We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Christmas Vacation!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Janice V
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Christmas Vacation!”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want the perfect accommodation, perfect setting and perfect everything, then this is it. We read all the reviews of this property and knew that it was the one we wanted to book. Amanda the owner made booking easy. Really helpful advice about the island and really quick to respond to queries. It was our first time visiting Madeira and we were staying over Christmas with the kids and grandparents also, so we needed something that would accommodate us all; and with it's four en suite bedrooms and expansive terrace space, we never felt we were on top of each other. The view from the swimming pool is breathtaking! We spent many evenings sitting watching the sun go down and we even had the luxury of swimming at night because of the heated pool. The manager Solanda did everything she could to help us have an enjoyable stay and we had many a lovely conversation with her as she gave us recommendations of where to eat and things to do, she even brought us a welcome basket filled with local goodies, which we promptly enjoyed! We also met the gardener who was very proud of his homegrown bananas and brought us some during our stay. The grounds of the property are out of this world....the sheer, lush mountains on one side and the ocean on the other. On Christmas day we had an amazing meal at the Savoy which is just down the road, we ate at a few of the restaurants which are near also....walking distance if you don't mind a trek up hill afterwards. We had amazing weather and it was only cloudy on one day which for December we were so happy about...but we were dreading coming back to a cold and foggy London! Somehow after our week's stay in Calheta everything pales into insignificance. We loved our week long holiday in this amazing villa; we all feel rested, rejuvenated and inspired. We look forward to coming back again really soon. We miss the sun, the views and our home for a week.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for lovely review of our Luxury Ocean Front Villa!
We are so pleased you all managed to unwind, relax and chill in Calheta over the Christmas holidays.
We wish you all the very best for the New year ahead.
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashir...
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sublime escape”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The hosts of this elegant villa with interesting artwork and wonderful views are exceptionally obliging and helpful. Solanda who manages the property is discrete, kind and efficient. The villa is spotless and offers everything you could possibly need for a self-catering holiday. If you can't find it, you haven't looked properly! The pool is private and salt water, which is great and skin-friendly. We didn't see or hear much from the two dogs - we suspect that they are more 'party labs' and probably found just two of us a bit boring. They are a lovable pair. Nelson, who takes care of the garden and pool is very friendly and willing to chat if you wish. The garden is peaceful,spacious and pretty. All in all, pretty perfect.
We only needed a taxi from the nearby harbour once, after a particularly hard walk in the hills and needing to carry shopping back. It is a bit of a pull, but good for walking off dinner in one of the nearby restaurants. However, if you have mobility problems it would be necessary but very reasonable at a few euros. Calheta is a lovely town with friendly residents.
You certainly wouldn't regret holidaying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review on our Villa,. It means a lot to us and as you know it's really helpful to others when trying to choose the ideal location for a well deserved holiday We all enjoyed having you both here, and look forward to you returning one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwray2016
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ultimate luxury”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I must admit that I was a bit sceptical when I read all the amazing reviews of this villa but I can honestly say that this is the best villa we have ever stayed in. Booking the villa was extremely straight forward and Mandy responded very promptly to any queries I had regarding transfers and amenities at the villa.

The villa is furnished to a very high standard and the kitchen has every utensil and appliance you could ever need, and more! The pool area is beautiful and I will really miss watching the sunset with a glass of local red wine in hand! Solanda and Nelson keep the villa in tip-top condition and when we had an issue with the fridge it was rectified immediately, excellent service with a smile.

As stated in other reviews, it is a steep walk down to the Marina so I wouldn't advise heels or wedges for the ladies (or boys) but it's a good way to walk off the gelato!

Do not hesitate to book this villa, you will not be disappointed. Thank you Mandy and the team, we had a lovely stay and it was a joy to meet your two beautiful labradors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thank you so much Julie for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review. We really do appreciate it and hope that it helps others when choosing our Luxury Ocean Front Villa for their holiday.
We loved having you all here at the Villa and would like to say a big thank you to you all from the team!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Oh bless you - thank you so much for your lovely review;
we really appreciate you taking the time and effort to rate our Villa.
It was a pleasure having you and your lovely family here and we look forward to seeing you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you for you 'Truly outstanding' review. It means a lot to us when our guests go to the trouble of writing a review. We aim to keep improving, updating and renewing items in the Villa, so no doubt there will be some small changes if you come again! It was pleasure having you all at the villa and we hope to see you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing