We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of Barons Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barons Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Alex and the rest of the staff took care of me and my wife so well we would never forget this trip. Breakfast was made just for us, rooms had great views, they helped us order food and take rides into town. Even though I've been to Costa Rica before it was my favorite stay. Hoping to visit again

Room Tip: best view has to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa c, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barons Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you very much for your commentary, we are really glad to hear that you have a pleasent stay at Barons Resort. It really was a pleasure for us to have such nice guests like you, it was an honor for us.
We really hope to welcome you in Atenas one more time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

It's a small Hotel in the Mountains of Atenas, Costa Rica. Very quiet, special for couples or people who enjoy nature.

The restaurant has only four or five tables but it's all glass windows with a beautiful view. It's is used mostly for breakfast because at night, you can order room service from a variety of menus provided by local restaurants who deliver express coordinated with the help of the front desk manager who is always very kind and wiling to help with any of your needs.

There are two types of rooms. I prefer the small ones because they ALL have a great view, big windows, small fridge, Wi-Fi, cable Tv (no Tub).

No AC but it's not that necessary anyway.

And check this out: ... EVERY small room has it's own view deck on the roof, with two chairs, table for drinks and your own umbrella (it's a bit rainy sometimes).

The front desk has info about all kinds of Tours which will cover any taste since the hotel is not far from San José, nor far from multiple nature possible experiences.

The pool is very small but it will probably help you interact with anybody else who decided to take a sun bath.

The other rooms are bigger, more kitchen equipped but the view is not as good as the small rooms on the edge of the cliff.

My wife and I highly recommend this place.
Prices are good too! It's not a luxury hotel but it's very original, clean and comfortable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank guitarsimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa c, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barons Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review, We at Barons Resort are happy to hear that your time in Atenas, Costa Rica was satisfying and that you enjoy your stay at the Resort. We welcome you to visit us once again and have a lovely day in our installations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

On top of a hill with beautiful views in every direction. Delicious breakfasts with that divine Costa Rican coffee ...is there a better way to start a day?
The owners/managers were very helpful in every possible way.
I would go back in an instant!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ColoradoTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa c, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barons Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

We are glad to hear that your stay in Barons Resort was satisfying and in name of all the Barons Resort Group we thank you for such nice commentaries. We hope to have you guys back here soon and enjoy of the beauties of our country.
We´ll looking forward to welcome you in Atenas, Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

This was honestly the best hotel/resort I've ever stayed at. The views, the rooms, the staff, everything about this place was wonderful. Alex was absolutely amazing. We came in late one night and were hungry and he called a bunch of places for us to get food delivered, then he delivered them to our room himself. The next day during breakfast, we asked if it's possible for a table to be set up outside, and to our surprise by the time we were ready for breakfast there was a huge tent with a big table and chairs set up around it. A bunch of guys came in a big truck to set up the tent and take it down right after we were done. Honestly have never been treated this WELL at a hotel. Thanks Alex for being so accommodating and kind. Will never forget Barons Resort!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank potterfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa c, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barons Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for such nice comments from the Hotel and Staff, we are very pleased to hear that your time in Barons was satisfiying. It´s always a real pleasure for us to serve our guest and hearing that they like the services we provide is a motivation to keep working everyday.
We welcome you to visit Barons Resort and enjoy of a lovely time in Atenas, Costa Rica. It´ll be an honor for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Just a small place but with a view to remember at the top of a small mountain. Lots of trees below and plenty of Costa Rican monkeys.. very clean, well appointed with all you would need. Staff was very helpful.. just a great place to stay.

Room Tip: East views go on forever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Captain-USMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa c, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barons Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased to know that you liked the resort and your experience at Barons was satisfying.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Barons Resort the next time you're in Atenas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
4 km away
The Retreat Costa Rica
3.8 km away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
18.1 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 km away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
7.4 km away
Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center
2.3 km away
Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons Resort

Address: Vista Atenas 59, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Atenas
Price Range: AU$90 - AU$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barons Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barons resort is an amazing new boutique resort with old world charm and luxurious full service accommodations. This 7000 sq ft complex is uniquely situated on top of a mountain with the most incredible 360° views. Surrounded by hundreds of acres of conservatory land, the property can accommodate 14-20 guests with six top-of-the-line furnished villas. Each villa has over 500 sq ft. of living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Barons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing