We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park
from USD 89.80
More Info
from USD 45.30
More Info
from USD 62.10
More Info
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
406
180
62
32
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
180
62
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spear throwing cultural experience dinner show creation story throw spears bush foods bush medicine dance performance aboriginal life general admission traditional dance audience participation gift shop learned how front row learning how learn how
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

This was an excellent cultural day for the young children’s and adults, I’m so glad we went cause it was a grata way to introduce the culture and Australian heritage to the kids. I also learnt a lot and had many takings which I will always cherish life.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank kousis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

This was booked as part of our tour package. We were very disappointed with it. We were not allowed to explore on our own AT ALL. They took control of us from the time we arrived and we were made to sit through every program and speech even though we didn’t want to. When we tried to go back to the entrance to grab a bite before our next scheduled activity in half an hour, they tried to stop us and they questioned us before letting us go. They also stopped another couple that were there on their own and made them sit down and listen. I didn’t like the presentations about how the white man stole everything and the environmental complaints. We were there on vacation, not to be bombarded by someone’s views! Just a bad experience and a waste of a precious half day of our vacation.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank X7667BZjohnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce M, General Manager at Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear John,

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us at Tjapukai. We are a very proud business and cherish the opportunity to share our culture with the world.

Our day time activities are a tour based style so that guest's do not miss out on all of the offerings that we have. I am sorry that you felt like you were having to do things that you didn't want to. We are only trying to ensure that guests get value for money.

One of the things that Tjapukai prides itself on is the authenticity of our offerings and whilst some of the stories are not for everyone they are factual. The presentations that we provide are an historical account provided by elders and not that of any one individual. Whilst we do accept that it is not always up to everyone's tastes, it is who we are.

Once again I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us and if you would like to discus further I am happy for you to contact me on bryce.madgwick@tjapukai.com.au .

Bryce Madgwick
General Manager
Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Visited as part of a tour group. The introduction in the auditorium was not good. The sound quality was pretty useless and needs to be sorted out. We then moved into a 360 cinema, that was ok.

Then we moved into an amphitheatre to see a routine that included " making fire".

Really the highlights would have been the spear throwing and trying to get your boomerang to come back.......mine didn't !!

There were at least 2 large tour groups here, so the experience was a bit rushed and crowded.

Great place, just needs a few tweaks ...

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank SUNTAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

After reading a lot of the the reviews we were pretty sure we were going to enjoy this
aboriginal experience
Well we did
Highly recommend .
it was fabulous
The show exceptional and the buffet was delicious with many different salads vegetables meats including pork chicken kangaroo and crocodile and nice desserts and fruits
A1

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Susannemargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Beautiful location and an opportunity to gain an insight into local Indigenous culture. My family and I have only ever experienced snippets of traditional aspects through community events and nothing more. This involved a 2 and a half guided tour with a local who took us through different aspects from traditional dance, ceremonies, dreamtime stories and art. It includes history as well as a hope for the future that through our respect and recognition this oldest culture in the world can still survive. An interesting insight into Indigenous local heritage gained nowhere else.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank RosemaryI33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews