We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Vargem Mar

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
morecambe...
Lake District
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The first thing to understand is that Calheta is hilly! Luckily, Vargem Mar offers secure parking so car hire is essential. Yes hills are to be walked up, but a trip to the local supermarket wouldn't be much fun on foot.

Calheta is a lovely, quiet resort and s good base to explore the Western side of Madeira. Make sure you do the whale and dolphin trip. We went on the fast rib which was fabulous.

Teresa met us from the airport and we instantly knew she cared about our stay. She was helpful and friendly, linking up on Whatsapp so we could ask for any help or advice at any time.

The apartment was bigger than expected, very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Bedding and towels were fresh and Teresa provided essentials and a fresh bowl of fruit.

The view from the large balcony is gorgeous and the pool area very pleasant and quiet.

What's not to like? 5 stars and thank you Teresa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Muito Obrigada pela tua simpática opinião
teresa jesus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location and outstanding views. The downside to that statement is that if you are staying anywhere in this part of the world other than on the beach you will encounter hills and mountains. Taxis are available but really you need to have a car to get the most out of the stunning scenery and experiences available. That said the apartment does have secure underground garaging for your car.
The apartment was superbly equipped and everything you could possibly require in a kitchen was available. Operating the ceramic hob threw me briefly, but then I found the instruction book in the cupboard above and all was well. The agent / owner, (Teresa) was extremely helpful and had left wine and fruit for our arrival. The kitchen was also stocked with all the things that are so essential when you first arrive, tea, coffee, sugar, salt, pepper, oil etc. Teresa gave us lots of information and guidance about what to see and do and had lots of restaurant recommendations. It is a well equipped spacious apartment with a large balcony and stunning views. We would happily go back tomorrow.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Muito Obrigada
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred h
Burg, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine vacation in a great rental on a beautiful island. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful, quiet location with a wonderful view of the ocean from the large private balcony. Well equipped, well constructed apartment in excellent condition. Private parking in basement garage. Elevator to apartment. Big comfortable bed. Hostess Teresa could not have been nicer. Highly recommended. We found no problem, but if there had been, Teresa would have dealt with it. Recommended with no hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
MUITO OBRIGADA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilfriedc...
Zoersel, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful view on quiet location”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment has everything you need and is well equiped. The heated swimming pool is an excellent place to relax. The owner is very friendly and granted us a discount as we booked last minute. Wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiete location, swimming pool, nice view
Liked least: The apartment is rather noisy. We were unlucky with the downstairs neighbor who had frequent loud conflictual telephone calls. The WIFI was unpredictable: most of the time slow, sometimes fast and sometimes failing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
MUITO OBRIGADA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon K
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Vargem Mar Holiday – Calheta”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We always work to a budget but were happy to see the accommodation charges were very reasonable. The apartment at Vargem Mar was no different and was excellent value for money; so much so, I had to double check!

We have booked via the internet for the last few years now and we always arrive to the accommodation wondering what we will actually get! So far, we have always been lucky. This apartment especially so. It was a great size with a proper well equipped kitchen, white goods, a flippin’ quick induction hob, microwave and Bosch fan oven! We didn’t want for anything.

There’s a good size bedroom with huge wardrobes, a dresser and bedside cabinets. The bed is two singles pushed together with one quilt over them. They were very comfortable but would have preferred a proper double.

The bathroom was perfect. A good shower over the Jacuzzi bath. We didn’t try the bath as we prefer to shower.

In the lounge there’s a table and chairs but we preferred to eat out on the balcony where there’s a gate-legged table provided. The lounge has ample seating, cable TV and other electrical entertainment systems. We used our own Bluetooth speaker most of the time with Spotify and the apartments excellent WiFi. We also had our Chromecast with us and streamed a couple of Netflix shows in the evening. The WiFi was faultless and who knew Netflix works in Madeira!

The location is beautiful. A great view of the Atlantic awaits you each morning and breakfast on the balcony is a must. The apartment overlooks the pool. It isn’t heated but is an excellent and bracing swim for you too cool off in. There is plenty of space to sunbathe and there are even beach towels provided in the apartment.

Be warned that Madeira is very hilly or perhaps mountainous could be a better description. You are located 200 meters up the mountain-side so a hire car is a good idea. Make it a bit more powerful than a 1.0 litre though as even our 1.2 car struggled and strained up some of the steepest roads I’ve ever seen. There is parking in the in the underground garage. The owner, Teresa is very helpful and when able, can take you to a couple of places to eat or to enjoy the sites so you could perhaps do without a hire car. There are taxis in the town of Calheta to get you back to the apartment.

You could opt to walk to the town as it really isn’t far but it is steep… and I mean steep! It actually hurt walking down the hills but there is a couple of beaches and a number of restaurants worth visiting and a small but well stocked supermarket. We didn’t ever attempt the walk back up! Somehow we managed to blag a lift back each time. The Madeirian’s are very friendly.

As mentioned, Teresa the owner was very friendly and she looked after us during our stay. She ensured we had good knowledge of the area and suggested the places serving the typical food of the area. In fact, Teresa made all the difference to our holiday. She went beyond the call of duty and totally looked after us and made us feel a part of her family! Thank you Teresa!

I would thoroughly recommend this apartment for anyone to stay in Madeira. It is away from busy Funchal and if you want a peaceful beautiful holiday with plenty do around the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly and helpful owner
Liked least: The sofa wasn't the most comfy, but that is being ultra critical!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
good evening
Thank you for your comments.
All my clients are for me one family.
Beste regardes
Teresa Jesus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing