We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Jewel of Gozo”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Zebbug, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
batcat
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Jewel of Gozo”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We arrived for part two of our honeymoon via seamless transfers and car hire Andrew and Mary had arranged for us as part of our package. Following receipt of a cocktail each on arrival, courtesy of their son Jeremy and delicious local meats, cheeses and pastries ( including thoughtful wedding themed taster forks) Mary and Andrew imparted their local knowledge which proved invaluable during our stay - 5 stars for Ozi's boat trip and san blas beach recommendation.

The apartment was fantastic and fully equipped, including reliable wi fi for a little extra each day. Enough space to enjoy a day in when needed. As there were just the two of us, access to just one of the bathrooms was provided, it was rather small but functional.

The roof terrace was the highlight for us, with great views and space to relax, with the enchanting bells from the local church. A must in the village was Francesco's Pizzeria ( highlighted to us by Andrew and Mary) two pizzas (large and small), a salad ( not on the menu but we asked and were catered for), a water and a bottle of Red Torres €20 with a fantastic view of sunset, served on the terrace.

Elsewhere, we tried many of the local restaurants over our 10 days stay. We are lovers of good food and wine and were very pleasantly surprised at their abundance on the Island - our favourite in Xlendi beingTa Karolina ( € 65 for two ) with three courses, wine, complimentary appetisers and night caps. Happy to provide other recommendations upon request as we enjoyed many lunches and nights out during our stay.

Weather was fantastic at 80 degrees most days, with just one freak thunder storm during our stay.

As regular travellers of the world through work and play, visiting Gozo really felt as if we'd discovered a real, very rustic and quirky gem. Rocky roads, higgley piggledy living, stunning views and hospitality ( all that we met were very friendly) made for a brilliant honeymoon.

All in all, we had a fantastic time and thank Mary, Andrew, Jeremy and Davida for their hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Uniqueness
Liked least: Small but functional bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2012
It is our greatest satisfaction knowing that both of you have had a really fantastic honeymoon stay at “il-Forn”! We are very glad that you found the food tasting and the cocktails a nice treat to welcome you and that the information we gave you about where to go and what to visit very helpful. We would like to thank you that you have enjoyed our hospitality services and it is nice to hear that you found our house fully equipped and fantastic. We therefore welcome you any time and may you work hard with your relationship to stay together because you are really a great couple! Take care and look forward to see you anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Reviewed 12 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Sep 2012
Dear Pawel, we will never forget you and your family - you are such great and nice people! We would like to thank you for the lovely comments and it is such a pleasure for us hearing that you enjoyed staying at "il-Forn" and such outstanding feedback boost us to keep working hard to make our guests have a memorable stay. We wish you happiness with your family and luck your work and hope to welcome you all once again very soon! You will always be in our heart and mind!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MeelikM
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely warm welcome”
Reviewed 27 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our plane landed in Malta late in the evening so we decided to stay the first night and most of the next day in the capital of Malta, Valletta. In the afternoon we started our journey to Il-Forn, the lovely ex-bakery-turned-into-guesthouse in the village of Zebbug, Gozo island. Mary and Andrew who run the place, had given us a lot of valuable help during the planning of the visit - they provided for the transport to and from Gozo and also recommended a couple of hotels in Valletta. When we arrived in Il-Forn, we were stunned by the work that Mary and Andrew had put into restoring the old bakery that once belonged to Andrew's grandfather. The result looked stunning! And I must say, we were as exited by some very tasty local food that Mary had prepared for us for the dinner. :)
Gozo is small, so we were not sure if renting a car is necessary, or will just bikes do. We opted for the car and that was a good decision. This way we could sightsee the whole island and do the shopping in the supermarkets of Victoria. There is much to see in Gozo, and Il-Forn was a perfect home-base for that. During the 4 days that we spent there, we were taken super good care by Mary and Andrew - they brought us fruits and vegetables from their home garden every day, and even some homemade wine!
Thank you for making our stay on Gozo so pleasant and memorable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touch. We felt like their guests.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2012
Our greatest appreciation for your lovely comments about our house and the service!!! Pampering our special guests is high on our agenda and we really enjoy to prepare food with the local ingredients of the time being . It is such a pleasure for us when our special guests enjoy it. Thank you for your lovely comments about the house (which was a property of other persons rather than Andrew’s grandfather even though it would have been so nice if it belonged to their family :)) We spent a long time of dedicated work to make it as it is at present and we are so satisfied when our guests say they like the atmosphere inside the restored bakery.
Although public transport is nowadays very convenient in our island, however a car is always very helpful. We dedicate time to explain to our guests the places we recommend to visit but it depends to them how adventurous they are. Although we have been living on the island ever since we were born we are always exploring new areas ourselves!
Take care and it would be a real pleasure hosting you and all your family some other time in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Reviewed 27 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Apr 2012
It is to our satisfaction knowing that you and your partner found "il-Forn" the perfect place for your holiday break and that you found our property of a high standard. Infact we are constantly doing our very best to make the house lack nothing of the basic commodities thus making our guests have a comfortable stay. As with all our previous special guests we have had so far you were not an exception and it was a real pleasure welcome you with abundant local food on your day of arrival and I would like to thank you for your appreciation. We agree with you that the house is unique and has really particular characteristics and being tucked away in an alley make it an even better and perfect hideaway. However, although just 5 min drive from the supermarkets and shopping centres, Zebbug is well served by many hawkers who come in front of the house every morning selling bread, fish, fruits and vegetables and groceries - a different experience for those who want to live like the locals. Undoubtedly, the pizzeria in the village square is enjoyed by all those who want to take a day off from preparing their food in the well-equipped kitchen, where besides having a good meal and the good wine (at a very good price), at Francesco's one can also enjoy the spectacular sea and valley views that the village can offer. The bedroom which we prepared for you is the most requested by our guests, the cosiest one and the most convenient as it is closest to the kitchen - if you have told us, we would have been very happy to prepare the larger bedroom that we have on the ground floor - so for next time then :) Gozo is infact quite small thus making it very easy to travel, however there is a lot to discover especially if one is a keen hiker or wants to explore every hidden part of the island - infact many of our special guests find that just a week is not enough to visit all the lovely places on land let alone to discover those under the sea! Infact underwater offers just as much exceptional beauty. Once again we thank you so much for your time to write such positive feedback about your experience at "il-Forn" and on our lovely island and would be very glad to host such wonderful people as you are once again! Best wishes to both of you from Mary & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed 2 March 2012 for a stay in August 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Mar 2012
Dear Sonya and Tom thank you so much for your amazing review. We can never forget the first day we hosted you at "il-forn". Getting to know each other, going out together to show you around the secluded areas of our lovely island, not to forget the barbeques at the beach and on the roof top was such a pleasure to us all and bring so wonderful memories when we think about them! Even the evenings at the festa are memories to treasure. Your lovely comments about the house are also very much appreciated - yes we are constantly doing our very best to make our special guests have all the necessities available so as to have a memorable and comfortable stay at our converted bakery. Thank you once again and hope to meet you and your lovely kid soon!

Take Care!
Mary & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing