We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Lives Up to Its Name, again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We returned to Paradise Beach Resort (PBR) in December for a three week stay ... for a change in late December, the weather was largely wonderful, although we expect some rain - it is the tail-end of the rainy season, after all. Many lovely days, great food as always, some great new "event buffets" for dinner, an amazing fire show, fireworks show and cultural dancing for New Year's Eve and the great service one has come to expect from "PBR". If you don't know it, the two pools, the fact that the beach is literally on the property (or the property is on the beach!>), the table tennis, newly-added Massage and Spa Treatment Centre and much more make it a must if you want to get away from it all.
And getting away from it all with the family is great but when you want the action, it's a free 10 minute shuttle bus ride to the action in Chaweng.
Small complaint about Internet reception was addressed immediately possible, as WiFi was important to me being able to work when being away so long! Can't recommend it enough for families with kids, couples who need a little rest/privacy and there were plenty of youngsters on the property too, who hit the town at night!
Anyway, you get the idea that I loved PBR and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms around the pool near reception (as opposed to restaurant) are great and very conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kobesamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 334 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

If you want to get away from the stress, this is the place, so quiet and so peacefull. The bingalows are perfect, so quiet, great sleep, just in front of the pool and meters away from the bar and the beach. The people are so nice. The massage there is also great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eManu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A well run hotel with good staff & nice food. The rooms are a little dated but with comfortable & up-to-date bathrooms (albeit only with showers- and poor temperature controls at that). 2 pools both very clean & pleasant & excellent well established & maintained gardens. We stayed for 14 nights incl Christmass & New Year and the food including that for the special nights was always enjoyable .
Everything worked well from reception on arrival (thank you Nicole), the restaurant (Aom, Tom and co ) thro to the bar staff (Dom & co).
We used the tour desk & enjoyed there suggested outings.
The hotel runs a free mini bus down to Chaweng (20 min) via a number of other stops incl Fishermans village a nice little place any time but especially on a Friday night for the market.
Theres not much in the immediate area of the hotel, its a few minutes walk to the main rd where there is a chemists & a few other shops, there are no other hotels in the immediate area & so it is quiet.
The internet access & in room safes were free - had to pay for both in most other places.
So very nice quiet hotel but all the fun is not very far away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Recently stayed 1 week in the Paradise. Great location with a very beautiful beach. Not as crowded as Chaweng. Stayed in a Suite Room, very spacious and clean with WiFi too. Tried both of their Restaurants. Excellent cuisine, especially the Italian Restaurant Roma. Hardly to find also such a very motivated, friendly and very helpful staff under the guidance of a omni present General Manager. Dont miss out to try the Spa - just great! Will come back again!

Room Tip: All the Deluxe rooms are newly renovated. If your Budget allow it, go for the Maenam Suite. Very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We spent 14 nights at paradise resort for our honeymoon 1st - 14th December.

Ok so I dont want to sound like a unhappy moaning nag but I feel people should know the truth! so here is my honest opinion.

The problems we had:
Our first arrival didnt go smooth we had been delayed at Bankok aiport for 5 hours before we left for Samui so we were tired and not in the best mood we arrived very late only to be greeted by a lady who was rude (dont know her name she worked nights and wore a plain white shirt and long black skirt) she ran after our driver screaming in Thai as soon as we were out of the van she then ignored us for over half a hour while she tried to find our booking we gave her our itenery yet she still made a huge scene luckily the resort manager came out (Daniel) and sorted us quickly he offered us free services to make up for the mistake and advised us they were at fault this interested us as our travel agent called the day prior to us arriving to confirm that breakfast was paid for and included as we had problems in Bangkok and gave our names clearly they didnt really care when he called or even search for us then to correct their mistake (we were booked in December 2012!)

We had a upgrade to a premium room but it was full of ants they got into everything so we wasted alot of food and drinks we got so sick of it we found fly spray at the local Big C and then told reception they also had to give us a bottle.

The shower was not good it was either freezing cold or boiling hot and it would change unexpectatly!! also we expected to have a bath but it was pretty hot so didnt matter in the end.

They fumigated the outside of the hotel with out informing us one day so I was taken by surprise when sitting on our room balcony and huge puffs of fumes came flying up it got all through our clothes and I was not impressed.

During the free 30 min massage we got at the wellness spa in the resort the staff member talked about their staff party and even put me in the most awkward position by asking to borrow my $2,000 (NZ$) Pandora bracelet while I was trying to relax. Im a beauty therapist/ massage therapist in NZ and this is not appropiate behaviour.

We were at the pool (everyday) yet we were never brought the free water that we were told we would get so we had to buy our own as we only got two a day which we needed to brush our teeth.

After the staff party our room was not cleaned every day (we had put the tag out and left early in the morning) and yet nothing had been done when we got back around 3pm in the afternoon we had to ask reception to get them to do it as we needed fresh towels and water. Also the standards had dropped even though we tipped them every day also.

Staff didnt seem to understand the operations and we were told from the pool bar we couldnt get food until 7pm when we spoke with management they said we were incorrectly told and that we could.

Bed was not comfy its very hard.

The whole resort is a bit tired and need a good spruce up! its very 70's


The plus side:
Two great pools to relax at which were nice, clean, warm and also had alot of sun loungers.

The shuttle service to and from Chewing Beach every hour.

Nice selection of food at breakfast & also in the restaurant we really enjoyed the Thai dishes steak, lamb and entertainment we mainly ate there every night also enjoyed chatting with David the chef from Australia also Nok (wait staff) was fantastic.

The peaceful settings and area the resort was located we really like being away from Chewing noise and crazyness.

The beach was great really liked the golden sand the water was too high and rough on our second week so we were unable to swim but that was due to the full moon and the tides or flooding in Bangkok which the resort cant help!

Most staff were friendly and always smiled and said hello

Great service from the lovely lady at the tour counter

Gardens and areas outside are clean and tidy

Hopfully the resort will see this as constructive feedback to improve their services we would definately stay again but maybe at a different time (not around staff xmas party time!). Thanks Daniel, David, Nicole, Nok and the lovely lady at the tour counter (didnt get name sorry but she has a daughter and booked our tour to the marine park the boat trip) we had a great firt time Samui experiance :)

Room Tip: Higher floor had two doors and also was away from a lound fan below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
3.3 km away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
458 reviews
8.2 km away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
7.6 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
7.9 km away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,087 reviews
4.9 km away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Address: 18/8 | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: $84 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low rise, Thai style, landscaped garden, unspoiled beach, warm clear waters of the South China Sea; 12 km from Phangah Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Paradise Beach Koh Samui
Paradise Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing