We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place for our needs”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage view
Main Bedroom Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Cottage view
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
View from balcony
View from the cottage
View from Balcony
View from balcony
View from the balcony
Kitchen & dinning area
2º bedroom
Sitting area
Cottage
Cottage terrace
Front Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ilze N
Limbazi, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place for our needs”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A good place outside noise and tourist centers and taken over, exactly what we value. At the same time, close to the necessary shops and places to eat for dinner, if there is no desire to cook yourself. Strategically good place to visit any point of interest on the island, Do not know how the public transport, we use a rented car.
At the beginning we had to get used to a very narrow and winding streets and extremely steep collision to the cottages. But we were able to comfortably enjoy breakfast on the terrace with views across the village to the ocean. In the kitchen we found everything needed for cooking and enjoying meals.
Maybe not the most suitable place to relax with young children, but we found everything perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling as local inhabitant in village.
Liked least: Early church bell :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ungerhoye...
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Good location for visiting the island away from the bustle of Funchal. Lovely sea view from the terraces, although small, plenty of space for a couple. Stayed here a week and would happily stay here again. Rosa was a very helpful host!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legalalie...
USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming little cottage”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A lovely, peaceful, very good-value little cottage. I travelled alone but it would also comfortably accommodate a couple, or a couple with a (sensible! The stairs are highly polished and very steep) child. Everything was very clean and well-supplied with clean linen, towels, etc. The manager, Rosa, was very helpful in meeting me at the main road, guiding me to the cottage and advising on nearby amenities, driving routes, local restaurants, etc.

Advantages: lovely views over village and ocean. The cottage has two south-facing balconies that are quite secluded and would be great for alfresco eating and sunbathing (if you don't visit on a cooler-than-average week in January). Kitchen very functional and well supplied; there is also a bbq available. Glitch-free WiFi. Access within a half-hour drive to great walking, swimming at Calheta beach, and good restaurants (la Poita in the next village is highly recommended).
Disadvantages: the water tank must be small as the shower only stayed hot for a few minutes. It's fine for a quick rinse, but you may need to wash your hair in 2 shifts! The washing machine didn't work (at time of writing - I left a note about this). Finally, all the roads in Arco de Calheta are narrow and steep, but the driveway accessing the cottage is on a particularly alarming grade. My rental car, an underpowered little hairdryer-on-wheels, would, if gunned hard in first gear, make it up the drive... but nervous drivers beware!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah_and...
Hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little place for lovely little money!”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our stay in this sweet little budget cottage has been great pleasure! We enjoyed the view over the rural areas of Calheta from the two sunny terraces very much and of course the beautiful scenery in the middle of banana and wine orchards.

As the cottage is imbedded in one of the warmest and most sunny areas of the island it makes it to a great hideaway during the winter months (in summer, too, of course!). As it is provided with basic interior fittings don't expect much decoration or comfort. But everything awaited us neat and clean and there was all we needed for alldays routine like cooking, eating, sleeping and washing. And as expected to be more in the outdoors during our holidays than inside, the less fancy stuff wasn't any matter to us.
By the way the owner is a very friendly and trustful person who helped us in every question from booking the cottage till recommendations where to eat and to go.

For this little money it's a really lovely place and is much recommended to everybody who likes to travel on a shoestring or wants to experience the real madeira island!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Derendingen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing