We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
76
17
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
17
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool costa rica order food cable tv favorite stay wi fi the room was nice small hotel perfect climate incredible views clean rooms wonderful place central valley alex town refrigerator renovation
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

My husband and I were looking for hotels and we happened to come across this one. I'm so happy we chose this hotel as it gave us everything that we wanted. It's on top of a mountain in Atenas and the view is breathtaking. We chose the room with the sky deck, but upon arrival the manager offered to upgrade us to a deluxe room. I wanted the sky deck so we chose to stay with the room we chose, but all of the rooms are beautiful and all of them have a great view. The hotel staff is very hands on. The office ordered food for us every night that we didn't want to go out and the manager of the hotel picked us up from the airport. The manager personally arranged spa services for me. Breakfast was prepared every morning and brought to our room. Any time we needed recommendations for places to eat or things to do the staff was willing to help. It's a smaller location, but it's worth it for the hands on experience that you get.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royeal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa c, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barons Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you very much for your commentary, we are really glad to hear that you have a pleasent stay at Barons Resort. It really was a pleasure for us to have such nice guests like you, it was a real honor for us.
We really hope to welcome you one more time and in name of the Resort we thank you for choosing us and for giving us such kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Alex and the rest of the staff took care of me and my wife so well we would never forget this trip. Breakfast was made just for us, rooms had great views, they helped us order food and take rides into town. Even though I've been to Costa Rica before it was my favorite stay. Hoping to visit again

Room Tip: best view has to pool
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa c, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barons Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you very much for your commentary, we are really glad to hear that you have a pleasent stay at Barons Resort. It really was a pleasure for us to have such nice guests like you, it was an honor for us.
We really hope to welcome you in Atenas one more time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

It's a small Hotel in the Mountains of Atenas, Costa Rica. Very quiet, special for couples or people who enjoy nature.

The restaurant has only four or five tables but it's all glass windows with a beautiful view. It's is used mostly for breakfast because at night, you can order room service from a variety of menus provided by local restaurants who deliver express coordinated with the help of the front desk manager who is always very kind and wiling to help with any of your needs.

There are two types of rooms. I prefer the small ones because they ALL have a great view, big windows, small fridge, Wi-Fi, cable Tv (no Tub).

No AC but it's not that necessary anyway.

And check this out: ... EVERY small room has it's own view deck on the roof, with two chairs, table for drinks and your own umbrella (it's a bit rainy sometimes).

The front desk has info about all kinds of Tours which will cover any taste since the hotel is not far from San José, nor far from multiple nature possible experiences.

The pool is very small but it will probably help you interact with anybody else who decided to take a sun bath.

The other rooms are bigger, more kitchen equipped but the view is not as good as the small rooms on the edge of the cliff.

My wife and I highly recommend this place.
Prices are good too! It's not a luxury hotel but it's very original, clean and comfortable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank guitarsimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa c, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barons Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review, We at Barons Resort are happy to hear that your time in Atenas, Costa Rica was satisfying and that you enjoy your stay at the Resort. We welcome you to visit us once again and have a lovely day in our installations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

On top of a hill with beautiful views in every direction. Delicious breakfasts with that divine Costa Rican coffee ...is there a better way to start a day?
The owners/managers were very helpful in every possible way.
I would go back in an instant!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ColoradoTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa c, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barons Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

We are glad to hear that your stay in Barons Resort was satisfying and in name of all the Barons Resort Group we thank you for such nice commentaries. We hope to have you guys back here soon and enjoy of the beauties of our country.
We´ll looking forward to welcome you in Atenas, Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

This was honestly the best hotel/resort I've ever stayed at. The views, the rooms, the staff, everything about this place was wonderful. Alex was absolutely amazing. We came in late one night and were hungry and he called a bunch of places for us to get food delivered, then he delivered them to our room himself. The next day during breakfast, we asked if it's possible for a table to be set up outside, and to our surprise by the time we were ready for breakfast there was a huge tent with a big table and chairs set up around it. A bunch of guys came in a big truck to set up the tent and take it down right after we were done. Honestly have never been treated this WELL at a hotel. Thanks Alex for being so accommodating and kind. Will never forget Barons Resort!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank potterfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa c, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barons Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for such nice comments from the Hotel and Staff, we are very pleased to hear that your time in Barons was satisfiying. It´s always a real pleasure for us to serve our guest and hearing that they like the services we provide is a motivation to keep working everyday.
We welcome you to visit Barons Resort and enjoy of a lovely time in Atenas, Costa Rica. It´ll be an honor for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews