We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 30 Restaurants in Cape Panwa
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 October 2018

As we were staying at the Cape Panwa hotel we decided to eat at their Italian offering down in the village on the seafront. Its served by the Hotels free shuttle bus which runs every twenty minutes from the hotel to the village. When we got down there we were greeted by the usual friendly Panwa staff but were then ushered into a side booth and seemed to be the only people in there. The Staff then rushed us through our meal, we were in and out in under 45minutes and the food was awful. My wife ordered the mussels and they had been cooked fro so long they were like rubber. I had the clams and they were tiny and gritty. My son and his Fiancee had the pork medallions and they were OK at best. Never again.

Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasemkijS, The Management of Uncle Nan’s Restaurant, Cape Panwa, Phuket. at Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear David J,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us over your dining experience at Uncle Nan’s Italian Restaurant. I am sorry that you found the food lacking but I have passed your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager and the kitchen team for information and future action.

At Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Uncle Nan’s Restaurant, Cape Panwa, Phuket.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Good decor and part of hotel chain. In my opinion that is why it’s over price. Very good service but it was empty at time of visit. Food from pizza to pasta to veggie option very bland.
Maybe during season have to up their game
Worth a try but order to YOUR tase

1  Thank Surinder R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasemkijS, The Management of Uncle Nan’s Restaurant, Cape Panwa, Phuket. at Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Surinder R,

Thank you for your very reasoned review of your meals at Uncle Nan’s Italian Restaurant. We have taken note of your views and we will pass them to the appropriate department. We hope that on your next visit you will notice the difference.

At Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Uncle Nan’s Restaurant, Cape Panwa, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Had a family meal here during our 2 week stay at Cape Panwa Hotel and we all thoroughly enjoyed it, this is situated at Kantary Bay Hotel their sister hotel which is down by the sea front.
Food was really nice and on a very quiet terrace location - garlic bread was like cardboard but the rest was really nice and you have the option of putting the bill onto your room which we did. Worth a visit on your stay here

Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasemkijS, The Management of Uncle Nan’s Restaurant, Cape Panwa, Phuket. at Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Mr Paul L,

Thank you for your very reasoned review of your meals at Uncle Nan’s Italian Restaurant. We are very pleased that you found the food generally to your liking although we are really sorry to read that the garlic bread wasn’t properly cooked. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Uncle Nan’s Restaurant, Cape Panwa, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

we had our annual meal in this Italian styled restaurant where for one night every year we like to change our eating habits. well worth a visit

Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasemkijS, The Management of Uncle Nan’s Restaurant, Cape Panwa, Phuket. at Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Kelvin M,

Thank you for your brief but positive review of your dining at Uncle Nan’s Italian restaurant. We look forward to serving you again it the future.

Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Uncle Nan’s Restaurant, Cape Panwa, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Uncle Nans is a little escape from the twinkling fairy lit Thai joints on the sea front. Its a lovely place and the seafood pizza is fantastic. So is the spaghetti with chilli and garlic. Service is friendly and efficient. Really good food at a great price if you buy your wine next doir in the Dolphin bar during happy hour. Really loved the food. Ate here twice during our stay. There is a lovely calm ambience and the decor is pleasing. Very good all round.

Thank Lancasterhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasemkijS, The Management of Uncle Nan’s Restaurant, Cape Panwa, Phuket. at Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Lancasterhappy,

Thank you for your very appreciative comments on your dining experience at Uncle Nan’s Italian restaurant. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you at our table again in the future.

Cape and Kantary Hotels supports SOS Children’s Villages and the TSPCA. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin and we stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commerce or entertainment.

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Uncle Nan’s Restaurant, Cape Panwa, Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Cape Panwa, Phuket
 

Been to Uncle Nan's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing