We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sensimar Royal Blue Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Panormos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic stay and service at the hotel. The entire staff was very friendly and provided us with a great service at all times and the sommelier Pavel knew exactly what he was talking about, just as well as the F&B Manager! Thanks for this unforgettable service!

Room Tip: Great little pools for each housing block (consisting of 8 rooms, in 2 houses)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthias_Schlimpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a week at this resort. The hotel in my opinion deserves 5 star rating, staff are excellent, food good, accommodation and gardens first class. However, this resort is in the middle of nowhere, one hour to Heraklion or more the other direction to Rethymon, there is nothing here except a small village 4 miles away called Panormo which is very pretty with a nice beach. The evening entertainment was abysmal, two evenings out of seven with one night Greek dancing and the other a Latin show, this reason alone we would not return here which is a great shame. Most people appeared to sit outside their room with a bottle of wine in the evenings as there was nothing else to do.

Room Tip: All different depending on your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyersWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Large village-like resort, managed by Tui (one of largest German tour operators), smells a recent renovation: buildings, rooms, gardens, infrastructure look in very good conditions.
Personnel are very courteous and efficient.
Buffet at Symposium Restaurant is various and meets nearly all tastes.
Can't judge a la carte other restaurants, but surely are too costly.
Beware of ordering greek wines: outrageously expensive.
Overall atmosphere is rather boring, despite all surrounding luxury, must have your own car in order to get around the island (Royal Blue is practically in the middle of nowhere).
All in all, a nice place but overpriced.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TheSakeOfTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

My mum and I stayed here at the end of August and paid for a waterfront villa with our own private pool. From start to finish the experience was incredible. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with cold hand towels and arrival drinks to the moment we left we were gifted with a leaving present. The hotel and grounds are absolutely spotless and so well kept. It was absolutely beautiful and one of the most relaxing and peaceful hotels I have ever stayed in. Food in the hotel was amazing!!! The buffet restaurant for both breakfast and dinner had everything you could ask for, quite literally. Hands down the best selection of food at a buffet restaurant I have ever experienced. Nothing was too much trouble for all staff members and the service in the restaurant really was incredible. There are 3 beautiful kittens roaming around the grounds and let me be the first to tell you my mum and I are not a big fan of cats but they are so lovely and such sweet little things. We regularly fed them fish from the local shop up the road. We found it particularly heartbreaking leaving one of the kittens so please be kind if you see them. We really cannot fault this hotel at all and we will definitely be returning. A perfect week :)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Alexandria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We booked this hotel because of our previous experiences with Sensimar throughout the world, in particular the Kalliston In Chania. This hotel is somewhat isolated but is spacious with two excellent outdoor pools and a good gym and spa facility. It does not rate 5 stars because it is let down badly by the service from many of the staff. The restaurant in particular is very badly organised:
1. Although the food is plentiful and generally of a good quality the serving dishes on the buffet counter are often empty leaving the guest with choice of forgoing that item of food or waiting for it to be replenished allowing the rest of your food to go cold. This was a regular occurrence each evening.
2. Constantly running out of plates for main courses and deserts.
3. The tables are made up of wooden lattice and I would not like to hazard a guess when they were last cleaned.
4. Bottle of water £6.80 which does seem excessive.
5. When guests have left their tables after their meal they are not cleaned away quickly enough for new guests,
6. On occasions it is difficult to attract the attention of a waiter and the guest has to approach the waiters serving area or do without service as happened on one occasion, i.e. not offered a drink service during dinner

Room:
The room is spacious and well cleaned but the refreshment tray: coffee, milk, sugar etc. is often not replenished unless housekeeping is contacted this became something of a bore and annoyance.

The main bar off reception gave good service and the barman was always cheerful and polite, unlike reception staff.

The beach area leaves a lot to be desired

Although the hotel cannot help that there are hundreds of birds roosting in its grounds they tend to fly over the restaurant at dusk every evening and birds do what birds do in flight not the most pleasant of experiences. Although in fairness the hard working cleaning staff clean up early the next morning.

This hotel could easily become a 5 star but perhaps the management should visit its sister hotel the Kalliston and take a tip from them.

There are far too many small niggles for this hotel to deserve its 5 star rating.

Room Tip: The cost of the rooms with shared or private pools do not represent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glendabeaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panormos
97.7 km away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
11.2 km away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
99.6 km away
Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
99.0 km away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
68.1 km away
Thalassa Beach Resort
Thalassa Beach Resort
#2 of 31 in Agia Marina
473 reviews
1.1 km away
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Royal Blue Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Royal Blue Resort & Spa

Address: Panormos, Crete 74057, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Panormos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Panormos
#2 Family Hotel in Panormos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Panormos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panormos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panormos
Price Range: $141 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Royal Blue Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5* Sensimar Royal Blue Resort & Spa, is a tranquil exclusive resort, with its own private bay and an endless horizon of Cretan Blue. The complex consists of 38 public and private swimming pools as well as colorful gardens which extend throughout the resort. Natural stone has been used extensively with dedicated passion for detail, in the decoration of all outdoor areas, thus creating the perfect mix between sophistication and natural elegance. Guests will be pampered beyond conventional luxury with singular service standards and the renowned Cretan hospitality. The understated elegance of the 190 rooms, suites and villas, the uncompromising unique flavors of the resort's cuisine, the unique settings for the organization of your events and the mystical magic of the Pure Senses Spa are just the introduction to an experience that extend beyond the realms of a luxury resort. Outdoor Facilities (Private Beach, Beach services, 2 Tennis Courts, Tennis lessons upon request, 1 Mini Golf Court) Hotel Facilities (Express Check In - Check out, Wi-Fi Internet Connection, Internet Corner, Parking, Car Rental services, Multilingual staff, Guest Relations, Doctor on call, Destination Assistance, Postal Services, Security services, 'Gems and more' Jewelry Shop, Mini Market & Holiday Boutique, Dry / Laundry cleaning service) Personalized Services (Private Dining options, Special Meals upon request, Luxury transport upon request, Transfer from/to the airport upon request, Private Chef Services upon request, Business center & secretariat services upon request) In-Room Amenities (24hrs Room Service, Private Dining in Room upon request, In House Villa Treatments upon request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sensimar Royal Blue Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensimar Royal Blue Hotel Panormo
Sensimar Royal Blue Resort And Spa
Sensimar Royal Blue Resort & Spa Panormos, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing