We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
Hotels.comUSD 110
Expedia.comUSD 110
PricelineUSD 111
Trip.comUSD 134
eDreamsUSD 100
travelup.comUSD 160
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveller rating
779
140
30
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
779
140
30
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pico ruivo separate building separate restaurant hotel restaurant is amazing hotel levada walks main building very nice stay half board fantastic views madeira island pleasant hotel rooms are spacious every evening overlooking the sea the cliff a la carte
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 956 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2021

Pros:
Hotel overall is very nice and clean, breakfast was good with varied choice (loved the freshly squeezed orange juice for example), the hotel grounds, views etc. are wonderful. Staff was always very nice and helpful. Room was specious, clean and had a fabulous view.
In general, we enjoyed our stay very much, just with some cons mentioned below.

Cons:
Restaurant
I know this should be a separate review for the restaurant establishment but since it was a part of the HB for us I will review it together with the hotel. The restaurant has a fabulous view from the terrace and the pro’s end there... overall experience was rather bad, I do agree with other reviews that considering the quality and taste of the food if I would have to pay the prices from the menu I would be pissed... We spent 7 days in the hotel, considering that each dinner had 3 courses we tried together 21 different meals and only about 5-6 of those were good or tasty. Not only you have this idea of that someone is cheap and wants to spend as little as possible and call a few leaves of salad with cucumber and olive oil a starter (which can be simple and tasty) but there always seemed to be something not good about it, veggies seem dry and leftover from the day before etc. There seem to be a lot of waiters running around but I don’t think they are well organized, sometimes we had to really wait a while after sitting at our table before someone came to collect our order, clean the dishes or brought next course.
Anyway, overall experience of the restaurant was really unsatisfactory. We would not recommend having the HB or dining there based on the a'la carte.

Bar
Very limited choice, with all respect to the lovely ladies from the staff (btw. The same ladies that serve you breakfast are also running the bar in the late evening) ... lack of a professional bartender is a bit disappointing, there were only like 6 cocktails to choose from, anything even as simple and basic for any kind of bar like Old Fashioned, or Whisky Sour was a mystery…

Room
I understand the idea behind considering the environment etc. but not having air conditioning in the rooms is a huge mistake, especially since the room we stayed in had only one window- the balcony door, having the insect screen does not help since you can't get the air to flow though the room without opening the door to the corridor. Besides if you leave the balcony open you will be bothered by sounds coming from the outside (and I don't mean soothing ocean waves, I mean insects like grasshoppers and cicadas) Besides if you leave the balcony open, you can't close the curtains because it does not make any sense since by doing that you are preventing the air from getting in or you get woken up early by the sunshine, after not being able to fall asleep... it's a vicious circle and really got on our nerves during our stay!
I've used an umbrella to keep the door open, I saw other guests using their suitcases etc. I believe I was not the only one that was bothered by this. Imagine going on a vacation to relax and get some rest when you can't fall asleep because it's too hot and stuffy in the room... We were provided with a ventilator by the hotel staff, unfortunately it was a bit noisy and didn't change much temperature wise... again it's a vicious circle.

Room tip: I would suggest choosing a room with two independent windows (corner room), this hotel DOES NOT have A/C and rooms get hot and stuffy.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica Mendonça, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Quinta do Furao, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and for your positive remarks. We would also like to thank you for all of your suggestions and for pointing out all the things that we can improve.
On behalf of our hotel's team I would like to thank you for choosing Quinta do Furão and hope to welcome you once again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jessica Mendonça
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2021 via mobile

This is really one of the best hotels I've ever been to. Small and peaceful, stunning view to the ocean, vineyards, great restaurant (very flexible when it comes to my vegan needs), tasty food and, above all, absolutely amazing staff - helpful and flexible. This all made my holidays very special. Definitely adding you to "come back soon" list! Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank monikamjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica Mendonça, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Quinta do Furao, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your positive remarks! We are glad you had a wonderfull stay here in our "home". Our staff always try their best to make every single guest feel welcomed.
On behalf of our hotel's team I would like to thank you for choosing Quinta do Furão and hope to welcome you once again in the near future!
Kind regards,
Jessica Mendonça
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2021

During the stay at this hotel we experienced five star hotel service level in welcoming arms of nature. The hotel is located in cost of ocean that allow to enjoy stunning views.

It is pity we did not stayed longer here - to enjoy fully the provided home alike, cozy feeling and rest of hiking trails in this region - very close to hotel location.
Our compliments to the chief - all meals we had where exceptional - super tasty..:)

If will travel again to Madeira for hiking - definitely will return to Quinta do Furao.

Thank you so much :)

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sniedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica Mendonça, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Quinta do Furao, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your positive remarks. Next time you have to stay here longer! We will be here to welcome you again! Thank you for choosing Quinta do Furão.

Kind regards, Jessica Mendonça, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2021 via mobile

This excellent hotel was the highlight of our recent trip to Madeira. Set on the cliff top in Santana it’s is a fantastic setting and a great experience. Rooms with a sea view are a must. We enjoyed the hospitality and advice of the excellent staff. The walks from the hotel were first class as was the food in the restaurant. Would highly recommend.
p.s. sadly there aren’t any ferrets.

Room tip: A room with a sea view is a great choice. The balconies are a lovely way to relax in the afternoon.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank trippymuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara Calaça, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Quinta do Furao, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your positive remarks.
We are pleased to know that you are satisfied with the service that we have provided to you, as we do our best to make you feel as much confortable as possible, in order for you to enjoy the stay to the fullest.
On behalf of our hotel's team I would like to thank you for choosing Quinta do Furão and hope to welcome you once again in the near future.
Kind regards
Mara Calaça
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

We checked out today, and I already cannot wait to stay here again. Incredible views. The grounds are beautiful. The pool is literally between a vineyard and it’s amazing. Our room was so cute and clean. We looked forward to the great breakfast every morning. But our absolute favorite part of our stay at Quinta do Furao was the staff. From the time we checked in, we felt so welcome. The women at the front desk were incredibly friendly and helpful. The women who worked breakfast and the bar in the evenings made us feel as though they were our sweet, funny aunties. They were so kind, and helped us practice our Portuguese while interacting with them. The staff really create a warm and welcoming atmosphere that is unmatched. Didn’t want to leave!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 383blaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara Calaça, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Quinta do Furao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2021

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your positive remarks.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Quinta. Everyday we do our best to make you feel as much confortable as possible, in order for you to enjoy the experience to the fullest.
On behalf of our hotel's team I would like to thank you for choosing Quinta do Furão and hope to welcome you once again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Mara Calaça
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews