We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meat on the Island ”

The Shack Bar And Grill
Ranked #26 of 527 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: One of the top steak restaurants on Koh Samui, and beyond, serving high quality cuts of tenderloin, ribeye and striploin, plus seafood, specials and many appetizers. Also, the best burger on the island along with an extensive wine list. If you love top quality grilled food, this is the place.
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Everytime I go to Samui always go to visit the Shack. It has become my "go to" place when I want best quality beef, or burger for that matter The meat is tender and cooked to perfection everytime - try the wagyu, will set you back a bit, but 100% worth it

The atmosphere is perfect for a steak house and the service is great. For anyone visiting Samui and Fisherman's Village this is a must place to eat at...never disappointed!

Thank Fredrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at The Shack Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Fredrik,

Thank you so much for your continued visits to The Shack and your kind words.

We continue to stay ahead of the game by importing and hand selecting only the highest grades of Australian, American and Japanese beef, the Wagyu being our signature steak and our 250g burgers are made fresh, in house daily.

We are proud of our famous Bluesy atmosphere at The Shack and with our open grill and Friday night live music, The Shack continues to be the place to go in Fisherman's Village.

Thanks again for your time Fredrik and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards, Steve, Johan and all of The Shack team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Nothing on this visit was pleasant unfortunately. Expensive, no love in the food, lack of flavors, intrest, imagination

Thank Firren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuijohan, Owner at The Shack Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hello Firren

Thanks for coming to The Shack. Im sad to hear that you did not enjoy it. We hardly ever get bad reviews so please tell me what went wrong with your evening. We serve high quality beef so we are not cheap but quality come with a price. You say that all orders were wrong and no flavors. This I have to say dont sound like our place at all.... Also we train our staff and manager to check up every table and ask how the food is/was. We have no recalling of a whole table that did not enjoy the food. Please contact me on johan@chawenghill.com and tell me more about the problems so I can adress it accordingly. I think you are Swedish and Im Swedish as well so communicating should be easy. Thanks again for coming to The Shack and hope we can make it up to you in some way and thanks for reviewing us and help us to get better. Hope to see you again and have a nice holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

You get a huge amount of food for the money. We had the lobster (biggest one we've had....ever!) And the rack of ribs. Atmosphere was really good on a Friday night, but would recommend booking for a Friday as it seems to be the busiest night due to the market.

Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, Manager at The Shack Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Charlotte,

Thanks for visiting The Shack and of course for your great review.

Our imported Maine Lobsters are forever popular at The Shack alongside our ribs and selection of high grade beef and yes Friday nights are usually our busiest nights with the Walking Street Market right on our doorstep and great live music throughout the evening.

Thanks for adding to the great atmosphere we are proud to host at The Shack and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards, Steve, Johan and all of The Shack team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

I tried many burgers in Samui, but this is the best! We come back every year her to eat. My husband and son also loves the spareribs!

Thank Laila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestFood4U, Owner at The Shack Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Laila,

Thanks for the nice review and so glad you keep coming back!

Our burgers are very popular, a full 250g of tasty beef made from scratch on-site from all the cuts of steak we sell every night. Along with with our ribs and high quality steaks, they represent our best sellers. Combined with our very generous side portions, you need to come hungry!

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Samui and safe travels.

The Shack Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We both fancied steak and a nice bottle if red so on a friend's recommendation we headed down to the shack. I have to say the place exceeded expectations. We arrived to a very friendly welcome and as we were a bit hot the staff turned all the aircon onto us to cool us down, nice start! We ordered the special appetizer of beef nachos to start which was of excellent quality. We then moved onto steak which was excellent quality, as good as anything I have had in London's upmarket steak restaurants. The sides were also excellent, the sauteed potatoes and spinach in particular. We also enjoyed the 'bluesy' atmosphere of the place. Would recommend a visit if in the fisherman's village!!

Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestFood4U, Owner at The Shack Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Tim,

We appreciate the nice review and very happy you enjoyed your experience at The Shack!

Top service, great food and a comfortable atmosphere is what we aim for and it sounds like we hit the mark. Our menu is quite varied, as you experienced, and there is something for everyone, with a nice blend of appetizers, salads, seafood and of course steak. Our beef is imported from the top cattle producers in both Australia and the U.S., and its all cooked and presented right in front of you.

We hope you enjoyed your stay on Koh Samui and look forward to hosting you again soon!

The Shack Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shack Bar And Grill also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Bophut, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Shack Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing