We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A little insight into indiginous culture” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park

Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 124.25*
and up
Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover where Australia begins at Tjapukai. Explore the rich history of the world's oldest living cultural experience with performance, dance, food and the arts. By Day, learn how to throw a boomerang, gain an understanding into bush foods and hunting techniques. See live performances from the world famous Tjapukai Dance Troupe and the Torres Strait Island Dancers. Enhance you day at Tjapukai with a guided Bush Food Trail through the parklands and sample native jams or create your own souvenirs with our Cultural Creations package. By Night, be immersed in the mystical stories of the dreamtime and be included in a Fire Ceremony with Buffet Dinner and a spectacular Dance Show. However you choose to enjoy it, a visit to Tjapukai is the perfect way to gain a deeper understanding of Australia's diverse Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander heritage.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
377 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A little insight into indiginous culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

The first thing to remember about this event, is that it is run specifically for visitors. Indulge in some face painting to get you into the mood of the evening, together with a welcome drink and canapes. It is well organised or orchestrated so you feel safe during all the various performances and getting to and from the different areas. Some good audience participation opportunities during the different elements of the show.
The meal at the end, however was a bit bog standard..... then of course outward bound via the shop.....some very good quality products on offer here.
The 'cast' of the show put on some good interpretations of their culture through dance/movement, giving the visitor a little bit of an insight into this indigenous way of life.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    148
    49
    30
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leakey, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must Do for Everyone Visiting Cairns!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The programs were highly informative as well as entertaining. I could feel the staff members' enthusiasm and belief in the importance of sharing their story with others. Music, dance, food, weapons - so much to see, hear & experience. Very good introduction to Australia's indigenous people. Truly a must-do.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nightfire is way overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

The only thing keeping this from a 1 star review is the performers who were excellent and performed for about an hour.

However, the food was terrible (think standard bad banquet style food) and on top of the AUD 150 we had paid per person they charge an additional fee for any drinks (including soft drinks).

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park, responded to this review, 29 November 2016
Dear Carl,

I am very concerned to read your recent review and would like the opportunity to discuss your visit with you. Please feel free to make contact at Tjapukai or via my email bryce.madgwick@tjapukai.com.au so that I can gather further details about your visit.

We do take pride in being one of the largest indigenous employers and currently have close to sixty of our seventy five staff identifying that way. We are very proud of our heritage and want to ensure all guest's get to benefit from the knowledge and passion that our staff bring every day.

We welcome all feedback and acknowledge that mistakes can occur from time to time. Your experience however is not consistent with our usual high standards and we want to work quickly to understand how we can respond and take any action required.

I hope we can discuss this further at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards

Bryce Madgwick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
so cal
Level Contributor
270 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to aboriginal culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016

The facilities in the park were excellent. The theater and other buildings were pretty spectacular. They gave several demonstrations of the culture and then took us outside where we threw boomerangs and spears like aboriginal hunters. We ate the buffet at the Flame Tree restaurant which was OK.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank xsteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
426 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016

We had a great night, learnt a bit about the Aboriginal heritage, watched the dancing, fire making then topped it off with a nice buffet meal

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park also viewed

 

Been to Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing