We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely frustrated”

La Casina del Grillo
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Lizzanello
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 11 October 2018

While staying in Caprarica di Lecce I found this highly recommended restaurant on Tripadvisor, I phoned for a reservation, answering machine and left a message, perhaps too early, I thought to myself, later just before 8.00pm I phoned again and left a message again confirming the reservation.
Miles in the countryside and very narrow roads we arrive to find the place locked no lights, no notices, no warning on the answering machine (I speak and understand Italian perfectly). These people do not care, practically ruined our evening.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank henryborgbarthet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

We were recommended this family restaurant by our villa host. You will need Google maps to find it. It seems to be in the middle of no where, but Mama Mia is it worth the trip. They open at 8pm and even though we were 15 minutes early we were greeted with a smile and had a drink within 5 minutes. Fantastic food, great service and very good prices. The service was second to none. Always smiling. We learnt some Italian and they learnt some english. Lovely people, a great family. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Lord K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Nice locale for groups to eat well for an affordable price. I was expecting it to be more traditional but for appetizers among the dishes were potato salad, chicken salad. The service was lagging and getting water to our large group took a very long time. However the food was good and the meat entree was tasty.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Always4Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

As first experience it was a really good experience. Our game was to eat backwards. We started with limoncello and finished our dinner with trofie with mushrooms and sausage. The atmosphere has been quite familiar and food really good. The beal was honest. I really suggest you for a visit and an immersion in the salento food culture.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pierluigino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casina del Grillo also viewed

Lizzanello, Province of Lecce
Cavallino, Province of Lecce
 
Lizzanello, Province of Lecce
Lizzanello, Province of Lecce
 
Lecce, Province of Lecce
Vernole, Province of Lecce
 

Been to La Casina del Grillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing