We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
311
60
21
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
60
21
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la luna plunge pool our honeymoon yoga pavilion outdoor bathroom balinese massage deluxe cottage the cottages meal plan italian food private beach open air romantic getaway mosquito netting laid back fresh fish day bed
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2011

LaLuna is a magical place. There are no other words to describe it (although I will attempt to come up with some!). The service was great, beach beautiful, atmosphere very casual and laid back, and the owners, Bernardo and Wendy, are charming. The Italian chef, Daniele, is very charming and accomodating. For example, one day we asked if he ever makes conch fritters that night he came to our table and advised they would be available as an appetizer or main course.

We had a room at the very top of the resort, which meant climbing a steep hill, so we took all our stuff with us when we went to breakfast, and from there, spent the day on the beach, or lounging around what I would call an outdoor living room, with lounges, comfy chairs, and settees. We climbed up the hill when we weredone for the day and that was quite a hike, since we are not exactly in the best of shape. We were hot and sweaty by the time we reached our room, so it was lovely to have our plunge pool to dunk in and cool off. Later we would go down the hill for dinner, then would hike back up again, but we figured the hike helped burn off the excellent tiramisu that we had for dessert every night.

We ate all our meals at the property. In fact, we didn't leave the property at all during our five day stay. Events had been going on in our lives that had us emotionally exhausted, and this was the perfect place to rejuvenate and regenerate. Our days consisted of three delicious meals a day, several cold Caribs, and just relaxing, swimming, reading, and resting. It was what we needed.

When we were packing to leave, my husband said, "I'd come back". He never says he wants to return someplace, so this is huge!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank orangetravelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Thank you for your review of Laluna. We are very happy that you were able to escape mentally and physically in our little paradise island. Cold Carib is on the ice! Look forward to having you again in the near future.
ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We spent 10 nights with some friends and realy enjoyed every bits of it. The beach is beautiful in a secluded bay. Because of the size of the hotel and the location you can hardly see anyone on the beach or in the swimming pool. The food is great and the chef Daniel did cook us some excellent fresh pasta al pesto on request.
If you like busy hotels with 10 restaurants, then dont go there. But if you like quality, intimate places with good food then it is the place. The service can be a bit slow but it is not a problem when you are on holidays and relaxed.Lovely spa. All the ingredients for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julien111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We were at La Luna for the week of Feb. 18th. It was a very nice holiday. Beautiful location and beach. The weather was partly rainy and cloudy but that is the luck of the draw.We had rented a deluxe cottage which was very private but our accommodation looked out to the service area below which is not as nice as the sea view. The two sunny days the staff was burning bush below which clouded the air.There were also a few incidents of maintenance or delivery staff urinating in the bushes which was not very nice. The staff is very friendly and forthcoming. Chef Daniele is great and although the menu is somewhat repetitive and skimpy he went out of his way to cook special dishes for you if you asked. Found the MAP plan expensive as breakfast choices were very limited. There was only one selectin of wine by the glass and it was not a premium wine.A small self serve food bar for fruit and beverages between meals or for purchase would be an asset. La Luna is a beautiful and restful place great for meditation but there is no local music and limited facilities in an isolated and rather difficult to access location (rough road that some tour operators did not want to travel). Would recommend it for a few days rather than one week.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pauletteWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The Laluna was fabulous. The road to get there was a bit bumpy and tricky but we managed it well with our jeep. We were impressed with the cottages and all the little extras that went a long way. For example: the umbrella in the room for the instant, quick passing showers....the special sun wash and sun lotion for after sun exposure that was soothing to the skin.....the mosquito lantern and citronella that allowed me to sit outside without getting too many bites (mosquitos LOVE me)....the outdoor shower was FUN. Miss the view already! We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again. The only thing that COULD HAVE changed our whole trip was having neighbors. We had the cottage that had 2 dwellings (side by side) and to get to the other side you have to pass through our deck. THANKFULLY we did not have any neighbors that week and it was empty. Otherwise it could have been very uncomfortable. Thank you to the staff for not putting anyone there. We ate at the restaurant.....AMAZING FOOD!!!! The chef definitely has earned his reputation! We toured the entire island from top to bottom, side to side, missed nothing and LOVED every minute. The locals welcomed us, invited us into their life, and we hated to leave. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bunbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We wanted a quiet, romantic place to celebrate our anniversary, and LaLuna filled the bill perfectly. This is a resort we can highly recommend, but if you’re looking for nightlife and action, look elsewhere. This place is all about peace and quiet, relaxation, privacy, reconnecting with your spouse (or whoever you need to reconnect with).

Positives: Just about everything. The room was fantastic, the king-sized bed comfortable (a little firmer than we like, but we got used to it), the view amazing, the bath and shower very nice – kinda fun to stare at the Caribbean while you shower – and the plunge pool was a great feature, as was the sitting area just outside the door to the room. The grounds are lush and well-kept. The spa facility looked great, but we did not use that service, so I can’t rate it. Beach loungers were very comfortable. The restaurant was outstanding – Italian food with a Caribbean flair (like ravioli with goat cheese, pancetta and pumpkin). We went to Fish Friday, but that’s the only meal we had outside of LaLuna. Chef took great care to meet (exceed!) our dietary requirements. He even made us a gluten-free pizza one day for lunch, and it was amazing. The staff at LaLuna is superior in all respects. They took care of every request and were consistently friendly and helpful. And they make a GREAT rum punch!

Negatives: Not the best beach I’ve ever seen (a little rocky in places), but then a terrible day at the beach is still waaaay better than a great day at work! The bar wasn’t always staffed, so sometimes you had to wait a few minutes for one of the staff to arrive, but you’re on vacation and it’s no big deal to wait five minutes for your next rum punch. The walk down from the top row of cottages to the beach, pool, bar and restaurant was a bit daunting for a couple of old farts like us, but if you take your time it’s no big deal. So the negatives are not really all that “negative.”

We definitely recommend LaLuna, and hope to return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Getmearumpunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalunaOwner, Owner at Laluna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Dear Guest,
We are so happy that you had an enjoyable and memorable experience at Laluna. The managemanet and staff work very hard to make our guests happy, and I will certainly pass on your compliements to them.

During your stay at Laluna the beach was recovering from some unusual storm activity that hit Grenada a few weeks before, whereby there was some sea storm surges which affected part of Laluna beach, the sand has since returned and the beach is as beautiful as ever.

We hope to have you stay with us in the future.
ciao
Wendy Bertucci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews