in what can only be described as an annexe to the hotel, (new wing). We had booked a Junior Suite 9 months previous and requested a room with a view of the beach. The suite we were shown had a few of what can only be described as mud flats with two huge cranes in the foreground and plenty of building work going on. To say we were disappionted is something of an understatement - it looked nothing like the view on the website or the glossy holiday brochures. The porter was great, and simply rang reception for us who agreed to show us another room on the proviso we upgraded. Room 408 was superb - huge spacious suite, jacuzzi on the balcony, and yes, veiw of the palms and beach beyond. We were charged a nominal amount for such a lovely suite, but I couldn't help but wonder how you go about getting the standard room with a good view, (there were enough of them).

At any rate, room problem resolved, we set about enjoying our holiday. Weather was pretty mixed, but still enough sunshine to enjoy hotel facilities. Beach is gorgeaus - clear waters, soft white powdery sands, palm trees, plenty of sunloungers. Only "blot" on the landscape was the large fishing vessels or dredgers which seemed to be permanently in front of the beach - they didn't bother many people we spoke to but I thought they ruined the view! (No pleasing some!!)
The pool at the beach has the sunshine only in the morning, but is a lovely place for a dip, complete with jacuzzi.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurants, although judging by the standard of the breakfast, I'm sure they would have been very good. With an 11 and 14 year old, we tried some of the local restaurants to cut the cost down. Our favourite was "Seabreeze" - lovely Burmese waiter and great Chef) The hotel run a shuttle every few minutes to the nearby port with restaurants, or you could walk up the hill if it isn't too hot!

On the day of our departure, we were invited to the Cape Panwa Lounge after vacating our room at midday. This reminded me of an Airline Club Lounge, with showers/towels, snacks and drinks - great idea and not something I have ever experienced in a hotel before.

All in all, Cape Panwa delivers a quality stay. The staff we met were all very attentive and polite, the rooms are very nicely furnished, as are the public areas. The breakfast was beautiful, the beach stunning. (Be sure to take pictures of the beach from the hotel jetway).Do ask for a room/suite in the main hotel, however.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main buiilding of the hotel and NOT the new wing. The new wing has rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinelover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and would like to thank you for your favourable comments regarding Cape Panwa Lounge, our staff and Cape Suites as we work hard to ensure our guests experience the highest standards.

In response to your comments on the Junior Suite: We would like to apologize for the inconvenience of having to change rooms. The construction site you saw from the balcony belongs to another hotel, which is unfortunately out of our control. This has blocked the view from a few of our Junior Suites, which we were not yet aware of when you booked 9 months ago. We do our best to put our guests in the Junior Suites with a view as well as upgrade them to the Cape Suites, which all still retain their views of the beach.

Regarding the large ship anchored at sea that you saw from our beach; it was a government vessel, some of which anchor for a few days at a time, and again, is a matter that is out of our hands. Once again, we would like to apologise for the inconveniences you experienced and thank you your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at Cape Panwa hotel for three nights during our short trip to Phuket. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a cape suite which offered an amazing sea and garden view at the same time.

The hotel does not look new, but is in a good shape and the staff is doing their best to keep it like this despite the high humidity.The staff is very motivated and helpful with some few exeptions in the restaurant during the busy breakfast time.

The cuisine in the restaurant is pefect, but I would also recommend to visit other restaurants in Kantary village, just a 5 minutes drive away. There is a free shuttle every five minutes there. One of them (fish restaurant) belongs to the hotel, but is cheaper than the hotel restaurants.

The beach is beautiful and it is such a nice feeling walking along the sand beach. However it is possible to swim only in the morning, in the afternoon there was a strong low tide.

On the departure day we could check out later which we really appreciated. Apart of it there is a possibility to use a small, but nice lounge with showers, snacks, etc., waiting for an evening flight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your favourable comments as others will find them helpful when choosing a hotel in Phuket. We look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

We went to Cape Panwa last August for 12 nights. It's a stunning hotel in a brilliant location. It's as quiet or as busy as you want it to be. The island is small and transport is plentiful and cheap so if you want to explore then it's quite easy to do so. To be honest I can't understand why anyone would want to go to Patong anyway!
We stayed in a family suite which was huge and beautifully decorated. two bedrooms, two bathrooms a living area and a walk in wardrobe! The hot tube on the balcony was a nice addition.
The staff at the hotel are charming, polite and friendly. The beach front is excellent and the food at the beach bar is great for a quick lunch. Breakfast is lovely and there is something for everyone. We ate out at lots of different restaurants in the nearby village, and nearly all of them were excellent. Seabreeze was probably the most authentic and so cheap! The Indian restaurant at the bottom of the hill is the best Indian we have ever been to. If you want to go on trips then make sure you use the kiosk on the front in the village. They are safe informative and far cheaper than booking direct or with your travel agency.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday at this hotel. It is modern and stylish however it also has an old world charm about it. We would love to go back!

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Angler666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments on our staff, accommodation and dining as we strive to offer the highest standards in facilities and service to our guests. Your feedback and description of our location will also be useful for others when choosing where to stay in Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

This resort is tucked away on a tiny peninsula, off the main road and up a steep access road. The layout suits the terrain and offers many aspects for taking in the beautiful scenery. Panwa House, has been restored and is a Thai Restaurant which overlooks a private beach which is simply fantastic.
The staff are very helpful and there is nothing that is too much trouble.
The weather, well, even they can't accurately forecast it !!
I will return in the years to come.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket. We are pleased to hear that you had a memorable and enjoyable time. Your positive endorsement of Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket is greatly appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.8 km away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.3 km away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
981 reviews
40.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
32.0 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price range (per night): $99 - $743
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotelopia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing