We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We would definitely return.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Enthusias...
England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We would definitely return.”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was the first time we had booked a property via Holiday Lettings, so we were slightly apprehensive. As the initial booking is only a request to the owner (even though a deposit is paid) there is a worrying period where you are committed to the property, but you can’t book flights. Luckily in our case Amanda confirmed our booking quickly. She then followed this up with recommendations for both a taxi transfer & car hire, as we needed both (due to a staggered arrival).

The recommended taxi firm (Madeira Airport Transfers) was waiting for us on arrival, a pleasant 45 minutes drive followed (via the numerous tunnels of Madeira). On reaching the property the driver helpfully rang the contact number Amanda provided. A swift conversation later and the electric gate slid open, and a smiling Solanda was greeting us. A guided tour followed explaining all the facilities available to us, before discreetly disappearing.

Even though the photos are great, they do not quite capture just how impressive this property is. It is modern, very tastefully furnished and decorated and immaculately clean. Outside there is a panoramic view of the sea and no other properties in sight. The swimming pool is big enough to swim in and to “play” in, the kitchen is extremely well fitted out and the barbeque provided numerous great meals.

Calheta is a 10 minutes’ walk down a twisty steep road. This is a bit scary at first when the locals appear to drive directly at you before swerving around. But you get used to it. We chose the easy option for our return trip, a 4 Euro taxi ride … there is a taxi rank outside the supermarket (which is a decent size and well-priced)…. Just ask for the “big pink house up the hill”

We were a party of six, us with our “twenty something” daughters and their partners. The property is spacious with a number of inside and outside areas giving everyone plenty of space.

If you are considering taking younger children just be aware that the property/grounds are raised, so we personally feel they would need to be supervised when outside.

We had a great family holiday, the hire car was used for a few days out, and a few supermarket runs by the “children”, though had it been just the two of us we may not have bothered… as we were content to stay local, and the taxis were well priced & very friendly.

A great property in a great location and Solanda was a star, making sure everything was just right

We would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Wow, thank you so much Graham for your fabulous review of the Villa.
We really appreciate you taking the time to write the review after your holiday. As you say ; Solanda is a STAR and we are very lucky to have her. We would love to welcome you back to Calheta in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishaw
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
'Wow' what a fabulous review!
Thank you so much. We really appreciate this and would love to welcome you all back one day.
Kind regards from the team at Olivieras Da Faja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daniel G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday home”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Three generation family holiday - age range 72 down to five months. Wonderful experience: perfect location and views, friendly and capable staff, great house and lovely pool and garden. A car is a must - with one there is loads to do. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to give our Villa a fabulous review.
We all really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice V
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Christmas Vacation!”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want the perfect accommodation, perfect setting and perfect everything, then this is it. We read all the reviews of this property and knew that it was the one we wanted to book. Amanda the owner made booking easy. Really helpful advice about the island and really quick to respond to queries. It was our first time visiting Madeira and we were staying over Christmas with the kids and grandparents also, so we needed something that would accommodate us all; and with it's four en suite bedrooms and expansive terrace space, we never felt we were on top of each other. The view from the swimming pool is breathtaking! We spent many evenings sitting watching the sun go down and we even had the luxury of swimming at night because of the heated pool. The manager Solanda did everything she could to help us have an enjoyable stay and we had many a lovely conversation with her as she gave us recommendations of where to eat and things to do, she even brought us a welcome basket filled with local goodies, which we promptly enjoyed! We also met the gardener who was very proud of his homegrown bananas and brought us some during our stay. The grounds of the property are out of this world....the sheer, lush mountains on one side and the ocean on the other. On Christmas day we had an amazing meal at the Savoy which is just down the road, we ate at a few of the restaurants which are near also....walking distance if you don't mind a trek up hill afterwards. We had amazing weather and it was only cloudy on one day which for December we were so happy about...but we were dreading coming back to a cold and foggy London! Somehow after our week's stay in Calheta everything pales into insignificance. We loved our week long holiday in this amazing villa; we all feel rested, rejuvenated and inspired. We look forward to coming back again really soon. We miss the sun, the views and our home for a week.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for lovely review of our Luxury Ocean Front Villa!
We are so pleased you all managed to unwind, relax and chill in Calheta over the Christmas holidays.
We wish you all the very best for the New year ahead.
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashir...
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sublime escape”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The hosts of this elegant villa with interesting artwork and wonderful views are exceptionally obliging and helpful. Solanda who manages the property is discrete, kind and efficient. The villa is spotless and offers everything you could possibly need for a self-catering holiday. If you can't find it, you haven't looked properly! The pool is private and salt water, which is great and skin-friendly. We didn't see or hear much from the two dogs - we suspect that they are more 'party labs' and probably found just two of us a bit boring. They are a lovable pair. Nelson, who takes care of the garden and pool is very friendly and willing to chat if you wish. The garden is peaceful,spacious and pretty. All in all, pretty perfect.
We only needed a taxi from the nearby harbour once, after a particularly hard walk in the hills and needing to carry shopping back. It is a bit of a pull, but good for walking off dinner in one of the nearby restaurants. However, if you have mobility problems it would be necessary but very reasonable at a few euros. Calheta is a lovely town with friendly residents.
You certainly wouldn't regret holidaying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review on our Villa,. It means a lot to us and as you know it's really helpful to others when trying to choose the ideal location for a well deserved holiday We all enjoyed having you both here, and look forward to you returning one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing