We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snug, quaint, fresh and inviting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crabtree River Cottages
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Only one night spent here, but would gladly go back and use a home away from home when touring the huon valley again. Stayed in the loft, just stunning. Lovely bath, all amenities catered for, plus friendly owners. Thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Crabtree River Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Just a note re this review. These guests stayed in The Loft which is in Crabtree House, next door to Crabtree River Cottages. [Crabtree River Cottages and Crabtree House have similar styles and standards of facilities.]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2015

Stayed in the Eliza House a few weeks back for my wife's 30th birthday:) It was a relaxing 2 day retreat and we both really enjoyed our time there. The house is nice and quiet (except for the soothing sound of the stream out front) private, very clean and cosy inside. A good size for a couples stay, we spent the evenings inside by the fire. It is close to Huonville and other attractions of the area. We never actually got to meet our hosts but the room and everything was already prepared we could simple let ourselves in and relax. Thanks John for the stay, you have a beautiful property.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Big Kahuna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Stayed at The Loft here and loved the quietness and tranquility. Lovely loft style apartment, and well appointed. Very cosy and welcoming. Great comfy bed ! Huge bathroom!
You can cook in the kitchenette and enjoy the meal on the balcony. We enjoyed a platter of goodies, watched the sunset, looked at the stars for hours and enjoyed the quiet.
Lovely hosts who showed us through and allowed us our privacy for the duration of the stay.
Thankyou so much. What a gem to find this one. WIll definately be back. Half an hour drive or so from Hobart but you feel a world away. I live in Hobart, and this will become my mini getaway. Loved it. Thanks !

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Crabtree River Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Just a note re this review. These guests stayed in The Loft which is in Crabtree House, next door to Crabtree River Cottages. [Crabtree River Cottages and Crabtree House have similar styles and standards of facilities. The Loft and Heritage Suite are accommodations within Crabtree House, whereas Crabtree River Cottages (Eliza and Emily) are next to the river.]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

What a wonderful spot, right beside the river. Talk about relaxing! We had a great two days staying in the Huon Valley and enjoyed the relaxation the cottage provided, and enjoyed the wood fire too! Beautiful cottage, and provisions for a lovely breakfast all left for us

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzanne821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

We loved our stay here. Emily cottage was beautiful, the log fire was great on the cold nights and the location was stunning. We also enjoyed the personal touches of bacon and eggs in the fridge for our breakfast and a lovely drop of port to enjoy by the fire at night. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank EsmereldaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Crabtree River Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabtree River Cottages

Address: 130a Crabtree Rd, Grove, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Grove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Grove
Price Range: $173 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crabtree River Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Hotels.com so you can book your Crabtree River Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crabtree River Cottages Grove, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing