We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for all families ”

Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover where Australia begins at Tjapukai. Explore the rich history of the world's oldest living cultural experience with performance, dance, food and the arts. By Day, learn how to throw a boomerang, gain an understanding into bush foods and hunting techniques. See live performances from the world famous Tjapukai Dance Troupe and the Torres Strait Island Dancers. Enhance you day at Tjapukai with a guided Bush Food Trail through the parklands and sample native jams or create your own souvenirs with our Cultural Creations package. By Night, be immersed in the mystical stories of the dreamtime and be included in a Fire Ceremony with Buffet Dinner and a spectacular Dance Show. However you choose to enjoy it, a visit to Tjapukai is the perfect way to gain a deeper understanding of Australia's diverse Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander heritage.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

This was an excellent cultural day for the young children’s and adults, I’m so glad we went cause it was a grata way to introduce the culture and Australian heritage to the kids. I also learnt a lot and had many takings which I will always cherish life.

Thank kousis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"spear throwing"
in 70 reviews
"dinner show"
in 21 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 23 reviews
"throw spears"
in 17 reviews
"creation story"
in 16 reviews
"bush foods"
in 14 reviews
"bush medicine"
in 12 reviews
"dance performance"
in 11 reviews
"gift shop"
in 30 reviews
"audience participation"
in 11 reviews
"learned how"
in 10 reviews
"general admission"
in 9 reviews
"front row"
in 7 reviews
"learning how"
in 7 reviews
"learn how"
in 10 reviews
"night tour"
in 10 reviews
"tour group"
in 7 reviews
Filter

114 - 118 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

This was booked as part of our tour package. We were very disappointed with it. We were not allowed to explore on our own AT ALL. They took control of us from the time we arrived and we were made to sit through every program and speech even though we didn’t want to. When we tried to go back to the entrance to grab a bite before our next scheduled activity in half an hour, they tried to stop us and they questioned us before letting us go. They also stopped another couple that were there on their own and made them sit down and listen. I didn’t like the presentations about how the white man stole everything and the environmental complaints. We were there on vacation, not to be bombarded by someone’s views! Just a bad experience and a waste of a precious half day of our vacation.

1  Thank X7667BZjohnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce M, General Manager at Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear John,

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us at Tjapukai. We are a very proud business and cherish the opportunity to share our culture with the world.

Our day time activities are a tour based style so that guest's do not miss out on all of the offerings that we have. I am sorry that you felt like you were having to do things that you didn't want to. We are only trying to ensure that guests get value for money.

One of the things that Tjapukai prides itself on is the authenticity of our offerings and whilst some of the stories are not for everyone they are factual. The presentations that we provide are an historical account provided by elders and not that of any one individual. Whilst we do accept that it is not always up to everyone's tastes, it is who we are.

Once again I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us and if you would like to discus further I am happy for you to contact me on bryce.madgwick@tjapukai.com.au .

Bryce Madgwick
General Manager
Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Visited as part of a tour group. The introduction in the auditorium was not good. The sound quality was pretty useless and needs to be sorted out. We then moved into a 360 cinema, that was ok.

Then we moved into an amphitheatre to see a routine that included " making fire".

Really the highlights would have been the spear throwing and trying to get your boomerang to come back.......mine didn't !!

There were at least 2 large tour groups here, so the experience was a bit rushed and crowded.

Great place, just needs a few tweaks ...

Thank SUNTAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce M, General Manager at Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park also viewed

 

Been to Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing