We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overbearing manager and sarcastic wine waiter.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau des Vigiers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau des Vigiers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monestier
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overbearing manager and sarcastic wine waiter.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The setting of this place is just about the only thing that can be complimented there is a gorgeous terrace that overlooks the golf course. However this is no reason to prioritise this place for a holiday. There is a silly control freak owner who runs the place like a concentration camp, and radiates the attitude that you are lucky to be there. He actually ruined the entire experience for me, taking away all sense of freedom. On certain nights we were turned away from the terrace because the guests in the gourmet restaurant had to be prioritised... Utterly ridiculous!!! The guests are 90% over 60 and ALL stare at you as if you are aliens.The staff are cold and almost violent with the cutlery. The golf is nothing to write home about, one of the courses is not kept well at all and the groundsmen seem to follow you from hole to hole with the green mower that sounds like WW3. Drinks are 5 euros each, daylight robbery, the local supermarket which is twelve miles away sells twelve cokes for the price that the hotel sells one. The pool area is tiny and the beds are packed together like ibiza. You will be very dissapointed with your stay here what a waste of money!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrumpyNigel1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    163
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
56
254
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
217 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Chose to have my birthday lunch on the terrace of the brasserie

The setting overlooking the golf course was fantastic under the shade of the lime trees and a temperature of 25 C

The food was exquisite and the reserve grown on their own estate

Magnificent

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pipayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Excellent rooms in the Dependence Suite, comfortable and well equipped with plenty of space.

In both restaurants the food and service are superb. The experience is enhanced by the Golf and Spa facilities.

The only thing that lets it down is the content and service of breakfast. Having stayed in several of the SLH Group 's hotels in France and the UK we are able to make a direct comparison and find Chateau des Vigiers breakfast lacking. However this would not stop us from returning again and again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed 7 nights in a Junior Suite. Fantastic room with all comfort needed supplied. Arrangement included golf and half board. The hotel has two restaurants. Brasserie La Chai has a simple and attractive menu and has good service. The terrace overlooks the nicest part of the place, with the front of the Chateau and the nice lake in front of it. The other restaurant is called Les Fresques, and has much more ambition. The food is great, the service is more formal than in the brasserie, but it lacks a bit of atmosphere.
The breakfast is the big let down. It is buffet style with little choice. The real disappointment is that they charge extra for anything cooked (e.g. €2,00 for a boiled egg....), which makes a very silly impression as part of the stylish approach of the place.
The golf course has 27 holes and staff are very friendly and flexible. It is well maintained, although not very spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tge_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

I have on several occasions had lunch here and have always tried to have Easter Lunch here as the buffet is exceptional.
On one occasion my young daughter had her birthday on the same day and the staff made a point of presenting her with an ice cream gateau with sparklers. She felt special all day and still remembers the day every time we drive pass or call in.
I have yet to stay at the hotel as we brought a house nearby but I hope one day to treat my family to a stay here. The grounds are well kept, the restaurant is warm and friendly, the staff alert, polite and extremely good.
I unfortuneately this year have to leave the day before Easter otherwise I would have booked a table this year, but I will be there next year for certain. The food is worth 5/5 from our family.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Singleyrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monestier
21.7 km away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
28.1 km away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
40.1 km away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
16.9 km away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
36.9 km away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Vigiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Vigiers

Property: Chateau des Vigiers
Address: Chateau des Vigiers | D18, 24240 Monestier, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monestier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monestier
Price range (per night): $161 - $316
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau des Vigiers 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chateau des Vigiers, luxury hotel golf & spa Luxury hotels, golf and spa situated in the Dordogne, near Bordeaux, Saint-Emilion and Bergerac, South West France Member of Small Luxury Hotels of the WorldDating back to the 16th century and set amidst the famous vineyards of this beautiful and unspoiled region, Chateau des Vigiers is an internationally renowned luxury Hotel, Golf and Spa situated in the Dordogne Perigord region of South West France. Conveniently located just 25 minutes from Bergerac Airport and about an hour east of Bordeaux, Chateau des Vigiers offers its guests two uniquely different hotel experiences, tailored to individual tastes and requirements. Whether you want to tour the world-famous vineyards of Bordeaux and Saint-Emilion, play golf on our impressive 27-hole course, enjoy our region's finest food and wine, or be pampered in our Maria Galland Beauty Spa, you will be able to escape the fast-pace of everyday life in this secluded and tranquil setting. Your Chateau des Vigiers experience awaits. Step inside... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau des Vigiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Vigiers Hotel Monestier
Chateau Des Vigiers Monestier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing