We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb gite for relaxing stay and lots to explore.”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Celles-sur-Belle, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rodlds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb gite for relaxing stay and lots to explore.”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in May 2016

La Ponne is a lovely gite, well-equipped, very comfortable and beautifully presented. Annick and Guy are very welcoming hosts who make every effort to ensure your stay is pleasant and memorable. As well as discovering the local area, we also cycled in the Marais poitevin, which is nearby. We have not finished exploring the region and will make sure that we return to La Ponne. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you for this very warm comment.
It is true that you still have to discover and that the Gîte La Ponne is very well located to visit the whole region.
I hope you will come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14Rom
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in June 2016

Spent three weeks at Gite La Ponne June/July 2016 and look forward to returnng in 2017 - We found it a perfect place for a relaxing holiday. The gite is quiet, comfortable, spacious, well equipped and perfect for two - as Annick’s photographs show

Most days we ate outside, did lots of cooking, and enjoyed the (very) local vegetables : cucumbers peppers and aubergines from “Les Jardins de La Belle” and products from “Condiments de la Doie” and “Les Mijotées de la Belle” all made in the village

Celles sur Belle and Melle, towns with centuries of history and about a ten minute drive, have food shops, supermarkets, and pleasant places to eat (“Hostellerie de l’Abbaye” and “Les Glycines” are both excellent with good value lunchtime menus)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much that you are already determined to come back! You will again have the vegetables as much as you want. You who are great lovers of Mediterranean cuisine, you still have a lot to teach me!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mzuri55
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very pretty very French holiday home in a typical French village.”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in June 2016

Gite La Ponne has everything you need for a relaxing holiday in the beautiful farming countryside of the Deux Sevres. When staying at Gite La Ponne you feel you are holidaying in a real working French community which has not as yet totally succumbed to mass tourism.
Whilst staying in Mortefond you can experience the benefits of birdsong, wildlife, flora and fauna. However you are never far away from the lovely towns of Melle and Celles sur Belle which provide good restaurants, supermarkets and some sophisticated entertainment if needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
Thank you very much!
It is true that our hosts appreciate being away from mass tourism, in a countryside preserved but alive.
Hope to see you again to continue our rich discussions!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solene Xa...
France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2018
Merci beaucoup! Heureuse d'avoir participé, à ma mesure, à ce moment si particulier pour vous.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVERS P
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2018
C'est bien normal d'être à votre écoute pour vous faire des suggestions adaptées, d'autant plus pour un séjour de courte durée. Et je vous recevrai à nouveau bien volontiers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing