We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
164
174
45
17
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
174
45
17
22
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I reserved a room online through the hotel's website. However, when I got to the hotel to check in, they said that even though I had made a reservation online, they had given our room away. Management said that they got us a room at their sister hotel, the Natural Samui. This hotel was a 15 minute drive away and nowhere near the beach. Management said that they would have a free shuttle to bring us back on forth between the two hotels so we could spend time at the beach at the Lawana. They drove us other to their sister hotel and once we get there, the Natural Samui claimed that there was no free shuttle! We had to pay for a taxi to get between the two hotels, which costs over $10 USD each way. We also paid for breakfast when I made my online reservation but the Natural Samui did not provide any breakfast.

I am so disappointed in this hotel and would highly recommend that travelers do not stay here, as they screwed us over every way they could.

Room tip: Do not reserve a room at this hotel because they simply will not honor your reservation.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

March 11, 2013

Thank you very much for airing your review.
It offers no consequence to apologize to you this late.
We have made investigation into the issue. There was a confusion after we had no electricity for three and a half days and when it came back and our computer was back working again only to see so many over bookings. Poor language problem had made the situation worse. We had tried to accommodate guests at the nearest property, and actually paid them more than what we charged you, and left the word that any time you would like to go to Lawana Resort you could call and we would send a car. That never happened.

At this point the management in Bangkok will offer you a free stay for the same number of nights that you have missed, plus we will pick you up at the Samui airport for free, if you will ever return to Ko Samui.

We regret that this has happened to you, especially someone far away from Texas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Traveled from California with our 3 year old son and enjoyed our stay. Although Samui is not what she used to be this hotel is trying hard to stick with their old Samui charm. Our rooms were VERY clean and the staff was extremely friendly. Nice pool and beach front access made this place a Resort without feeling over the top.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaliforniaChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for the clear review. We are a small property and have good opportunities to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us. It has been an honour that you were all the way from Houston and chosen us for your long long long haul holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Spent 6 nights at Lawana resort over the new year period. I really enjoyed the place. Very relaxing. The staff were all friendly and helpfull. The bungalow I stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The AC was a bit noisy but it worked well. The food in the restaurant was good and they have a good choice on the menu. Check out the happy hour, its worth it. The ground are well maintained. I will definatley stay at Lawana Resort again next time I'm in Koh Samui.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

March 6, 2013

Thanks so much for the clear review. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are always ready for families. Supermarket is next door. Pharmacy is just across the street. Bank and ATM is 200 meters away. Forty local restaurants at the Fisherman's village are 400 meters walk on the beach which we highly recommend for a relaxing evening. Yet we really enjoy very quiet location on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed it here. We stayed for just three nights to adjust for time difference from our flights.

GOOD
Bungalows are clean and well taken care of.
Bed was comfortable.
Resort grounds are well manicured.
Pool is refreshing and well maintained.
Lots of deck chairs around pool and on beach.
Massage options are cheaper than most places.
Restaurant has menu options as well as breakfast buffet.
Food vendors on beach make some tasty items.

AVG
Walk to Fishermans village is about 20 mins along the beach or a bit longer along the highway. Not a big deal as the walk is nice and cabs are everywhere.
I think the place is a bit pricey but it is on the beach and it is comfortable, most people would like it here.

BAD
None.

Highly recommended for couples, families and groups; this is not a party resort/hotel.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikesEpicLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

March 6, 2013

It is a real honour to service you from all the way from Canada. You must be of a personality because the Mexican beaches are closer to you and yet you had chosen Ko Samui , and and and Lawana Resort.

Please come back.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Loved Bophut, lots of character. hotel is within walking distance to the village but we hired a bike to go in and out to Fishermans village, loved the village. There are a lot of eating places on the beach both sides of Lawana. Breakfast was adequate but not tons of choices like some other Thailand hotels. Our room was nice but a lot of the little touches that you see on the website were not there i.e. canopy over bed etc but the rooms had nice little thai touches. The only complaint I really have about the hotel is the beds, rock hard and we had to buy sleeping tablets and have quite a few massages!! Nice pool and beach in front of resort. Staff at the hotel were exceptional, so friendly and helpful, special mention to Toni at the bar. Would visit again.

Room tip: Get a room at the front of resort closest to beach and pool.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to offer this clear review.

Re the hard bedding. We now offer 2 inch thick down topper to go on the mattress upon request at no extra charge for those who would prefer softer bed.

One very personal thing. We do not recommend that guests rent a motorbike because of the numerous road accidents. Remember most guests are from Europe and they are used to ride on the opposite side of the road, and people can make mistakes even more so when so many of the young tourists are drunk and riding. The rest of the story, you can guess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews