We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good 5-nights stay at LBD”
Review of La Belle Demeure

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Cybranet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Belle Demeure
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2011

A wonderful welcoming 'house-party' atmosphere for guests (be they from France, UK or elsewhere) is provided by Richard and Philippe, ably supported by their lovely golden retriever Casper. There is so much to do, both locally and further afield, and the hosts are brilliant at providing information, leaflets and maps, also contacting the proposed tourist attraction to check opening times, or any other required information. Breakfast is a basic continental style, but the evening meal, available most evenings, prepared by Richard and concentrating on local produce (sometimes with an English 'twist') is a memorable experience! Guests eat together at a large table, either on the vine-covered terrace overlooking the delightful small pool, or inside if the weather is bad. Philippe is most knowledgeable about the local wines, and keeps a small but enticing cellar. Post-prandial conververation in English and/or French followed maybe by a walk in the village to the bridge over the Ceou, with Casper, completes the evening.
As a distant cousin, I and my husband first heard about La Belle Demeure from Richard's
parents when it was first being set up some ten years ago.It wasn't until 2006, however, that we first came to stay, and we were so impressed that we have returned several times over the years (as do many guests be it for a single night when just passing through the Perogord Noir or, as we found this year, for up to two weeks). Do give it a try if you haven't visited before - you can be sure of a great welcome - but maybe don't tell too many people about it!!
"La petite-cousine"

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

We have stayed at La Belle Demeure five times.
Our last visit was just two weeks ago. Richard & Philippe make you so welcome. The food is excellent and their attention to detail in everything they do for you makes for a perfect holiday. St Cybranet is in a lovely valley with many interests catered for including walking, cycling and canoeing. Many Chateaux are accessible easily from here also. We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samaori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I stayed at La Belle Demeure for the best part of a week on a recent business trip to the area. I was bowled over by how fantastic the place is! There is an unmistakable aura of quality and professionalism and yet it still remains very homely and welcoming. This is to the sole credit of the hosts, Richard and Philippe, who manage to offer something quite special in the sunny Dordogne. Superb!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jp_080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Richard and Philippe could not have been more welcoming, their service, gourmet food, advice and attention to detail exceeded expectations.
Great accomodation, ambience and we felt like one of the family. We highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed with my family (5 people) at the La Belle Demeure in May 2011. Lovely B&B in the heart of the Dordogne. Came as a recommendation from another family who couldn't speak highly enough of this great little B&B. Having stayed there nor can I. Simply wonderful.

Richard and Philippe couldnt have been more helpful. From ensuring we had directions and other useful tips before we arrived; looking after all our needs whilst there (including making a special desert for my daughter); and providing ideas on where to go during our stay.

The food is delicious; there's a short but great wine list; all eaten either on the long kitchen table or under the stars on the beautiful terrace. And if all gets too hot for you, there's a lovely refreshing swimming pool to jump into.

We had the family room which has a large sitting room and separate bathroom, plus two good sized bedrooms (one queen bed and a twin).

La Belle Demeur is a great place to relax after exploring the Dordogne. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Cybranet
7.7 km away
La Barde
La Barde
#1 of 7 in Vitrac
311 reviews
19.9 km away
Le Clos Lascazes
Le Clos Lascazes
#1 of 7 in Le Buisson-de-Cadouin
285 reviews
11.8 km away
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 60 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Les Hauts De Saint Vincent
Les Hauts De Saint Vincent
#1 of 3 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
81 reviews
3.9 km away
Manoir de la Malartrie
11.8 km away
Les Filolies
Les Filolies
#1 of 2 in Saint-Andre-d'Allas
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Demeure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Demeure

Address: Lieu Dit le Bouscot, 24250 Saint-Cybranet, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Cybranet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Cybranet
Price Range: $100 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the Périgord Noir, La Belle Demeure is the perfect place to take that relaxing and well-deserved break. Just 9 miles from the medieval town of Sarlat and close to Beynac, Castelnaud, Domme, La Roque Gageac, Lascaux II… Whether you go to a market in the morning, take a walk in the afternoon or just enjoy good food and wine, this is the place to be. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing