We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,343)
Filter reviews
1,343 results
Traveller rating
1,124
180
32
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,124
180
32
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews studio suite vanilla restaurant bangrak beach nearest beach fisherman's village shuttle bus beautiful hotel steam room shuttle service the secret garden the hotel offers the general manager breakfast was amazing sister hotel baht per person beautiful pool would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 1,343 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the Lanna Samui for 4 nights at the end of June and found the resort a pleasure to stay in. The rooms are finished to a very high standard with good facilities and direct access to the pool from the apartment garden. As it was low season there were some painting on going but this is to be expected as the management make an effort to keep everything clean and up to date.

Staff were very friendly, always with a smile, and would take time every morning to make sure everything was going well and that the guests were enjoying themselves.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the location is a bit far from the main activities and beaches so the main options are to rent a scooter, which I was able to do from the hotel or take advantage of the shuttle bus running approx every hour. Usual caution is advised when renting a scooter. The shuttle bus is ideal to go for a nice meal in the evening and brings you back to the hotel reasonably early, before 10pm or so. One night I stayed out a bit later and used the NaviGo app to come back from Chaweng. I waited about 10mins for the car and was able to prepay so no hassle really.

The breakfast at the Lanna is excellent and you can try 2 different options from the menu each morning, eggs, pancakes, salmon, etc. A late breakfast was enough to keep me going for the day!

The Lanna Samui is an ideal place to relax by the pool and I would highly recommend. However, if you are looking for somewhere more lively or closer to the beach then another hotel might suit better.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank ColmC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codesamui, Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Colm.

Thank you for your kind review and your choice to stay at Lanna.

We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us thanks to our exceptional staff and breathtaking property. Your kind praises will be passed along to the team. Each one will be thrilled to know you were satisfied with your experience.

Great to read you took advantage of our shuttle service! It's a great way to venture out during the day or evening.

We look forward to your next visit and hope it comes soon.

Kind Regards,

The Lanna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We had an exceptional stay at Lanna Samui. The staff, particularly the manager, Lance, went out of their/his way to make our stay warm, friendly, and fabulous. The kids loved the pool, the food was top-notch, the rooms very clean and well-apportioned, and the service was fantastic. Small anecdote: My cell phone screen broke during our stay (tripped on a speed bump, long story) and the manager, Lance, suggested a local repair shop that completed the task in under an hour, with high-quality parts, and for 50% of the price of the same repair stateside. Such small, yet meaningful, moments of support, friendliness, and congeniality throughout our stay made our 3-day stay at Lanna truly memorable and we can't wait to return. Thanks, Lanna!

Room Tip: Family suites were outstanding - plenty of space, refrigerator, kitchen, great storage throughout
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codesamui, Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Matthew.

Greetings from Lanna.

Wow! What a glowing review, we are delighted that you have such positive fee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We could not fault Lanna Samui at all.
Staff were really helpful & friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Managing team were attentive & had time to talk to their guests at length.
Accomadation was brilliant. So comfortable, very clean & private. Everything you needed was there. We had a garden suite that allowed you to walk out to the poolside.
Food was at a very high standard, fantastic breakfast & a different cocktail of the day that was a bargain to be had. We used the hotels shuttle service & we missed the pick up time & it was no trouble for them to come back and get us.
This is certainly a place that we would not hesitate to go back to. Loved every minute we were there.

Room Tip: garden suites are excellent as you have easy access to the pool etc & you have your own private patio to sit and relax outside your room.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandamanda2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codesamui, Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Paul and Amanda,

Lovely to hear from you!

Thank you for taking the time to detail your stay with us. We are delighted knowing each aspect of your visit was perfect. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are delighted you enjoyed exceptional service from Paul and Lance along with the the rest of our incredible team!

We hope to see you both again very soon!

With our warmest regards,

The Lanna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

First things first: this is a very kid friendly place. Romantic couples beware. Flash packers, this could be your haven, if only...

But the same could be said for many places on KS.

Rooms are clean and contemporary as stated in other reviews. They are also 'petite. My wife found it all to be comfortable but if you are large, the double bed in the studio suite could be tight. Also, a pity one side is against the wall.

The pool is the big thing. It is ample and clean, and often full of kids.

The staff is friendly but could use some better management and/or training. (I'm not some bourgeoisie fellow here; I've been coming to Thailand over the last 14 years, staying at an assortment of places). It just seems this place has not found its niche as either a posh retreat for flash packers or a fun family place.

Finally, the location. Lanna is set back in an authentically Thai hamlet, away from the ruckus of Bophut and other beaches. You need to rent a motorbike if you truly want to explore and get to glorious beaches.
For independent travelers who are comfortable grabbing their own wheels, this should be problem.

A bit of a mixed bag. I would weigh the price. We got it for $80 on Agoda and feel like it was worth the money given the breakfast. Had I paid much more, I would have been displeased.

Remember, the beach is far away.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RichHill2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codesamui, Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Rich.

Greetings from Lanna!

Thank you for taking the time to review us in Trip Advisor following your recent visit and we appreciate your feedback. I am happy to read that you overall enjoyed your stay and highlighted that you feel we are good value for money and loved the cleanliness and style of our suites.

You opted for the Studio suite which is our smallest suite. The bed is queen size as stated on the website, next time please speak to one of our team members if you had an issue with anything in your suite ie your bed size as we may of been able to upgraded you to a suite that was more suitable for you and your wife. At Lanna we go out our way to ensure our guests have the very best stay, all you need to do is ask and we will try our best to make sure that happens.

We have guests staying at the some of the top high end hotels on the island then come to us before flying out, their general feedback has always been the same, we are on point with service, food quality, suite layout and style along with atmosphere and clientele. Some have even said they would stay with us in the future! They certainly weren't in your 'flash packers' category. We love flash packers, couples, families....everyone is welcome at Lanna!

We have both families and couples staying with us. The pool has a great kids area so parents can relax along with a children's room. Often couples tend to sit at the opposite end of the pool to the kids section. As you mentioned the pool area is large enough that you are not on top of each other.

Our location is 800 meters from the stunning Bangrak beach which most of our guests both couples and families tend to walk or alternatively you can opt to take our complimentary shuttle.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your comments!

Kind Regards,

The Lanna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Such a wonderful stay at Lanna! Friendly staff, beautiful room, luxurious and relaxing atmosphere. Very clean and well organized. They sent us a shuttle from the ferry and looked after us so well from that moment on. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bethr2085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codesamui, Manager at Lanna Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Beth,

Greetings from Lanna.

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We are thrilled to read that you loved all we had to offer and found the hotel to be clean and well organised!

We can't ask more than 10 out of 10! I will be sure to share your feedback with team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Lanna in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Lanna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews