We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 Stars Again!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fuencaliente de la Palma, La Palma, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ed E
Wistow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“5 Stars Again!!”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We visited as a group of friends (5 total) in the second week of February. The property is most impressive - a stunning location high up overlooking the sea, well tended gardens with colourful flowers in full bloom, alongside palms and cacti. Just the boost needed from the Northern European winter. Very steep roads to access the property however.

The property is spacious and traditional, well furnished and we found nothing lacking as far as equipment and facilities were concerned.

Lourdes, the owner, was very kind and enthusiastic and visited several times during our stay to ensure we still had sufficient clean towels and anything else we might need. And of course the welcoming cake and wine were much appreciated!

The property is located in the south of the island, which is drier and more obviously volcanic in nature than the greener north - but we found the area had a charm of its own. The Island of La Palma was, for us, a real find and perhaps a 2 week, 2 location vacation would be best; 1 week and the south and 1 week in the north, and we are very tempted to try this next year. If we do we will certainly be re-booking the Casona. Lovely!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barney179
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautiful house with stunning views”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lourdes and husband Cristobal were perfect hosts : fridge full of food, baked cakes and always there whenever we needed anything. the house is a beautiful traditionally decorated old style villa with a fully equipped country kitchen.
The balcony also has stunning sea views.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
749contac...
Drachten, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hospitable owners and e great view!”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It is a great spot, a beautiful view, with a lot of privicy. The people are so welcoming, they make you feel at home and treat you as guests, almost as if you are family. The house is pretty, there are several terraces in a beautiful garden. It is recommended to hire a car or more, because the location is not so accessible. You need a car to go to the sea. I think it is the best location in the island. The people are always prepared to give you advice and show the good spots. We will go there again I hope!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the hospitality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKHCERN
Thoiry, France
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A beautiful and pleasant Canarian style holiday residence”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After meeting with Lourdes, the owner, at a bar in Los Canarios, she led us to the holiday home, Los Melindros. This entailed a very exciting and steep descent to the house on a narrow but well paved road. Your car's brakes and engine should be in good shape to come and go from this location. The grounds around the house (which has the 3 bedroom rental reviewed here) and a small cottage (which is another smaller rental), are lovely with a lot of different plants, trees and cacti. In addition there are ample areas for dining outside and lounging. Upon entering the house we were very pleasantly surprised to find an excellent (and large!) homemade fruit cake waiting for us as well as a decanter of wine made by the family. The fridge also had milk, water and juice. That and the good advice from Lourdes about what to visit and where to eat and shop made for a very warm welcome.
All the bedrooms, bathrooms as well as the kitchen/dining and living rooms are spacious. The style, as can be seen from the pictures, is of traditional Canarian of early last century (or maybe older). This is seen in the wooden ceilings, the windows and doors, and the furniture. We tend to prefer modern style but the house was done with very good taste and for most things we found it comfortable and pleasant. The only things we found to be less appealing was the lack of light from outside, the small windows brought very little light and so the living room and kitchen were quite dark even at mid-day. As it was still quite cool out, we had to keep the entry doors closed which restricted even more the light. If you will spend most of you time outside, then this would be less of an issue. We also felt that the ventilation and privacy for the bathrooms to be lacking. The only ventilation was to open the very heavy and difficult to block open windows (again, a problem in the cool months). The bathrooms were very visible from the outside since only a partial curtain blocked the view.
The kitchen very well stocked with utensils and most consumable items (except for table salt!). There were ample spare cushions, blankets, towels, soap and even shampoo. The heating system was unusual (floor and even wall heating) and discrete and not obvious how to control (you should ask Lourdes). There was no air conditioning but we certainly did not need it and, given the wall thickness, I suspect it is not a problem even in summer unless it is extremely hot for a long period. There was WIFI which worked quite well.
The view from the balcony is superb. Since you are on a steep hill at 400m above sea level, there is nothing blocking the view over the southwest coast of the island. The weather we had (cloudy or very hazy - from the Sahara sandstorms) prevented getting good sunsets except for one evening were we got a pretty good one. If the weather is good, you will get exceptional sunset views. The area is very rural (mostly vineyards) and calm. So, if you are looking for a relaxing and "authentic" Canarian type holiday stay, this is an excellent choice. The wonderful hospitality of Lourdes was also highly appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the welcome.
Liked least: The lack of light and poor bathroom ventilation.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Hello/Bonjour Akhcern,
Thank you so much for your words and your great description of your stay. We will solve the problem of the curtains at the windows of the bathroom, thanks for telling us.
Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columnist
london
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really delightful house”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived to see Lourdes' home-baked cake, home-grown fruit and a fridge full of food, we knew we had made a great choice. This 200-year-old house is beautifully restored, with beamed ceilings, pretty wooden window seats and antique furniture. The balcony affords not just a lovely sea view, but a ringside seat for the most glorious sunsets. The sunny terrace is wonderful for outdoor eating, as well as lounging. The kitchen is impressively well-equipped for a rental property, the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms intricately tiled. No detail has been overlooked, and Lourdes and her family are very generous and attentive. We were so touched when Alejandro showed up on Christmas Eve, bearing one of Lourdes' delicious chocolate puddings and a bottle of wine. This house is remarkably good value, really charming (as are the hosts) and I've been recommending it to my friends ever since I got back home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The historic charm and the views
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review and pretty words. Greetings to all the family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing