We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, Fab hotel”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
“Great spot, Fab hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We too were part of a large group reunion at The Waterfront recently. We had a fabulous holiday and part of this was due to the wonderful accommodation and location provided at this establishment. The facilities were great, the staff were amazing, and the management (Sue) fantastic. We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitly stay here on future visits to Koh Samui.

Room Tip: There are family rooms and bungalows available. All the rooms face outwards onto the central pool/ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    129
    49
    24
    12
See reviews for
178
599
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We met here with a number of other families for a reunion. Sue and her wonderful staff couldn't have done more to make our holiday enjoyable (Robin was away unfortunately). Sue and the staff organised a wonderful party for us one night including fireworks and lanterns. Baby sitters, trips, taxi rides were all sorted for us. They just made the whole stay perfect.
Sue is British and this shows in the quality of the food options available. As well as delicious thai food, there were plenty of other options (quality coffee, cereals, English breakfast, pancakes, children's meals) etc and these were prepared with the western palate in mind. The pina coladas at the bar were the best on the island.
The rooms were clean and well appointed, the beds very comfortable. The gardens and pool were well maintained.
The location of the hotel suited us really well - it was right near the shops, restaurants and near to the airport, but still quiet. The fisherman's village was the prettiest on the island and had everything we needed. There was a weekly night market every Friday night just outside the hotel and this was fun and we were able to stock up with souvenirs and interesting food.
The beach immediately beside the hotel was not the best for swimming as it was quite shallow. However, it was clean and fine for sunbathing. About 50 m away from the hotel the water was deeper and swimming was possible. We found that we spent most of our time in the hotel pool though as this was so perfect for the children. There was a perfect white sand beach only a few kms away and a taxi ride there was only a few dollars.
All in all, I can highly recommend this hotel and would love to come back again.
Rosemary, New Zealand

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have just come back from my third visit to The Waterfront. Sue and Robin have a natural ability of making you feel so welcome and at home, that you never want to leave.

Unfortunately Robin wasn’t there on my last visit, but Sue was there and she is most certainly a fabulous, generous and fun person to spend time with. I miss her already!

The staff are, as always, amazing, friendly, hardworking, and an absolute pleasure to be around.

I can’t thank them all enough and can’t wait for my visit next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was my 3rd stay at The Waterfront and as soon as I arrived I remembered exactly what I loved about it. I am sure there are many similar hotels however none have the same personal touches; from the 'welcome back' in petals on the bed to the singha beer on arrival, it is just perfect.
We were there during Songkran (my first experience of this even though I have visited Thailand around 10 times) and that was certainly an experience. I had expected a few teenagers with water pistols - I was very wrong!
Just everything about this place is fantastic, the happy helpful staff, the rooms, the location (at the end of Fishermans Village and a 5 minute walk to many great restaurants serving a variety of food); and just that feeling that they see their guests as extended family and not just paying customers.
Robin was unfortunately back in the UK at this time but Sue was there and as usual was the perfect hostess. I always say that The Waterfront should be marketed as a cure for depression as you just could never be unhappy there.
I know I will return time after time.............

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked the Waterfront before our trip to Koh Samui using Trip Advisor for information about where to stay and we were more than delighted with the location, comfort and friendliness of this lovely boutique hotel. The rooms had everything you could want including air conditioning, fridge, fully stocked bathroom, clean beach towels daily as well as tea/coffee/milk and fresh bottled water every day.

We booked to stay for four nights and loved it so much that we stayed again on our way back to the airport two weeks later. Breakfast is freshly cooked for you every morning, the outside bar near the pool is just the right size for cozy chats with the other guests, which often went on until the early hours of the morning. In fact staying at the Waterfront is so friendly that it's like being on holiday with an extended family (without the arguments). Sue, the owner, is always on hand and must be the best and most attentive hotelier I have ever met. Nothing is too much trouble for her or her wonderful friendly staff.

I would certainly recommend anyone to stay at the Waterfront.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent with beach front views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iainmac51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.9 km away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
719 reviews
5.7 km away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
4.8 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
726 reviews
1.2 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,592 reviews
2.0 km away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#13 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
Price range (per night): $77 - $141
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing